We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (598)
Filter reviews
598 results
Traveller rating
295
186
75
30
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
186
75
30
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ludlow food centre underfloor heating food hall post office restaurant with rooms mini bar main building junior suite lamb well worth a visit ground floor restaurant menu wine list for sunday lunch excellent food great room local produce
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 598 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Our room was huge and luxurious (free slippers, cookies and bottled water). The bathroom was really nice, too. The onsite pub had a nice selection and lots of places to sit, including two ancient settees! The staff was really nice. We had a little emergency, and they all jumped in to help. I could tell their concern and desire to help was genuine. We had a wonderful dinner in the dining room and a great breakfast in the restaurant.The ground floor rooms open into the free parking lot which is great for loading and unloading luggage. There is a post office/gift shop and a grocery store with hot foods, a liquor store and gift shop on site. The only negative is the location. It's seven miles from the city centre, taxis are rarely available and the buses are limited. We got stuck in town and a nice couple of locals gave us a ride back and saved us a long walk. Although we didn't try it, I'm pretty sure The Clive staff would have sent someone to get us. I would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: First floor = no steps!
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SuzyCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Came here for Sunday lunch with two friends. We all had an excellent meal. Good helpings of roast meat (I had the beef) crisp roast potatoes and well cooked vegetables. No room for a pudding which was a shame but we each had a starter. I had soup and my friends the smoked salmon and the terrine. Both looked good and my soup was good too and served at just the right temperature. The service was attentive but unobtrusive.
Can recommend it.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank carolyndaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Although we knew the booking in time was 3pm, we arrived at 1pm, and went into the reception/bar to let them know we had arrived and was hit by the smell of frying? fish. If we had not been meeting a group of friends we would have left. We had barely sat down, when the barman asked if we wanted a drink & and the menus we delivered. After I asked him to let us settle down after 4 hours on the road, we declined the offer of a drink & also lunch, as we were eating there that night. The room was great, being large and airy, with a large bathroom with underfloor heating. Eight of us met up in the bar at 6.30, with a table booked for 8 people at 7.30. This was when Angela took over, serving our drinks & bringing the menus. She had set up a large table at the back of the dining room and looked after us all night. The food was great, and we ate there again on the third night. Breakfast was served in a separate area, and luckily Angela was on duty again, being the only member of the waiting staff (apart from the excellent chef) that actually moved with some sense of urgency - she was also the oldest member of staff there. She was not on duty for our last meal, and it showed. The bar area was poorly laid out, with one part forming a bottleneck, where staff had to push through those drinking there, to be able to serve the bar meals, whereas you could have got ten people behind the bar. Also as most of the customers were getting on in years (as we were) I would have thought the bathrooms would have had walk in showers, as the bath sides were a bit high and it also had the dreaded clinging shower curtain Other than that we couldn't fault it, with all the staff being very friendly. Just lose the cooking smells in reception.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Booked a weekend for family based on location, rosette awarded restaurant and the fact it had accommodation. The Clive were helpful all the way from booking to check-in. Rooms were very nice indeed. Dinner on the Saturday was excellent. Other facilities on site were very good. There was the Ludlow Food Centre which was stocked with lots of local produce, a plant shop and the Kitchen cafe which was very popular. Both rooms and dinner were great value for money and I would recommend The Clive to others.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davej2017565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Stopped for dinner on a long journey. We hadn't booked but were quickly accommodated despite it being quite busy
Excellent food with local produce and equally good service
Happy to visit again and happy to recommend

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilyRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews