Interested in California?
We'll send you updates with the latest deals, reviews and articles for California each week.
Topics include Transportation, Dining Scene, United States: For Foreign Visitors & more!
California visitors with children under 8 years old need to be aware of recent changes in the California car seat regulations. If your child does not have a car seat, you might be stopped by police and fined $100-$250 or be denied boarding a van or taxi cab.
In a nutshell:
Note: The California regulations do not specify particular brands or types of car seats to use. However, as car seats may be designed and installed differently in the United States, make sure you choose the right car seat for your child and know how to install it properly using the LATCH system.
If you plan on traveling with children in California (or to other states with similar laws), you have several options:
Travel with children can be very fun and educational. It just takes a little more preparation. Figuring out the logistics of the car seat is just one of the items that require some pre-planning.
Key Source: CA DMV Driver Handbook