We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seaside Zen Cottage on the Beach in Kailua Kona

22 reviews
Save
Resting green sea turtle (they are endanged - please don't touch)
1 of 27
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Overview
3 bedrooms
3 bathrooms
6 guests
7 nights minimum
Holiday Rental House
Seaside Zen Cottage Located on the makai (ocean) side of Alii Drive, 2.5 miles from Kailua-Kona, this three bedroom, three bathroom cedar home was once a school teacher's house in Hilo. It was dismantled and reassembled at the beach in the 1930's. In keeping with the Hawaiian spirit of Aloha, we invite you to experience the unhurried, old-style Hawai'i and to regard your time with us as you would a stay as a guest in our home. Picnic on the promontory and enjoy the evanescent beauty of the Kona Coast. Lie on one of our three beaches. Rest and relax alone or with friends and family. Just a few steps across the lawn is the sheltered lagoon that offers a safe playground for children (or adults!) to swim and snorkel and a peaceful place to float with the honu (the endangere...Seaside Zen Cottage Located on the makai (ocean) side of Alii Drive, 2.5 miles from Kailua-Kona, this three bedroom, three bathroom cedar home was once a school teacher's house in Hilo. It was dismantled and reassembled at the beach in the 1930's. In keeping with the Hawaiian spirit of Aloha, we invite you to experience the unhurried, old-style Hawai'i and to regard your time with us as you would a stay as a guest in our home. Picnic on the promontory and enjoy the evanescent beauty of the Kona Coast. Lie on one of our three beaches. Rest and relax alone or with friends and family. Just a few steps across the lawn is the sheltered lagoon that offers a safe playground for children (or adults!) to swim and snorkel and a peaceful place to float with the honu (the endangered green sea turtles). Breakfast on the lanai and watch the schools of porpoise as they swim playfully past the houses, or during the winter, watch for whales breaching just offshore. Rented together with the Plantation Manager's Beach House, (see separate listing), the two homes are the ideal setting for weddings, family reunions, retreats and larger groups of friends. These types of events must be arranged directly with manager as may involve a site fee and a separate contract. The romantic Seaside Zen Cottage is also referred to by some as the seaside honeymoon cottage. Guests return for anniversaries, family vacations or just to hang out. We welcome your inquiry! Tourist License / Licencia de turismo N °: TA-149-182-8736-01More
House Rules
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
More than 6 guests will result in surcharge - contact us for more information. No events hosting outside guests without prior approval. Residential neighborhood - quiet after 10PM We will collect required taxes and cleaning fees and will advise amounts upon request for booking or upon confirmation of reservation.
Bathrooms
3 Full baths
Show more
About the Owner
Valerie O
Languages spoken:English
Response Rate:86%
Response Time:Within a day
Listed Since:May 2009
Write a reviewReviews (22)

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2021

We spent a glorious week at the Seaside Zen Cottage and loved it! The location is fantastic, walking distance from Ali'i Market Place, Green Flash Coffee, and Magic Sands Beach. The ocean front setting is extraordinary with a sweet lagoon right outside, a beautiful green...More

Date of stay: January 2021
Thank 242alissah
Reviewed 19 March 2016

Stayed in the Zen cottage with my husband, brother and sister-in-law and my Mom. What a wonderful trip we all had! The plantation style house was so amazing. The cottage was very clean and comfortable with three bedrooms and three nice sized bathrooms. We never...More

Date of stay: October 2015
Thank Karenr5854
Management response:Responded 5 September 2016

Just saw this review - thank you, Karen. We loved having you and your family in the Seaside Zen Cottage and would love to have you back any time! Hope we can count on that happening some day. Aloha, Valerie

Reviewed 9 March 2015

We booked both the Zen Cottage as well as the Plantation Manager's House and both properties were simply fantastic. Valerie, who handled the bookings was always on time and professional in my dealings with her and Tina, who manages the properties was the perfect combination...More

Date of stay: January 2015
Thank Scott F
Management response:Responded 10 March 2015

We are delighted that you appreciated our homes and feel about them the way we do! I'm sorry that we can't do anything about your one complaint....it is a complaint that we love to receive and we'd love to have you back ANY TIME! And...More

A FlipKey verified reviewer
Saratoga Springs, New York
7567
Reviewed 22 July 2014

More

Date of stay: July 2014
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We traveled to Kona with my parents, my husband and our two children. The property is just as it is portrayed on the website. Right on the very often empty beach on a peaceful lagoon. We saw sea turtles every day and this was a...More

Date of stay: April 2014
2  Thank kmorgan71
Management response:Responded 21 April 2014

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed our Seaside Zen Cottage. Tina tells us that you were fabulous guests. As we always try to give our guests the...More

See more reviews
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Calgary
Reviewed 17 April 2014

More

Date of stay: March 2014
Management response:Responded 17 April 2014

More

LDT
California
Reviewed 26 July 2013

More

Date of stay: June 2013
Inke Schulze-Seeger
Germany
Reviewed 25 July 2013

More

Date of stay: July 2013
Linda
TX
Reviewed 16 July 2013

More

Date of stay: July 2013
R Family
NC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

More

Date of stay: April 2012
Management response:Responded 3 December 2012

More

Amenities
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
DVD Player
Balcony
Grill
Ceiling Fans
Suitable For Children Under 5
Deck
Dishwasher
Dryer
Freezer
Refrigerator
Internet Access
Iron
Linens Provided
Microwave
Ocean Views
Patio
Private Garden
Cable/satellite TV
Secure Parking
Staffed Property
Stereo System
Cooker
Terrace
Toaster
Towels Provided
TV
Washer
Water Views
Waterfront
Wi-Fi
Fishing Nearby
There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive
There Are Tennis Courts Nearby
Watersports Nearby
Beach Or Lakeside Relaxation
City Getaway
See more amenities
Availability
June 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
July 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
August 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
September 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
October 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
November 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
View all months
Map
+
Access
Car recommended
How to get there
We are about 10 miles from the airport in a residential neighborhood. Upon accepting an request for rental, we send our guests information about things to do in the area, more information about the house and a detailed map describing how to find us. Renting a car is necessary. We are about 2.5 miles from the closest restaurants and shopping and the island offers much to see!
More
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Is my payment insured in any way?
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#FKN2224312197
Frequently Asked Questions about Seaside Zen Cottage on the Beach in Kailua Kona

Seaside Zen Cottage on the Beach in Kailua Kona is able to accommodate up to 6 guests. See all property details.

Seaside Zen Cottage on the Beach in Kailua Kona has 3 bathrooms available. See all property details.

Seaside Zen Cottage on the Beach in Kailua Kona has 3 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at Seaside Zen Cottage on the Beach in Kailua Kona must last at least 7 nights. See all property details.