We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Jerpoint Apartment, Peaceful Secluded

Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now

Overview
1 bedroom
5 bathrooms
2 guests
3 nights minimum 
Condo/Apartment
Newly renovated executive apartment, bedroom with super king size bed and kitchen with all new appliances, bathroom equipped with Roca sink unit, wc and bidet, Power shower and chaise lounge. Sitting room to relax with fifty five inch smart TV , included is soundbar and keyboard for browsing internet etc. This is a secluded and tranquil location This is a rural area one mile from Thomastown and a ten minute walk from Railway Station and adjoining Mount Juliet hotel and Golf course. SPLENDID UNRESTRICTED VIEWS OF MOUNT JULIET GOLF COURSE, CLUBHOUSE AND JERPOINT ABBEY, ALL WITHIN 2KM. FROM WINDOWS OF BEDROOM AND KITCHEN. We are both starting out on the holiday lettings mission used them four times earlier this year with excellent reviews from the hosts. This is a newly converted apartm...Newly renovated executive apartment, bedroom with super king size bed and kitchen with all new appliances, bathroom equipped with Roca sink unit, wc and bidet, Power shower and chaise lounge. Sitting room to relax with fifty five inch smart TV , included is soundbar and keyboard for browsing internet etc. This is a secluded and tranquil location This is a rural area one mile from Thomastown and a ten minute walk from Railway Station and adjoining Mount Juliet hotel and Golf course. SPLENDID UNRESTRICTED VIEWS OF MOUNT JULIET GOLF COURSE, CLUBHOUSE AND JERPOINT ABBEY, ALL WITHIN 2KM. FROM WINDOWS OF BEDROOM AND KITCHEN. We are both starting out on the holiday lettings mission used them four times earlier this year with excellent reviews from the hosts. This is a newly converted apartment, new tiles, kitchen, furniture, bathroom fittings etc have been installed .Unbelievably spacious, measuring 80 square meters . Black out blinds are fitted if you wish to have a snooze during daylight hours.. You will have super king size bed and lockers with table lamps. Bathroom has power shower, w/b, w/c, bidet supplied by Roca. Apartment is spacious and incorporated into a house that was built eight years ago. It was used by me as a photographic studio, offices and waiting room. I have now retired. Besides wifi at twelve mbs., there is a Bose Soundlink Bluetooth speaker where you can listen via your smartphne or tablet to music or connect to radio from any part of the world. Executive self contained Pied-à-terre where all you will hear are the birds singing, a cow in the distance or the low low noise of jets high up passing overhead, recently ~I have noted that rabbits give us a call in the early morning.
House Rules
Pets not allowedNot suitable for childrenNo smoking
Bedrooms
1 Super King
Bathrooms
2 Half baths1 Full bath1 Attached (ensuite)1 Shower

Meet the host
Michael and Sheila O
Hosting since August 2014
Response Rate: 100%
Response Time: Within a few hours
Interaction with guestsPlease note we are next door and should guests require assistance, information, a ring on door bell will alert us. The entrance door, hall and apartment are for the sole use of guests as is the drive in car port. Sanitising cream, liquid, paper towels etc are in the hall for use by guests.

Contribute
Reviews (27)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
If you have submitted a review for a holiday rental property, we may also ask that you provide us with proof of your stay to ensure that your review is attached to the correct rental property.
Holiday rental reviews collected via the VRBO website (formerly Homeaway) and syndicated to the Tripadvisor website are not currently subject to Tripadvisor’s standard moderation processes.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Magnummg
Magnummg
Paradiso, Switzerland8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Gioiello in Thomastown
Michael & Sheila sono una coppia di host superlativa . Li abbiamo trovati squisiti, sono gentili, simpatici ed accoglienti . L' appellativo SUPER HOST è azzeccatissimo. L' appartamento, arredato con estremo gusto si sviluppa su due piani . Al superiore si trovano la camera da letto, una luminosa ed ampia cucina (dotata di ogni comfort) , il grazioso angolo lettura ed il bagno principale ( la chaise longue vintage è molto chic 😀); la scala in legno bianca porta al piano terra composto da salone ( comodi divani copertine , letture e TV spaziale ) ed un piccolo bagno di servizio . Parcheggio auto davanti la proprietà ed un giardino curatissimo che circonda la villa completano questo gioiellinoo in Thomastown . Torneremo presto 😀 grazie per averci fatti sentire a " casa nostra " .
Visited August 2023
Written 12 September 2023. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Eileen O
Eileen O
Dublin, Ireland54 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Superb accommodation in tranquil surroundings
The Jerpoint apartment has everything you could possibly want in a very high quality self catering accommodation. It is so luxurious and comfortable. Michael and Sheila are so welcoming and hospitable. There are lovely places to visit in the surrounding area. We visited St. Mullins, Inistioge, the Jerpoint Abbey and Mount Juliet during our 2 night stay! We really look forward to returning!
Visited August 2021
Written 3 August 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Apresvous@eircom.net
Apresvous@eircom.net
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
5 star apartment in a tranquil setting.
Jerpoint apartment ticked all our boxes location beautiful views comfortable bed excellent cooking facilities all utensils brand new TV giant screen toilet and bathroom 5 star.Beautiful paintings and photos a real home from home.And finally the people who make it tick Michael & Shiela.Michael has an electrifying personality and behind every successful man is a lady and that lady is Shiela. Many thanks for a nice week and until we meet again. Slainte SUsan & Andrew
Visited June 2021
Written 15 June 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Ger D
Ger D
Dublin, Ireland85 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful Appartment
Just back from a weeks stay in this beautiful peaceful appartment. It's about 5 minutes drive from the town centre. Plenty of parking space. Appartment is attached to owners house (Michael and Sheila) but you have your own private front and back doors leading into a beautiful garden with your own seating area. Large sitting room downstairs with a huge 50 inch TV. Comfortable couch, 2 armchairs and coffee tables. Downstairs toilet. Upstairs you arrive at a large beautifully presented kitchen dining area. Large bathroom with a walk in shower. Large bedroom with extremely comfortable super king size bed. Fully equipped kitchen with large fridge/freezer, oven and hob. Everything is tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Perfectly situated for visiting nearby towns and walking the Barrow Way. In the evening sit outside in the back garden overlooking the fields and hills. Relax and listen to nothing but the birds singing and the horses in the fields. Perfect place for relaxing and chilling out after a day out. Michael and Sheila are lovely and very helpful with suggestions of where to go. Will definitely be back.
Visited September 2020
Written 9 September 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

IDS89
IDS89
Northampton, United Kingdom13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderfully relaxing stay
This lovely and very well presented apartment is a self-contained annex of Michael and Sheila's own home. It consists of a bedroom, kitchen diner and bathroom on the first floor and a comfy sitting room with a large Freesat TV on the ground floor. The kitchen diner (which is well equipped for self catering) is bright and airy, and enjoys views over open countryside through Velux windows. It is situated in a quiet suburb of Thomastown and quite close to the railway station. We walked into town one day, though it's perhaps a little far to come back on foot after a night at the pub! The town itself is quite small, but there are a couple of good supermarkets close together on another side of the town, definitely a car ride from the apartment. Michael and Sheila are lovely and thoughtful hosts, and Michael in particular was a mine of information on things to do in the area. The South East of Ireland has lots of pleasant but not overly demanding walks of around 5 miles, which are well signposted and there are plenty of historic places to visit. English Heritage members enjoy free admission to many of these, through a reciprocal arrangement. Luckily we had our membership cards with us. We thoroughly recommend the Jerpoint Apartment and will definitely stay here next time we visit this part of Ireland. It seems that everyone is equally impressed as the guest comments book is full of praise.
Visited September 2019
Written 28 September 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Denis
Denis
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great Place
An really Great Place to stay.Superbly Nice Landlords Its an quit nicely Area with great Area when you want to have an quit Holiday..See you again next Time:)))
Visited July 2019
Written 7 August 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
kittytwister
kittytwister
Thanks so much Denis. Really look forward to seeing you again with your wife. Auf Weidersan. Sheila and Ml
Written 18 August 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

robertghmatthews
robertghmatthews
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect for Couples
Very well maintained and spotless unit which is separate from the main house. There was ample off road parking. Superbly appointed kitchen on the first floor with a dining area, comfortable chairs, access to the en-suite and the bedroom. Basic cooking ingredients were also available. On the ground floor there was a comfortable lounge and a downstairs toilet and washbasin. We received a very warm welcome from Michael and Sheila and when we left they were there to wave us on our way. Otherwise we wouldn't have known they were nearby. At the back of the unit there was patio with table and chairs and a lovely view of the countryside - and the horses! Supermarkets were just a five minute drive away so we found it easy to stock up. We found the Jerpoint Apartment the perfect place to stay for our visit to the Thomastown & Kilkenny area. We enjoy peace and quiet and countryside and this for us was the perfect match.
Visited March 2019
Written 29 March 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
kittytwister
kittytwister
Robert and Denise, thank you for the review, we are grateful, delighted that you had an enjoyable, relaxing few days here. We hope that you had a safe journey back home. Thanks. Sheila and Ml.
Written 31 March 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

_marianne_reichelt03
_marianne_reichelt03
Baltimore, MD16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrific private apartment in the countryside -- wonderful, welcoming hosts!
Toward the end of our three-week exploration of Ireland, we were delighted to stay in Michael and Sheila’s lovely Jerpoint Apartment. A private entrance leads to a ground floor sitting room with television and a bathroom. Upstairs is a spacious kitchen, a very comfortable king bed, and an amazingly large bathroom with chaise lounge and bidet. The renovation from Michael’s former photography studio to this apartment was completed only 4 years ago, and everything is wonderfully up-to-date and beautifully maintained. Having stayed in two bed and breakfasts (which were wonderful, by the way!) for the past ten days, it was lovely to sleep in at Jerpoint and have breakfast on our own schedule. We also appreciated the washer and clothesline, given our long time on the road! If we come back to Ireland – and we pray we will – we would choose to spend a longer time at Jerpoint, not only to enjoy the comfort of the apartment and the back garden terrace, complete with fountain, but more importantly to spend more time with Michael and Sheila. Not only were they helpful with suggestions and directions for touring and restaurants in the Kilkenny area; they were both so kind, so welcoming and engaging. We would have loved to have shared a pint or an Irish coffee and continued our wonderful conversations. We chose to stay at five local accommodations over the three weeks rather than hotel hopping in a group tour precisely because we hoped for the chance to bond with some wonderful Irish people. Michael and Sheila certainly made that hope a reality. Thank you again!
Visited July 2018
Written 25 July 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
kittytwister
kittytwister
Marianne and Al would like to thank you so much for the comprehensive and positive review. We are delighted that you had a relaxing time here. Now next year head up to Newburgh and Norwegian airlines are flying to Dublin. Circa €280 return. Really lovely to have met you both. Sheila and Ml
Written 27 July 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

oldprune
oldprune
Redlands, CA420 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Quiet and peaceful... up-to-date look with eco.
I was told there is no house numbers so I am glad that I remember what this house looked like from road. It is next to school, large yard and gate. The owners were away for their vacation but their son waited for us and welcomed us. He was very kind and friendly and the unit is very clean with quality beddings and towels. We didn't spend any time at all in downstairs where it is equipped with TV and other audiovisual equipment. Upstairs had pretty much everything we needed to stay comfortale for a few days. Large skylights with sun blocking shades that opens for ventilation was very nice. I appreciated the supply of ladies cosmetic needs - makeup remover cloth, cotton pads and q-tips. House is equipped with high-tech electric cook top which I can do without and also automatic lighting of bathroom. It turns itself when you opend the door but if you are not moving it will also turn it self off - I had to call my husband to open the door to activate the light few times. Communication is excellent and you will be entertained by a automatic robotic lawnmower too!
Visited May 2018
Written 22 May 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
kittytwister
kittytwister
Thanks so much for your kind comments, delighted you enjoyed the few days. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Ireland.
Written 30 May 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jojo295
jojo295
Liverpool, United Kingdom5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful peaceful location
I stayed at The Jerpoint Apartment for a weekend visiting friends in Thomastown .Friends had recommended it and it is also came up on google when looking for places to stay in Thomastown. The apartment itself is modern and spotlessly clean. It has everything you need , fully equipped kitchen , flat screen tv in the living room and a beautiful bathroom and bedroom . You couldn't find fault with it if you tried. The views are stunning and you can sit and watch the horses in the field and enjoy the peace and quiet. It is a five minute walk from the country Estate Mount Juliet for people who enjoy golf , riding or maybe a meal in one of the restaurants. It is a short walk from the train station and Thomastown itself. The village has pubs, restaurants and many other points of interest. The owners Michael and Sheila are so friendly and hospitable. They invited me in for coffee and even gave me a lift into Thomastown with my luggage. I would recommend anyone stay here and I am looking forward to returning .
Visited April 2018
Written 11 April 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
kittytwister
kittytwister
Joanne! Thanks a million for that review, we are chuffed and appreciated your kind comments. Look forward to meeting you in the future, you can be sure of a welcome. Sheila and Ml
Written 24 April 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 27

What this rental offers
Nearby
  • Golf course (within 30 mins drive)
  • Golf course (within 15 min walk)
  • Horse riding facilities
  • Tennis court
  • Hiking areas
  • Countryside area
Entertainment
  • DVD player
  • Stereo system
  • Television
Things to do
  • Fishing spots available
  • Cycling areas
Wi-fi and internet
  • Wi-fi
Bathroom and laundry
  • Iron
  • Linens provided
  • Towels provided
  • Washer
Outdoor amenities
  • Garage
  • Patio
  • Private yard
Kitchen and dining
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Refrigerator
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Cooker
  • Toaster
Parking
  • Parking available
Scenic views
  • Mountain views
  • Waterfront views
Indoor amenities
  • Central heating
  • Internet access
  • Cable television

Availability
M
T
W
T
F
S
S

May 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
22
23
24
27
28
29

June 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
27
28
29
4
5
6
7

Map
About the neighbourhood
There are 7 trains from Dublin and 6 to Dublin daily within a 10 minute walk and in Thomastown a further 10 minute walk away there are in total 20 buses passing trough going to Dublin and a further 22 coming back. Pick up is offered by host Thomastown has a pop. of 2000, up the road 200 meters is the entrance to Mount Juliet which has a world renown 18 hole golf course where people like Tiger Woods have played. Kilkenny City is 11 miles away which is the most popular tourist haunt after Dublin with its Castle, Rothe House and two cathedrals....15 minutes on the train will get you there. Waterford which is south is 20 miles away and was known years ago for its crystal and there is tourist centre dedicated to that fine art of glass blowing.
Access
Car advised
How to get there
You can come by train, Thomastown station is 10 minute walk away, bus service through Thomastown is excellent and you can avail of direct bus service 19 in total in a 24 hour period from Dublin Airport direct to Thomastown from Dublin. Coordinates are N. 52.52531. W. 7.16295. If coming by car from the airport, take the M50 south, exit at Red Cow, head south on N7 which merges into M7. Leave for M9 at junction 11 and continue south towards Waterford on M9 as far as junction 7. Leave here for the R712 south for Thomastown which is about 16 km. away. In Thomastown follow the one way system, after Bank of Ireland turn left and we are 2 km. up Station Road, immediately past Jerpoint Montesorri School on the top of the hill on left side.
Activities nearby
Fishing spots availableGolf course (within 30 mins drive)Golf course (within 15 min walk)Horse riding facilitiesTennis court

Things to know
Cancellation policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available once booking is confirmed

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

Initially, you may contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.

This owner will contact you via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox.

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.

For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.

Yes. Payments made via the Tripadvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.


Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Earn extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Manage booking easily
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to checkout, even while you’re on the go.
Be trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.

This property is affiliated with   /img2/vacationrentals/brand_refresh/HL_Supplier_Logo.svg   All bookings are direct with the owner
Property #HL2224953281

Frequently Asked Questions about The Jerpoint Apartment, Peaceful Secluded

The Jerpoint Apartment, Peaceful Secluded is able to accommodate up to 2 guests. See all property details.

The Jerpoint Apartment, Peaceful Secluded has 5 bathrooms available. See all property details.

The Jerpoint Apartment, Peaceful Secluded has one bedroom available. See all property details.

Stays at The Jerpoint Apartment, Peaceful Secluded must last at least 3 nights. See all property details.

The Jerpoint Apartment, Peaceful Secluded - UPDATED 2024 - Holiday Rental in Thomastown - Tripadvisor