The United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar, Tanzania is the largest of the three countries in East Africa (Kenya, Uganda are the other two).  It is famous around the globe because of  Serengeti,Ngorongoro Crater,Zanzibar and Mt. Kilimanjaro. With a population of 44 million people made up of over 100 tribes, the country is diverse both in culture and in geography. 

Tanzaina was a German colony before the First World War, and was given to the British by the League of Nations in1918.  In 1961, Tanzania achieved independence and had its first president, Nyerere.  Nyerere drove the country to bankrupcy because of his economic policies which were liberalized by his successors.  In 1978 Idi Amin of Uganda sent his army into northern Tanzania, as a result of Tanzania supporting exiled groups who were hostile to his regime.  Tanzania mobilized an army, after a few months of delay, pushed out the Ugandans.  In 1985 Nyerere stepped down but he then became the chairman of his party Chama Cha Mapinduzi (The Party of the Revolution).  Ali Hassan Mwinyi followed Nyerere in the presedency along with Benjamin Mpaka.  Jakaya Kikwete is the fourth president and the current  president is John Magufuli.