We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$96
US$83
View deal
SAVE US$13
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
Expedia.comUS$96
eDreamsUS$83
TravelocityUS$96
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
108
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
108
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san rafael delicious food stayed here made us feel on site arenal volcano la fortuna make sure giovanni villa host meals nature dinner property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2019

Giovanni and his team are so welcoming and kind-hearted. We have visited them twice, and will return again. And we will recommend it to anyone who wants to visit the Arenal Volcano in La fortuna. La Tigra is nearby, but less touristy and not as pricey. When we visit La Tigra now, it's like coming to our second home. The food is great (delicious breakasts!) but you can also cook easy meals in the room. The scenery is breathtaking and the hotel is a short walk to all conveniences in town. Bonus: they are big animal lovers here. Definitely worth a detour!

Room tip: All the rooms provide soothing jungle sounds to fall asleep to.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelatigra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni671967, Propietario at Hotel San Rafael Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2020

Thank you for coming to our hotel. We hope you return again.

Best Regards.

Giovanni and Luis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019

The service is good enough, the dishes are pretty well, the Flora and fauna are really enjoyed. This hotel is cool for someone who wants to enjoy the nature and have a time in silence and calm, far to the city.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MJCR20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2019

We spent a lovely week here over Christmas. Our whole trip to Costa Rica were wonderful, but Villa San Rafael, from the first warm greeting to our spacious and comfortable quarters, to all of the personal touches and delicious food was truly special. This small boutique hotel offers a chance to experience the Arenal volcano area without too many tourist trappings but all necessary amenities and attention to detail. We watched toucans and tanagers flit by from our balcony, heard news of sloth-sightings on the property (but didn't see them ourselves) and visited the awe-inspiring Children's Eternal Rain Forest not far from here. We took a bus to the town of La Fortuna, and hiked the hanging bridges on other days for more beauty and nature. Balcony massages, a special birthday cake, and above all the hospitality of Giovanni and Luis left us sad to leave and looking forward to a return.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Montague008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni672011, Propietario at Hotel San Rafael Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

For Hotel Villas San Rafael is was a pleasure that you were here with us. We hope that you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

Very nice place. Incredible surroundings. Extremely nice people. Delicious food.
Totally Recommended. I loved the sound of the rain at night and the view from my room. I woke up to the sound of birds.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthiasM1493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

We stayed here over Christmas. Giovanni and Luis were amazing. They were extremely personable! My daughter had a small cough and Giovanni immediately went to the kitchen and mixed up a ginger, lime and honey mixture for her throat. They went out of their way to set up excursions for us and gave our kids Spanish lessons to top it off. The rooms were kept clean and there was an incredibly cool outdoor sitting area near the pool. Giovanni mostly cooked the meals and they were incredibly delicious, made with fresh, organic ingredients.

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank 988kristinea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni672011, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel San Rafael Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hi kristine
we are very happy for your comment, we are glad to know that your stay here was pleasant, if you want to return to our hotel we wait for you with the doors open.

Best Regards
Giovanni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews