We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Fumaca Falls
from US$80.00
More Info
from US$1,840.00
More Info
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
472
88
16
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
472
88
16
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an hour nice hike chapada diamantina mountains maps trail hours climb rain download wade drop guide nature vale
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We want as a one day trip without a guide. The only thing to keep in mind is to keep right in the middle part of the trek.

Trek is nice and falls are spectacular. Definitely a must in Chapada de Diamantina.

It's possible as a one day trip from Lencois even without guide:
Get the 5 am bus to Palmeiras (10 R$). Arriving take the van to Vale de Capao (15R$). Tell the driver to get off at the trailhead. Walk 200m uphill to trailhead, here wait for the parkoffice to open at 8 am.
The trek should take no more than 6 hours all together, including time at the waterfall.
Getting back you can catch a van from Villa de Capao which is 20 min walk downhill. This will take you back the Palmeiras and from there to Lencois. Bus back will be at 11pm. So use time to chill in Capao.

Alternatively you can try to hitch a ride or ask around.

The easy option is to ask tours coming back is they can take you to Lencois. Bargain for price, but maximum should be 50R$.

This way you can make the trip on 50-75R$ one day from Lencois, easy half the price of a guide.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank 226emili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

This is a nice trek, but it is mor about the vies than about the waterfall. The half hour or so it is continuously up the mountain and then straight through the bush. At the end you have to cross a river. You don't really need a guide, if you have your own car to get here, since there is only one path and probably other hikers. The hike itself is probably pleasant if the sun is out, and the views must be spectacular, we barely saw anything, because it was pouring from the heavens.

If it rains, really really think twice if you want to do this. We were well prepared, with good hiking boots, hiking pants and rain pants on top, rain jackets and ponchos if we needed them. Our bags were waterproof. However while we had ben told that we should prepare for rain, nobody told us that we would have to walk through almost hip deep water (well less really, in between knees and your bottom). We has managed to keep dry until that and three days later our shoes still haven't recovered from the water we had to march through for a good hour.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Pixxidix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Spectacular view point from the top of Fumaca Falls. In order to be able to view the waterfall itself you have to crawl out onto the edge of the cliff top, overhanging the canyon. Although is a little scary, it definitely worth the views!

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016

It's a 2 hour trail , not easy but worth it! amazing views!
Everyone goes there so there are many people walking the same way , so you cant get lost even if you want to. So NO need to take a guide - some pousadas and tour companies will tell you you should take a guide because "there are a few trails and it's safer" -my advice - dont listen to them. Our pousada owner tried to convince us to take a guide for 30 brl each. we asked a few locals and everyone said there's no need and they were right!

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank Morin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

You can get the local buses of the town of Capão and head to the trail. A steep one hour climb and an hour of flat walking but it is well worth the hike! Just stunning. In rainy season, there is a river you have two wade through so bring flip flops!

Thank Liam006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews