We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travellers have booked this property

Duncliffe Chalet A.A 4* rated. Own hot tub. Next to grazing field.

Duncliffe Chalet, a Scandinavian style timber framed holiday let.
8 reviews
Duncliffe Chalet, a Scandinavian style timber framed holiday let.
Soft French Blue Kitchen in Duncliffe Chalet with all mod cons including dishwasher & microwave
Lounge in Duncliffe Chalet
Master Bedroom leading out onto balcony in Duncliffe Chalet
Relax in leather reclining sofa's
Light and spacious lounge with open plan kitchen/diner
Downstairs double bedroom with en-suite bathroom and shower over bath.
Master bedroom with en-suite shower room. Open pine sloping clad ceiling,
The twin room with pine clad open ceiling in Duncliffe Chalet
The twin room from a different angle.
Downstairs en-suite bathroom in Duncliffe Chalet
Downstairs Cloakroom in Lobby
Master bathroom with large corner shower cubicle, vanity unit and long mirror with shaver socket
Six seater hot tub with 36 jets for a relaxing soak. Includes reclining seat & Captain's chair
New six seater Hot tub with fully enclosed gazebo
Summer flowers
Vinney Jones, our Simmental Bull
Famous Gold Hill in Shaftesbury. Well known from the Hovis bread advert
Durdle Door. Sits beside Lulworth Cove, a popular tourist attraction
Longleat House and Safari park, a wonderful attraction for all the family, only half an hour's
Duncliffe, Melbury, Hardy & Wessex chalets during a snowy period.
Games room. Downstairs consists of Table Tennis, Pool table, Air Hockey & Table Football & C
View of Duncliffe with plenty of space
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Visited by Tripadvisor
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms , 4 Bathrooms , Sleeps 6
West Stour, Gillingham, Dorset, England
Stour Cross Farm offers four Scandinavian style chalets, each sleeping upto 6 people. Located on a working dairy farm just outside the small village of West Stour it is an ideal base for families or friends. With three bedrooms in each, all en-suite and surrounded by fields just 200yds from the A30 and only 10 mins drive from the A303.Duncliffe chalet is A.A inspected grade 4* and is tastefully decorated with all mod cons. The open plan lounge has three piece leather reclining sofa's and 32' flat creen T.V with Dvd player. French doors open out onto a large veranda where wooden seating and a large six seater hot tub awaits you. The hot tub is housed in a fully enclosed gazebo, providing shelter from the colder months but allowing airflow during the summer.
Leading into the dining area and kitchen where appliances include microwave...
Read more
About the Owner, Christina T
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 9 days ago
Listed since : Jun 2011
Overall rating: 5.0 / 5.0
Based on 17 reviews and 4 properties
Contact Owner See more properties
Listing #HL172266
Reviews from our community
Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Duncliffe chalet was the perfect location for a relaxing week with small children and extended family. The chalet is bright, extremely spacious and was beautifully presented. The kitchen was very well equipped with everything you could need for a self catering break. Throughout the chalet were thoughtful little extras to make your stay even easier, particularly for children. From novelty...

Management response:

I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your week's holiday in Duncliffe chalet. Your comments were appreciated and gave a very detailed insight for future guests, thank you. I have now changed our broadband provider and the wi-fi seems to be a great improvement. I am always striving to improve on annoying issues and the poor wi-fi. reception was...


Report response as inappropriate
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Me and 4 friends stayed here for the bank holiday weekend and we each left having had a thoroughly enjoyable time. With the stay providing us with the rural getaway that we wanted. The lodge had everything we needed, Christina was only a quick call away if needed but left us to enjoy our stay. The hot tub was a...

Management response:

Dear Andrew. Thank you for your comments and I'm pleased you enjoyed your weekend in Duncliffe chalet. I also appreciate your feedback with the Pool table and understand your view. We felt that by implementing a small charge of 50p to play a game of Pool it would prevent abuse of the table and balls.


Report response as inappropriate
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Management response:

Thank you for your kind comments and I'm so glad you had a memorable 50th Birthday. You were all a pleasure to meet and I would gladly welcome you back.


Report response as inappropriate
  • Balcony or Terrace
  • Books
  • Cooker
  • Deck
  • Dining Seats (6)
  • Dishwasher
  • Double Beds:(2)
  • DVD Player
  • En Suite Rooms (3)
  • Freezer
  • Game Room
  • Grill
  • Hairdryer
  • Half Baths (1)
  • Highchair
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Iron
  • Kettle
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room Seats (6)
  • Local Guides/Maps
  • Microwave
  • Parking
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Playground
  • Pool Table
  • Refrigerator
  • Shared Garden
  • Single Beds:(2)
  • Stereo System
  • Suitable For Children Under 5
  • Swingset
  • Toaster
  • Towels Provided
  • TV
  • VCR
  • Wi-Fi
Additional amenities & feature info
All the beds are standard doubles and singles made from solid ash and have wooden headboards and low footboards. The mattresses are memory foam and are fully made for your arrival. The master bedroom has plenty of room for a cot which is available upon request. Bedding for the cot is not supplied.The master bathroom has a large corner shower, toilet, vanity unit with mirror and shaver point. The twin bathroom is slightly smaller and is clad in pine with standard corner shower, toilet and vanity unit, mirror and shaver point.The master bedroom leads out onto it's own balcony.All bedrooms and bathrooms upstairs have open sloping ceilings and are clad in natural pine. The bedrooms have solid wood and cream dressing tables with small mirrors and stool. Also built into the slop of the ceili... more
House rules
    Pets not allowed
    Smoking not allowed
    Check in: 4:00 PM
    Check out: 10:00 AM
You are expected to respect the property and it's contents and be considerate to guests in other chalets. Smoking is allowed outside but please do not discard your cigarette stubs...
    1 Half bath
    3 Attached (ensuite)
    2 Twins
    2 Fulls
Show Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Dates Min stay Per night Per week
Default 3 nights
24 Feb 2018 -
22 Mar 2018
Low Season
2 nights
23 Mar 2018 -
6 Apr 2018
7 nights
7 Apr 2018 -
3 May 2018
Low Season
2 nights
View all periods
Please note: rates may have been converted from the original local currency to Euros and are approximate rates that may change due to exchange rate fluctuation. Please contact the manager to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.
  • Damage Deposit: €114 / stay - Deposit
Additional Rate and Availability Information

Please note, two nights are acceptable at certain times of the year..

Check in time is normally 16.00 hrs but an earlier arrival time for 13.00 hrs can be arranged for a fee of £25. This must be booked at least a week in advance of stay
Hide Rates
About the neighbourhood
West Stour is one of many small village;s in North Dorset. It has a tiny village hall which backs onto the church and a pub providing excellent food and a large selection of ale. The Saxon town of Shaftesbury only a short driving distance sits proudly on top of a hill and offers unique gift shops and several cafe's. The famous cobbled Gold Hill (a scene in Thomas Hardy's 'Far From The Madding Crowd' and Hovis bread advert) remains unchanged. The views from Shaftesbury are truly spectacular
Car advised
Activities nearby
Fishing Nearby, There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive, Horse Riding Nearby, There Are Tennis Courts Nearby.
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.
How can I contact the owner?
Initially, you may contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.
How will the owner contact me?
This owner will contact you via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox.
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
You can send another message via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.
How do I pay?
For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.
Is my payment insured in any way?
Yes. Payments made via the TripAdvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Book Now
68 travellers
viewed this property in the past week
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.