We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
213
17
3
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
17
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gannet colony kauri cliffs play golf tasting menu new zealand pre dinner drinks kiwi experience round of golf food and wine tour of the property stunning property kiwi bird luxury lodge horse ride moment you arrive spa treatments hawkes bay
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2016

We stayed for two nights at the Farm on a recent trip to New Zealand - what a fabulous place! Definitely Relais et Chateau standard. The Lodge itself is smart and very comfortable with various attractive public areas. There is a snug in an old grain silo at the centre of the property which is unique. The dining room runs along the back of the property with floor to ceiling windows running its length with great views across the well-kept gardens and golf course and down to the Pacific. The decor I would probably describe as New England chic. The accommodation is on a raised plot to the front of the property and we were in room no.8 at one end. The room is very comfortable with chairs and a footstool. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was lovely with bath tub and walk-in shower. There was a small verandah with seating. There are complimentary drinks served in the lounge after 6pm. The food was excellent and the German sommelier, Tom, suggested some great wines. Breakfasts were good with a great choice of cold buffet items and hot dishes cooked to order. We had wanted to go on one of the Can-Am property tours and to visit the gannet colony but these tours, obviously popular, were all fully booked. I would suggest having a look at the activities on offer in advance and book before you go. We went on the Kiwi discovery tour, which while not cheap, was brilliant. There is a Kiwi sanctuary on the property and hatched Kiwi chicks are hand reared and then released with a radio tracking device attached. We went out with Hayley to find one of the chicks to be weighed and measured. The bird was located and taken out of its burrow - amazing to see one of these iconic birds in close-up. Hayley was so knowledgeable - it was a great experience. There is also an aviary at the back of the Lodge where volunteers raise Kakas and Kakarikis - the native parrots and parakeets. They are then released when ready but still fly to the feeders close by so you can get a good look at them. There is a spa on site. All the staff were lovely - helpful and efficient. We can thoroughly recommend the Farm.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seacucumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisShepherd, Manager at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Thank you for your lovely review - it is great that you got to experience so much of the Sanctuary. The Kiwi programme is certainly a highlight for mosts guests that get to experience it, the Robertsons have been great stewards of the land, their provision of this unique Sanctuary for NZ native birds is a testament to that - we are lucky to be a part of the vision.

I am pleased you enjoyed the cuisine and wines so much, the passion of our Chefs, Tom the Som and the rest of the Team shows through in every way. I am grateful to have such great people to look after our guests.

I do hope you will get back to experience more Kiwi hospitality with us some day soon.

Safe travels and best wishes
Kris


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

We enjoyed 3 nights at the Farm at Cape Kidnappers. This gave us plenty of time to sample all that the property and area nearby had to offer. We did not play golf, although we visited the stunning course, a golf cart was available to drive the "back nine" along the coast, absolutely beautiful. We toured the Hawkes Bay area with a guide and enjoyed some great wines. At the Farm we took the Kiwi Discovery walk, a highlight for me. We learned about the Kiwi conservation efforts and got to see a 2 month old kiwi. A highlight for my husband was a "CanAm" tour of the Cape Kidnappers property. This 4wd vehicle took us all over the property (a driver was included) We learned about sheep shearing, saw sweeping views of the Cape, the spectacular ocean front cliffs, walked on the rocks at the ocean's edge and visited a gannet nesting area where we saw newly hatched chicks. The ride was really fun and our driver/guide, Mac, was very familiar with the property and the history, in addition to being a talented Can Am driver! The kiwi discovery and CanAm tour are available only to guests of the lodge. Our room at the lodge was beautiful, very comfortable with a nice porch and sweeping view. We could hear the Tui and Bell birds singing in the morning. The bathroom was spacious. The mini bar well supplied, fresh baked cookies were included. Cocktails and Canapes were offered before dinner which provided a nice opportunity to meet other guests. The food was wonderful and beautifully presented. The Ice cream is all homemade and the hokey Pokey flavor is amazing. The service is all very good. The wine list includes many New Zealand wines. The property has a well equipped gym. I can highly recommend this hotel and I suggest 3 nights stay to experience all it has to offer.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisShepherd, Manager at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Wow! What can I say but thank you very much. You certainly experienced so much of what The Farm and Cape Kidnappers has to offer.

I love to see guests get the time to take in so much of it. I do hope you will get back one day soon to do a little more and take some more time to relax.

Safe travels!

Best wishes
Kris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

The website actually undersells the location and ambience. This is Lodge-living par excellence. Perched on a gobsmacking coastal farm, the vastness and superb gardens - and golf course - add up to a stunning setting. The rooms and common areas are outstanding, coupled with first class food and wine and attentive service. The decor is US-ish but with sufficient Kiwi input so as to remind you that you're in NZ not Montana. It stands up there with the best ... globally. Go if you can.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank SYZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisShepherd, Manager at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Thank you so much for your review. Interesting that you mentioned Montana - one of my favourite places - I think New Zealand and Montana are closely aligned in character, so it is nice that you felt that here.

I am so pleased you enjoyed it so much, the gardeners and golf course crew will be pleased to read your comments as will the rest of the Cape Team.

Thanks for coming to stay!

Safe travels and best wishes
Kris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Great location with wonderful seacoast views. Sterling environment with a touch of rural class. Wine and Golf on the top shelf with a friendly and supportive staff. You will enjoy and long recall a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jdwright3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisShepherd, Manager at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us - you encapsulated the essence of the Farm perfectly I thought, it is warming to see and your coments are much appreciated.

Hopefully you will be back to stay with us again sometime in the not too distant future.

Best wishes
Kris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We stayed at this magical property for 3 nights and experienced some of the best service ever!
The cuisine at the Farmhouse utilizes locally sourced produce, meats and seafood.
The staff and management go out of their way to make you feel at home.
And the golf at Cape Kidnappers is a bucket list item!

Room Tip: Suite 11 and 12 for families is perfect
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Thank Abe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisShepherd, Manager at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Many thanks for your lovely comments. We are lucky to live in an area that has great fresh produce and a wonderful vegetable garden, not to mention a great team of people!

I'm glad you enjoyed it so much - I look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.

Take care and best wishes
Kris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews