We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

THE GARDEN STUDIO FOR TWO PEACEFUL RURAL SCOTLAND

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now
Rainbow over Garden Studio
Studio Interior
Kitchenette
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Policies
Overview
1 bedroom
1 bathroom
2 guests
2 nights minimum
Chalet
Rural Romantic Hideaway for two in central Scotland near Stirling. Peaceful rural setting within the old orchard at Mackeanston House, near Doune, Stirling and the Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park. We are two miles from Doune Castle used oas a location in the Outlander series. TWO NIGHT MINIMUM STAY SELF CATER. The open plan Studio has a king sized double bed, sofa, kitchenette, dining table and chairs. Separate Shower room with WC basin and large power shower with disabled seat. French windows open onto decking area with table and chairs with views over the orchard, the Gargunnock hills and the Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park. Wake to the sound of birdsong and the stream running alongside the Studio in which trout have been seen! Furnished with the most beautiful Harris tweed ...Rural Romantic Hideaway for two in central Scotland near Stirling. Peaceful rural setting within the old orchard at Mackeanston House, near Doune, Stirling and the Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park. We are two miles from Doune Castle used oas a location in the Outlander series. TWO NIGHT MINIMUM STAY SELF CATER. The open plan Studio has a king sized double bed, sofa, kitchenette, dining table and chairs. Separate Shower room with WC basin and large power shower with disabled seat. French windows open onto decking area with table and chairs with views over the orchard, the Gargunnock hills and the Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park. Wake to the sound of birdsong and the stream running alongside the Studio in which trout have been seen! Furnished with the most beautiful Harris tweed and pretty floral Sanderson fabric - all who have stayed here have fallen in love with this cosy peaceful haven. Wi-Fi. Private entrance and parking. Electric heating. Double glazing. TV with Freeview. Free use of all weather tennis court. Bed linen and towels supplied. CAR ESSENTIAL. SHORT BREAKS available.More
House Rules
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: No
Smoking inside the property is strictly forbidden. This is a peaceful rural retreat and we ask guests to kindly keep it that way. Please drive slowly down the drive as there may be children and dogs in the vicinity. We ask guests to switch the electric panel heater to frost-stat on day of departure and to turn the thermostat to lowest setting when out during the day. With thanks.
Bathrooms
1 Attached (ensuite)
Show more
Meet the host
Fiona G
Hosting since May 2014
Languages spoken: English, French
Response Time: Within a few hours
Interaction with guestsWe provide a small welcome pack containing essentials like milk,butter,bread,tea, coffee etc. We like to respect your privacy but are nearby should you need us. We find text is a good way of communicating. We invite guests to go straight to the Studio and let themselves in, it is normally left open for your arrival.
Contribute
Reviews (17)
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
If you have submitted a review for a holiday rental property, we may also ask that you provide us with proof of your stay to ensure that your review is attached to the correct rental property.
Holiday rental reviews collected via the VRBO website (formerly Homeaway) and syndicated to the Tripadvisor website are not currently subject to Tripadvisor’s standard moderation processes.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Vivien G
Vivien G
Thank you so much for a lovely peaceful weekend :) the sound of the little stream trickling away was very welcomed. The garden studio was very clean, well presented and most importantly comfortable! Brilliant welcome pack with all the essentials including bread and milk. Thank you again and we shall definitely be back! Warm wishes, Vivien and Chris xx
Visited December 2019
Written 8 December 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

shazbit
shazbit
Derby, United Kingdom20 contributions
Compact little cabin is comfortable and cosy. Very quiet location. Perfect for relaxing at end of day exploring the area. Hosts very friendly and welcoming then once settled in left in privacy. Sorry the weather did not allow us to sit outside on the decking, but from the sofa we could still see the birds in the garden. Enjoyed our too brief stay.
Visited August 2019
Written 11 September 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Ann C
Ann C
Bristol, United Kingdom13 contributions
We had a fabulous 3 night stay in Fiona’s studio chalet. Fiona’s attention to detail was fantastic the chalet was very clean, warm and very cosy. Everything was there and more besides just fab! We loved it and really didn’t want to leave the peace and quiet of this idyllic little garden studio. We had the best time! Thank you Fiona!!
Visited September 2018
Written 6 September 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Fiona G
Fiona G
Thank you for your lovely review. We enjoyed meeting you very much and do hope you will come back soon.
Written 8 September 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Paul L
Paul L
Dundee, United Kingdom30 contributions
This is such a lovely get away. So quiet and private. So clean and cosy. Really nice decor too. Lovely views and not far from the sights of Scotland has to offer.
Visited August 2018
Written 25 August 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Fiona G
Fiona G
We really appreciate your lovely review - thanks so much. Best wishes Fiona
Written 26 August 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Faith T
Faith T
Frederick, CO2 contributions
This is a great location for exploring both Sterling as well as a visit to Doune Castle. It is also a short trip over to Falkirk. The "tiny house" is so lovely with such thoughtful attention to include everything you may need for a peaceful home away from home. Fiona has a gift to make you feel like a welcome guest. I loved sitting on the deck with a cup of tea watching the birds at the feeders and enjoying the view. This was our last stop after a two week tour of Scotland and made us not want to leave! There was a comfortable bed and wonderful bathroom as well as a beautiful open space to relax and enjoy homemade goodies that were included in our welcome package.
Visited June 2018
Written 15 June 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Fiona G
Fiona G
Thank you so much for your heartwarming review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Written 16 June 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jean C
Jean C
Lovely location, clean,well presented great attention to detail. Would have given it 5 but we think the dresser needs to be swapped with the wardrobe so that the food can be stored next to the kitchen. (this would not be an issue if you were only staying for a weekend) Would love to return very relaxing.
Visited April 2018
Written 24 April 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Laura M
Laura M
We are not long back from this gorgeous wee lodge. We spend 4days here over new year and couldn't have asked for more. The weather was especially bad in the run up to our stay and Fiona the owner couldn't have been more helpful in keeping us informed with the conditions should we have wanted to cancel however the snow made it beautiful for us arriving. The lodge itself is immaculate and has everything you 4aaneed. It's cozy and comfortable and close enough to everything if you want to venture out. Although we spend most of our time at the lodge other than going a walk on new years day to doune. The wee touches that Fiona has done make it feel like a home from home. We will definitely be back sooner rather than later.
Visited December 2017
Written 9 January 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Fiona G
Fiona G
Thanks so much for your encouraging comments - a great start to 2018 for us. Haste ye back!
Written 10 January 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Johnetal
Johnetal
Wirral, United Kingdom1 contribution
My husband and I were thoroughly looking forward to visiting this venue from 21st August 2017. Unfortunately my husband has had a major stroke and is in a critical condition. I phoned to ask if we could cancel to be told that we should have read the small print. Whilst this may be technically true I would at least have expected some form of compassion. The owner did not even offer to readvertise the property so that we could possibly be refunded our money. As pensioners even if my husband recovers enough we will now not be able to afford another break. I suggest anyone wishing to book asks for a full set of their terms and conditions before parting with any money as this insensitive owner will stick to them no matter how bad your personal situation may be. Disgraceful attitude.
Visited August 2017
Written 14 August 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Fiona G
Fiona G
I emailed expressing compassion for your very upsetting circumstances. However it is the height of the season and I have turned away many bookings to protect these dates. We opted through Booking.com, through whom you booked, to use their strictest cancellation policy and all guests are made aware of this before they book and we trust them to take out holiday cancellation policies to cover unexpected contingencies. We are also pensioners relying on the income our small business provides. We are sorry for your circumstances but do not feel we are responsible. You have published this review without having met us or been here instead of entering into a dialogue with us despite us ringing three times and emailing also. You have not cancelled the booking so I cannot try to re-let the dates. We are open to discussing other options but feel that we should speak directly rather than through this medium. I understand how very distressed you must feel but please consider contacting us directly.
Written 16 August 2017. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

alg942
alg942
Settle, United Kingdom
Excellent place to stay. A real home from home. Everything you need in beautiful private surroundings. Would recommend to anyone
Visited July 2017
Written 26 July 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Fiona G
Fiona G
Thanks so much for kindly reviewing us and we hope we can welcome you back some time in the future.
Written 16 August 2017. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Miranda_McKenzie
Miranda_McKenzie
Edinburgh, United Kingdom2 contributions
Just lovely to be back in the Studio again! Very cosy despite being February and even braved a coffee outside looking at the snowdrops. Colin and Fiona are very hospitable, nothing too much trouble. Looking forward to another visit.
Visited February 2017
Written 24 February 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Fiona G
Fiona G
Thanks so much for reviewing us. We much look forward to your next visit. Best wishes. Fiona
Written 28 February 2017. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 17
Amenities
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: No
DVD Player
Balcony
Grill
Central Heating
Deck
Freezer
Refrigerator
Internet Access
Iron
Kettle
Linens Provided
Microwave
Parking
Private Garden
Safe
Stereo System
Cooker
Terrace
Toaster
Towels Provided
TV
Washer
Wi-Fi
Fishing Nearby
There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive
Horse Riding Nearby
There Are Tennis Courts Nearby
Watersports Nearby
Cycling Trips
Hiking Trips
Rural/Countryside Retreats
See more amenities
Availability
M
T
W
T
F
S
S

February 2023

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
1
2
3
4
5

March 2023

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
27
28
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Map
+
About the neighbourhood
The Garden Studio is surrounded by farmland within the one acre walled garden at Mackeanston House which provides Dinner Bed and Breakfast in a family home environment. Guests can share use of the all weather tennis court with the family all year round. Dinner can also be booked at Mackeanston House, which takes a maximum of six guests for meals, using first class local produce, much of it organic and home grow. Colin and Fiona are experienced hosts who have welcomed guests to their home for over twenty years.
Getting around
A car is essential to get the best out of the area. DUNBLANE railway station is five miles away. Edinburgh airport is 45 miles. Edinburgh, GLASGOW and Perth are all within one hour travel by car. Ideal central base from which to explore Stirling, Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park and beyond.
More
Cancellation Policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 8 weeks before check-in
  • 25% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available if you cancel thereafter

Enter your trip dates to see an exact cancellation policy.

*Booking fee is excluded from refund amount

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

Initially, you may contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.

This owner will contact you via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox.

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.

For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.

Yes. Payments made via the Tripadvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.

Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#HL2221770450
Frequently Asked Questions about THE GARDEN STUDIO FOR TWO PEACEFUL RURAL SCOTLAND

THE GARDEN STUDIO FOR TWO PEACEFUL RURAL SCOTLAND is able to accommodate up to 2 guests. See all property details.

THE GARDEN STUDIO FOR TWO PEACEFUL RURAL SCOTLAND has one bathroom available. See all property details.

THE GARDEN STUDIO FOR TWO PEACEFUL RURAL SCOTLAND has one bedroom available. See all property details.

Stays at THE GARDEN STUDIO FOR TWO PEACEFUL RURAL SCOTLAND must last at least 2 nights. See all property details.