Beirut is a city that has endured thousands of years of hardship and success, as well as many different rulers and empires. Overall, the city has been destroyed and rebuilt seven times. The earliest settlers in the area started moving in during the Stone Age near the Beirut River. After a time, a town was built and the population began to grow. Soon after that, markets were set up and the town became a city. Beirut grew and become cultured as the Roman Empire conquered the land, and it is believed that Beirut had the first law school in the world. Arabs arrived to take over control in 635, and life went on as normal until the Crusades. Over a series of years, the city continued to change hands from Arabs to European rulers. It wasn't until 1516 that the Ottoman Turks came in power in the region and asserted their own dominance. During World War I, the city was blockaded by the Allies, and thousands died due to starvation, famine, and plague. Locals attempted to revolt against the Turks because of this, but the revolt was soon crushed. After the war ended, the French and British moved in, and on April 25, 1920, the League of Nations gave the French power over Lebanon. In World War II, Beirut served as an important port city to supply the allies. In 1946, the French left the city, and Beirut began to thrive as the "pearl of the Middle East." However, during the Lebanese Civil War from 1975-1991, the city was repeatedly destroyed be militias and attacks. The economy and the population suffered, but Beirut is now trying to rebuild.