We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clos Sainte Marie - Lampy

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now

Overview
3 bedrooms
2 bathrooms
8 guests
Minimum stay varies 
The minimum stay for this property changes depending on the dates selected
Gites
Le Clos Sainte Marie has four gites located 30 minutes from Carcassone airport. Toulouse airport is an hour away and the airports at Beziers, Perpignan, and Barcelona are between and hour and a half to three hours away. Lampy is our largest gite with three bedrooms and sleeping 8 people. Crouzette and Caune both have two bedrooms and sleep 6 people. Riblou has two bedrooms and sleeps four people. The gites are old farm buildings that have been beautifully renovated and include all modern conveniences but retain the classic french charm with stone walls and original beams. There is a large heated pool and also swings, slides and a trampoline for kids. In the main summer months of the school holidays our clients are normally families. Outside those dates it is normally couples who come...Le Clos Sainte Marie has four gites located 30 minutes from Carcassone airport. Toulouse airport is an hour away and the airports at Beziers, Perpignan, and Barcelona are between and hour and a half to three hours away. Lampy is our largest gite with three bedrooms and sleeping 8 people. Crouzette and Caune both have two bedrooms and sleep 6 people. Riblou has two bedrooms and sleeps four people. The gites are old farm buildings that have been beautifully renovated and include all modern conveniences but retain the classic french charm with stone walls and original beams. There is a large heated pool and also swings, slides and a trampoline for kids. In the main summer months of the school holidays our clients are normally families. Outside those dates it is normally couples who come to walk, cycle or just lie by the pool.
House Rules
Pets not allowedKid friendly
Check with ownerSmoking allowed
Bedrooms
1 Super King2 Singles
Bathrooms
1 Full bath1 Attached (ensuite)

Meet the host
katherine r
Hosting since December 2012
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 88%
Response Time: Within a few hours

Contribute
Reviews (22)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
If you have submitted a review for a holiday rental property, we may also ask that you provide us with proof of your stay to ensure that your review is attached to the correct rental property.
Holiday rental reviews collected via the VRBO website (formerly Homeaway) and syndicated to the Tripadvisor website are not currently subject to Tripadvisor’s standard moderation processes.
Learn more about our review moderation.
LeeSurrey94
LeeSurrey94
15 contributions
The perfect family holiday
One of the best family breaks we have had, gorgeous setting, beautiful weather, helpful and friendly hosts (Mike & Kate), couldn't have been better. Will be returning at some point for sure.
Visited August 2023
Written 22 August 2023. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Polldoll13
Polldoll13
Norwich, United Kingdom7 contributions
Absolutely AMAZING
The location is stunning and so nice to go and have a look around. The hosts are so welcoming, kind, thoughtful and friendly that we have gone back there year after year and have made new memories every time! The garden is lovely and there is a brick shed that provides you with things such as deck chairs, cushions and pillows , the garden space is excellent and is so good for your children to run around in! The gites are beautiful and spotlessly clean. It is such a nice place to stay and make new friends at like Katie, Mike,Joéle, and Calum.
Visited August 2019
Written 2 July 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Lucylu4976
Lucylu4976
London, United Kingdom8 contributions
Absolutely FANTASTIC
We stayed here for 6 nights with 6 adults and 4 three and half year olds and 1 nine month old and it was simply fantastic. The owners could not have been more helpful on the run up to our stay. We took all the Gites and each one was well stocked with everything you would need, and cool inside and comfy beds etc. The setting was very quiet and had a beautifully tree lined avenue. (Great for kiddy photos!) The pool was heated and even on the slightly cool day we still swam happily. The kids enjoyed the trampoline, slide, swings, fortress and abundance of toys. We could watch them from afar whilst having some adult time ! We cooked on the BBQ’s and moved the tables together to make one big table; it was so perfect for a big group. I would highly recommend Le Clos and the owners, Katie and Mike could not have been more lovely or helpful. Good Carefour just 10 mins away.
Visited June 2019
Written 29 June 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Katierolf11170
Katierolf11170
Hi Lucy, Thanks very much for this. It was lovely to meet you all and we are glad you had a nice holiday. Please say hi to everyone for us.
Written 14 July 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Joan1408
Joan1408
Glasgow, United Kingdom16 contributions
Another perfect stay in rural France
I've been a guest of Mike and Kate's many times, and have reviewed Le Clos before (just so we're all clear on that). But I'd like to update that review, although honestly, I'm only reiterating what I said some years ago. This place is wonderful. Beautiful, peaceful, brilliantly-equipped gites, and the friendliest on-site hosts who will absolutely bend over backwards to ensure you have a fantastic stay. It's an easy distance by car to the supermarket or Spar at Bram and the store at Villepinte, and you're only 20-30 mins (depending how you drive) from Carcassonne itself. Restaurants and cafes in the various local towns and villages are absolutely worth a visit and Mike and Kate are full of excellent recommendations. Be aware that the village you're in (Cenne Monesties) is super rural, and there isn't a general grocery shop or boulanger, so you will need a car to stock up on essentials (although I very much recommend speaking to Kate and Mike about the pizza guy who visits the village square once a week). Needing a car to do a shop are small, small prices to pay for the beauty and tranquillity of this setting and the easy journey to the gorgeous sights and fantastic experiences this part of the world has to offer. 100% recommend.
Visited June 2019
Written 17 June 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Katierolf11170
Katierolf11170
Thanks Joan, it was great to have you back, hopefully see you again.
Written 14 July 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Peter C
Peter C
3 contributions
Amazing Gites and wonderful hosts
Nestled in a fabulous rural setting these gites are full of French charm. Kate and Mike were extremely helpful, responsive and informative during the booking process and couldn't have done more for us during our stay. We (2 adults and 3 children under the age of 8) were fortunate to stay at Le Clos two summers in a row and will hopefully be returning soon for an extended family get together. The gites are accessed via a beautiful tree lined avenue. Each of the five gites has its own small private terrace where we enjoyed breakfast each morning on the beautiful ornate table and chairs. The stepped terraced layout provides a nice element of privacy. The large communal terrace with ample seating and tables for all guests provides a great place to spend an evening with a glass of wine, allowing you to have a chat with the other holiday makers. The two large purpose built stone barbecue's adjacent to the communal terrace make eating outdoors a pleasure. The manicured gardens with heated pool provide all you need for a lazy day. The gites benefit from a touch of class with beautiful homeware, soft furnishings and everything you need for a wonderful luxurious self catering holiday. Kate and Mike are full of recommendations for things to do if you can prise yourself away from the gites, including; amazing beaches at Leucate, Carcassonne Plage, Carcassone walled city, Canal du midi, historic towns, markets and wonderful restaurants. We have no hesitation in recommending Kate and Mike and a stay at Le Clos Sainte Marie, you will not be disappointed!
Visited August 2017
Written 18 May 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Katierolf11170
Katierolf11170
Hi Peter sorry its taken so long to respond, tbh i thought i had. Thanks for the review, its great when people take the time to do these and appreciate all the work we do to make peoples stay enjoyable. Be great to have you all back again, hi to everyone from us.
Written 14 July 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jane P
Jane P
1 contribution
What a rip-off
The Gites are well equipped and we had booked all four for our stay. Lovely areas to explore and plenty of eateries - although not within walking distance - which was a bit disappointing. Local shop only opened occasionally and it was very hit or miss if we managed to catch it open. Bread delivered which was fairly expensive - would recommend a car drive to Boulanger- cheaper! As for charge for broken parasol, we found this in bad taste as it was not discussed by Mike as we left - which we found to be rather two-faced - but mentioned in an email once we had gone when asking for bank details to return deposits for damage. This was an old parasol and didn’t work properly from the day we arrived. Obviously the money was taken from this. One of the beds had dirty linen - blood - which we had to launder, and a large amount of dust under the bed. This was quite gross! The owners children also thought it was OK for them to join ours in the pool - sorry, I don’t think so! Would NOT recommend
Visited August 2018
Written 29 November 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Katierolf11170
Katierolf11170
HI Jane. I am really sorry to hear that you feel this way about your stay, we were under the impression you had had a nice time. As we said to your relative on a previous review we don't think it is unreasonable to ask people to pay for breakages, in fact there is a list in each gite of what things cost to replace so we don't keep it a secret. As regards the bread we don't set the price or make any money from it, it is just a service we offer so people can have a lie in and don't have to go out. We have never had anyone complain about the gites before and if you had told us whilst you were here we would have had the cleaners come back. You never mentioned it at all but if you had we would have certainly had it fixed. Indeed i have just read the review your family left in our guest book at the end of your stay and i am a little at a loss to understand your comments. There is certainly nothing in that which would suggest you were unhappy or had had a bad holiday. In fact the opposite seems to be the case. So all i can do is apologise again and wish you a merry christmas.
Written 1 December 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jérémie N
Jérémie N
Toulouse, France1 contribution
Deux super week ends au Clos Sainte Marie
Venant de Toulouse, nous avons passé deux très bons week ends, début juillet au Lampy, et début septembre au Riblou. Lors de ces deux séjours, nous avons été merveilleusement accueillis et conseillés par Katie et Mike. Les deux gîtes sont très agréablement rénovés, bien équipés. Et le cadre est joli. Le jardin est immense, avec des jeux pour les enfants et une magnifique piscine. Nous reviendrons sans doute très vite !
Visited September 2018
Written 15 October 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Katierolf11170
Katierolf11170
Merci Jérémie! C'est gentile. A la prochaine? Mike.
Written 17 October 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kathleen J
Kathleen J
Aylesbury, United Kingdom19 contributions
BITTERSWEET STAY
After several months of family sadness we were all looking forward to our stay in France, and we had booked out all gites at Le Clos Sainte Marie. Perfect location and seemingly hosts. However, after vacating the properties we were charged 75Euros for a parasol which was taken by a sudden gust of wind and deposited on the lawn (witnessed by Mike). I hasten to add that on first use of the said parasol the winding mechanism was already broken and there was no weighted base to secure the parasol it was just fed through a hole in the table. We did take issue with this charge but to no avail, so in a no win situation as the hosts held the bank transfer deposit. Basically we were charged for a sudden gust of wind which took a parasol with no safe, secure fixture. Beware of unexpected and unfair charges.
Visited August 2018
Written 11 September 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Katierolf11170
Katierolf11170
Thank you for your comments. We don't think it's unreasonable to ask for people to pay for things that are broken during their stay. The cost of which is clearly detailed in the inventory for each gite. We are sorry that this marred your stay but we hope that you and your family enjoyed your time together.
Written 11 September 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

alisonbell63
alisonbell63
Northampton, United Kingdom2 contributions
Fantastic place to stau
We’ve just spent 2 lovely weeks here and would recommend it to anyone. Four gites that are very well equipped with everything you need...and more. The swimming pool is warm and cosy and their are plenty of loungers to relax on when you come out. For younger children there are numerous toys and games, a trampoline and a seesaw. For older children there are also games and we spent lots of evenings competing over the monopoly board. The local villages are lovely and there are plenty of things to do. It’s great having the lovely owners on site to book restaurants and trips when you don’t speak the language. Nothing is too much trouble for them. If you’re undecided about this property I would say book it, you won’t be disappointed!
Visited August 2018
Written 22 August 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Katierolf11170
Katierolf11170
Thanks Alison, really pleased you enjoyed your time. Hope to see you again.
Written 24 August 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lois S
Lois S
Godalming, United Kingdom4 contributions
Fantastic family friendly rural gites - a real gem
We have just returned from a fabulous 2 week stay at Le Clos Sainte Marie. The gites are in a beautiful quiet, rural location with lovely well maintained grounds/gardens (with kids play area), and a gorgeous swimming pool, heated to a balmy 24 degrees. Le Lampy is a stunning gite with great character, huge rooms, and is tastefully decorated and well equipped: everything you need for a relaxing self catering holiday is provided. The lovely welcome pack including wine, bread, eggs, fresh flowers and children's colouring book and pencils is indicative of the thoughtfulness of Kate and Mike - they really go the extra mile to ensure you have a brilliant holiday, and are approachable and knowledgeable about the local area. Le Clos Sainte Marie truly is a unique and wonderful place - we very much hope to return (as do our children)!
Visited July 2018
Written 1 August 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Katierolf11170
Katierolf11170
Hi Lois, sorry its taken so long to reply, there was some issue with the tripadvisor site and we couldnt publish replies. Thanks for the review and it would be great to see you again.
Written 24 August 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 22

What this rental offers
Bathroom and laundry
  • Dryer
  • Iron
  • Linens provided
  • Towels provided
  • Washer
Wi-fi and internet
  • Wi-fi
Property features
  • Staff on property
Additional amenities
  • Trampoline
Things to do
  • Fishing spots available
  • Watersports
  • Cycling areas
Indoor amenities
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Internet access
  • Cable television
Outdoor amenities
  • Balcony
  • Deck
  • Patio
  • Playground
  • Shared outdoor pool (heated)
  • Swingset
  • Terrace
Entertainment
  • DVD player
  • Game Room
  • Ping Pong table
  • Stereo system
  • Television
Living spaces
  • Highchair
Kitchen and dining
  • Grill
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Refrigerator
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Cooker
  • Toaster
Nearby
  • Golf course (within 30 mins drive)
  • Horse riding facilities
  • Tennis court
  • Hiking areas
  • Countryside area
Parking
  • Parking available
Location info
  • Kid friendly

Availability
M
T
W
T
F
S
S

February 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
1
2
3

March 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
26
27
28
29
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Map
Access
Car advised
How to get there
Flights are available from all over Europe to Carcassonne, Toulouse, Beziers, Perpignan and Barcelona. It is worth checking the various routes as prices do vary significantly between airlines and airports. It is also worth asking us about which are the best options.
Activities nearby
Fishing spots availableGolf course (within 30 mins drive)Horse riding facilitiesTennis courtWatersports

Things to know
Check in / out timings
Check in after 4 p.m. Check out by 10 a.m.
Cancellation policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 8 weeks before check-in
  • 25% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available once booking is confirmed

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

Initially, you may contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.

This owner will contact you via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox.

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.

For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.

Yes. Payments made via the Tripadvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.


Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Earn extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Manage booking easily
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to checkout, even while you’re on the go.
Be trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.

This property is affiliated with   /img2/vacationrentals/brand_refresh/HL_Supplier_Logo.svg   All bookings are direct with the owner
Property #HL222287057

Frequently Asked Questions about Le Clos Sainte Marie - Lampy

Le Clos Sainte Marie - Lampy is able to accommodate up to 8 guests. See all property details.

Le Clos Sainte Marie - Lampy has 2 bathrooms available. See all property details.

Le Clos Sainte Marie - Lampy has 3 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Le Clos Sainte Marie - Lampy - UPDATED 2024 - Holiday Rental in Carlipa - Tripadvisor