We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$96
View deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Expedia.comUS$96
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
108
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
108
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san rafael delicious food stayed here made us feel on site arenal volcano la fortuna make sure giovanni villa host meals nature dinner property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2019 via mobile

We had such a lovely stay. The host and staff went out of their way to make our stay perfect. They made us feel like family. Make sure you stay and have dinner and dessert on the property! Giovanni is the perfect host. He is the property owner and is always on site to help. He asked us what we wanted for dinner and made our whole family a multiple course meal that blew us away! The warmth and kindness from this man is genuine and he made our stay perfect. We felt loved and safe and cared for. I can’t tell you enough this is more than worth it. The right people make all the difference in the world when traveling. Thankful for our visit and this experience!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JetSetterBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni671967, Propietario at Hotel San Rafael Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2020

Thank you for your words. you are a special family We hope you return once again.

Best Regards.

Giovanni and Luis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2019

Giovanni was an amazing host! He was very accommodating to our family. He’s also a very kind and sweet man to talk to. I would highly recommend you have dinner at the villa for your stay. The staff cooked as a delicious dinner far beyond expectations. I will definitely be back!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank S9959HTbrianc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni671967, Propietario at Hotel San Rafael Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2020

Thanks for your words We hope you return again. This is your home.


Best Regards.

Giovanni and Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2019

Giovanni and his team are so welcoming and kind-hearted. We have visited them twice, and will return again. And we will recommend it to anyone who wants to visit the Arenal Volcano in La fortuna. La Tigra is nearby, but less touristy and not as pricey. When we visit La Tigra now, it's like coming to our second home. The food is great (delicious breakasts!) but you can also cook easy meals in the room. The scenery is breathtaking and the hotel is a short walk to all conveniences in town. Bonus: they are big animal lovers here. Definitely worth a detour!

Room tip: All the rooms provide soothing jungle sounds to fall asleep to.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelatigra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni671967, Propietario at Hotel San Rafael Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2020

Thank you for coming to our hotel. We hope you return again.

Best Regards.

Giovanni and Luis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019

The service is good enough, the dishes are pretty well, the Flora and fauna are really enjoyed. This hotel is cool for someone who wants to enjoy the nature and have a time in silence and calm, far to the city.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MJCR20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2019

We spent a lovely week here over Christmas. Our whole trip to Costa Rica were wonderful, but Villa San Rafael, from the first warm greeting to our spacious and comfortable quarters, to all of the personal touches and delicious food was truly special. This small boutique hotel offers a chance to experience the Arenal volcano area without too many tourist trappings but all necessary amenities and attention to detail. We watched toucans and tanagers flit by from our balcony, heard news of sloth-sightings on the property (but didn't see them ourselves) and visited the awe-inspiring Children's Eternal Rain Forest not far from here. We took a bus to the town of La Fortuna, and hiked the hanging bridges on other days for more beauty and nature. Balcony massages, a special birthday cake, and above all the hospitality of Giovanni and Luis left us sad to leave and looking forward to a return.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Montague008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni672011, Propietario at Hotel San Rafael Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

For Hotel Villas San Rafael is was a pleasure that you were here with us. We hope that you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews