We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast misery” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Moate
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast misery”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We happened to stop for breakfast en route from Galway to Dublin on the morning of September 12, 2011 and stopped at the Grand Hotel in Moate. There was a restaurant/coffee shop open. The service was possibly the poorest we have encountered. No smiling, happy faces. It looked like we were greatly inconveniencing the staff...two women working there. It was a most unpleasant experience, and certainly not representative of the people we had met in Ireland in any of the B&B's, pubs and restaurants we stopped at. Unfortunately, as well, the breakfast was of the same caliber as the staff.

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms are better than the food in the Carvery/CoffeeDock...??
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Canadiansnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    30
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
25
20
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
rep ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed here for 2 days in August, Rooms very spacious, there was actually a double bed and a single in the room which was nice with everthing supplied even an Iron Press. Had Breakfast which was lovely and served to you. We also had an evening meal on the evening we arrived which was lovely and reasonable. Staff were very helpful. Theree is a small car park at the back of the hotel which is very safe, If you fancy going out go to Eagans Pub it is well worth a visit and nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taxinephets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

I stayed with my wife on a Friday and Saturday night in February. Accomodation was basic but clean, bathrooms were fine and our room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet considering it was the weekend. We had food in the bar on friday night and were happy with the menu available. The service was realy good and the staff there were very helpful and pleasant. As we were visiting friends nearby we did not have food on saturday. The breakfast each morning was fairly traditional but nice all the same. Overall our stay was plaesant and would have no problem recommending it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

stayed with family members for 50th birthday party. rooms were basic but comfortable with internet access throughout the hotel. Niteclub 2minute walk away so while the older family members were drinkin in the hotel bar we ventured down to the club S with our complimentary concession tickets from the hotel bar. Friendly night porter who re open the bar for us at 3 in the morning. Parents complained of no fresh minlk in the rooms was quickly sloved with a call to reception. No lift unfortunalty but bags were carried upstairs for my parents and older family members!! Friendly bar and night staff. Gr8 selection of food 2 wit a formal dining room and pub grub available. Noise wasnt a problem for me but parents complained of noisy stairs and doors. Very close to athlone-less than 10 mins. €50 a night for a single room and breakfast aint bad but aint gr8 either. will return again

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thriller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

Contrary to a previous reviewer, I enjoyed my veg lasagne in the pub - it had chunks of vegetables which I was craving after so long on the road. Now to the nitty-gritty: the noise from the main street, plus the banging of hallway doors, plus the reverberating, creaky sound of people walking on the stairs all combined into 1 night of interrupted sleep. The shower was a joke: very little water and a very high nozzle with scant pressure, which made it impossible for a woman to rinse off soap. Don't even think about a shampoo! Even my taller husband said that he would hold his hands high in the shower to collect enough water to carry down to the soap on his body. This is a family-run hotel and they seem serious about collecting evaluations, but I didn't see much money re-invested in their rooms. I also agree with another reviewer that the breakfast was a disappointment: little choice, no oatmeal/porridge, 1 cup of bland coffee. We paid 90 euros for 2 adults, which I think was only 10 euros off their quoted rate. OVER-PRICED for messing up the basics of a good night's sleep and a decent shower.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AtlantaJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelMoate, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us but since April 2011 we have completely revamped our Barfood menu and lowered our prices in line with the V.A.T reductions. Our Prices for accommodation have also dropped to €42.50 per person based on 2 adults sharing. Our Barfood is prepared fresh and we still have our home made vegetable lasagne you'll be glad to hear!! In regards to the shower pressure, I cannot understand why you experienced such a low pressure in the shower, as our system is pressurised and the showers run at over 20 litres per minute, which is 5 litres more per minute than a domestic pump shower. And we are very serious about improving our service to all customers and have recently conducted a complete customer evaluation of all areas of our hotel. Our breakfast now has an extensive selection of fresh fruit, porridge, croissants, vegetarian breakfast, traditional full Irish, yoghurts and much more to suit everyone’s tastes. The Oakleaf is launching its brand new Á la Carte menu and Table D’hôte Menus on Saturday 23rd of July. In September we are opening the first of our newly refurbished rooms and we hope we can include you on our guest list to show to you how much we have invested into making The Grand Hotel a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards Cathal Claffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moate
14.7 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
15.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
15.6 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 km away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
11.7 km away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
14.9 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Main Street, Moate, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Moate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Moate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a family run,14 bedroom hotel in Moate, County Westmeath. Situated in the heart of the Irish midlands, only 12km from Athlone, and only an hour's journey on the M6 motorway from both Dublin and Galway, the Grand Hotel is the perfect stop off location. We are just 2 minutes off both exit 6 and exit 7 on the M6. All of our bedrooms are en suite and we offer an extensive bar food, carvery, and A la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing