We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varied and interesting menu”

Sampans Oriental Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Ringway
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Sampans restaurant brings you the very best Pan-Asian cuisine with a collection of dishes to suit all tastes. We also have a great selection of desserts and teas that have been carefully selected to offer you the best Far Eastern culinary experience. I grew up in Chumphon, South Thailand and was fascinate by the sights and aroma of cooking from early childhood. I would help my mother in the kitchen, learning about the fresh herbs and spices that use in Asian cooking. My passion for food led me to travel extensively across the Asian continent to China, Vietnam, Sri Lanka and Japan. During my journeys I worked in restaurants, learning my craft and fusing the foods of the various cultures to bring an authentic taste of the Far East to my style of cooking. These skills are reflected in creating Sampans menu. I hope you enjoy your dinning experience with us. Boonta English and Team
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Stayed at the Crown Plaza for the night prior to our outward flight and managed to get a table at Sampans following a cancellation - please note that the two restaurants at the Crowne Plaza always seem to be operating at full capacity, with a failry long wait for a table, so suggest that you book prior to your arrival!.

The menu is varied and interesting, and friendly advice is readily available for those not fully conversant with pan asian cuisine, with prompt service and good quality food

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoontaE, Manager at Sampans Oriental Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear john t, that you for your kind review. It is a;ways wise to book in advance as we do get very busy at times.I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Crowne Plazza the night before our flight and booked in for our evening meal. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Prompt service. We had vegetarian tempura each to start and then chilli tofu and stir fry vegetables. All fresh and tasty. Happy to recommend.

Thank UKSnorkeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoontaE, Manager at Sampans Oriental Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Dear UKSnorkeller, thank you for your kind review. and recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

To be fare I am not really a lover of oriental food, but we stay in the Crown Plaza every time we fly from Manchester and have never tried this place. I found the food no better than my local takeaway, which is average at best, my partner who loves oriental food thought the same to. I had soup to start which was pretty dismal and chicken and mushroom to follow, which was quite bland.

The service was pretty quick but wok cooking is pretty quick and sauces are prepared.

on the whole a very expensive experience and I won't be visiting here on my next visit to the hotel.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank steerpike01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoontaE, Manager at Sampans Oriental Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Dear steerpike01, Sorry that you did not enjoy your Sampans experience. We are competitively price within the airport area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Recently visited here whilst staying at the Crowne plaza for the nite before going on holiday. The staff from the start were really friendly and welcoming. The food was delicious for starters we ordered chicken and sweet corn soup
Tempura king prawns and vegetable spring rolls all very good food and recommended. For mains we had beef curry. Chicken and mushroom, and shredded chilli beef,2 egg fried rice again I would recommend it all the food was excellent and I would definitely visit
Again if I was in the area.

Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoontaE, Manager at Sampans Oriental Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Hi Kelly E

Thank you for taking the time to review our Sampans restaurant. Much appreciated.

I am so glad that you enjoyed the meal and were happy with staff service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

We have eaten here quite a few times and the food is super tasty. The mains are very large, 1 masaaman curry shared between 2 is ample. The sharing platter for starter is lovely!

Thank kulbirks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sampans Oriental Restaurant also viewed

 
Ringway, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sampans Oriental Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing