We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Place”
Review of Basilico International - CLOSED

Basilico International
Price range: US$5 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We have re-introduced a full menu for the high season. We offer pizzas from wood fired brick oven prepared by pizzaiolo from Italy, variety of pastas, salads, antipasti, soups, fresh fish and meat Italian dishes created and prepared by our Italian chefs. Please come and enjoy an evening and our delicious real Italian food!
Reviewed 11 March 2017

We have been to Basilio three times thus far and hope to make one visit before we head home. Each time we started with splitting the Sicilia salad (minus anchovies) and it has been fresh and delicious each time. My lovely wife has had gnocchi one evening and Lasagna Vegetarian the past 2 times and she absolutely loved the food, especially the Veg. Lasagna. I've had Swordfish which was delicious and Linguine Frutti Di Mare, which has to be one of the best I've ever enjoyed. The service has been just wonderful. Marco and Julia are terrific and want you to enjoy your dining experience. Katherine is such a lovely representative of the restaurant, her warmth, caring and business approach has been fantastic. Each time e we come to St. Martin, we will definitely be returning to Basilico again and again...

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank towrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basilico_SXM, Owner at Basilico International, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Thank you very much for your excellent review! Look forward to see you again at Basilico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2017

We ate here 2 years ago and enjoyed it very much. We were so disappointed in our recent visit. The food was mediocre, the service was quick (almost too quick) but unfriendly, and the atmosphere was not as intimate as we found it on our previous visit. Sadly we won't be back.

Date of visit: February 2017
2  Thank BSP1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basilico_SXM, Owner at Basilico International, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

I'm sorry to hear it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Oven baked and very good and inexpensive. Multiple choices. We get takeout at least twice. The restaurant is modern with kitchen visible. I like the carbonara most and the tiramisu.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basilico_SXM, Owner at Basilico International, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Thank you very much for your good review! I hope you will enjoy Basilico many more times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Wood burning oven pizza was nasty with too many capers and anchovies. Crust was like cracker not worked to be more glutenous and chewy. Sent it back. They did not charge. Service was very good. Pasta carbonara excellent. Bread was not good french style bread but airy no texture soft no flavor bread.
They do get a high mark for good service.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bigmanjcr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basilico_SXM, Owner at Basilico International, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Thank you for your good review. Thank you for appreciating our service and pasta! I apologize that our pizza was not to your liking. We are serving thin-crust Italian pizza that wast majority of our customers love... we are not Domino or Pizza Hut and we cannot change the crust for you or anybody else, because that is the way traditional Italian pizzas are. You are the first customer who complained about too many ingredients... if you do not like capers and anchovies... probably you could have choosen another pizza from the menu? We also do not serve French style bread, we serve Italian style bread, I apologies it was not to your liking.

I hope you give us another try and that time avoid pizzas (as clearly you not used to traditional Italian thin-crust) and order some pastas or other dishes from our menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

These folks have a great happy hour set up for drinks and for a HH menu. Pizza is prepared in a brick oven and is delicious. Their restaurant menu is also very good for an Italian meal outdoors.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basilico_SXM, Owner at Basilico International, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Thank you for your excellent review! Look forward to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basilico International also viewed

Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing