We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!! Beautiful, Peaceful, Very Clean and Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sapphire Beach Club Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Reviewed 17 July 2008

Read a pretty discouraging review the week we were scheduled to stay at the Sapphire, so I had initial reservations as it is a time-share. Don't listen to the naysayers. We arrived to find a lovely site with an immaculate 2 BR suite. We had a full kitchen, living room with tvs, vcrs, and a private bathroom in each room. Great landscape, flowers, trees, birds, great food and tourist friendly settings. Cafe and Superette on site. The friendly ladies who service the rooms bring you freshly laundered crisp white towels each day, they clean up, sweep, do your dishes, mop the floors, and make your beds so your rooms stay neat even after a day at the beach. We took our meals on the private balcony overlooking the indescribably beautiful Caribbean Sea during the day and under the starry skies at night. It was truly spectactular. Peaceful. Great weather. St. Maarten is quiet and captivatingly beautiful. If you need rest, this is the place. If you want night life, this is the place. Shop in Maho. Take a $3 trip on the bus to Marigot or Philipsburg where you can jetski, snorkel, fish, shop and meet the locals. Go to Lee's Roadside Grill in Simpson Lagoon for dinner and order the grilled lobster. There's live entertainment and dancing. Best of all, you won't have to float a loan to pay the bill. Only one downside - - a hurricane washed away much of the sand a few years back, so there's only about 20 feet of beach at this resort. However, there are sandier beaches within walking distance. If you're traveling with little ones, be mindful of the clothing optional beach nearby on the French side. Shallow beach area worked for me cause I hate sand but love the ocean. The water is beautiful, clear and warm. You won't be disappointed. We're going back, God willing.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Clover001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 467 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2008

people complain too much. We were there from May 10-17th of this year, and had the best time. The staff was totally helpful, and always friendly. Our room was clean, and our hot tub worked well. The pool was great, and the beach was beautiful. I was able to go down to the store and get stuff to make dinner for the nights we wanted to eat in. those nights were not often becuase the restaraunt downstairs had good food, and it wasn't overpriced. The people at the activities desk were very helpful, and it was totally convinient to rent a car in the lobby for when we wanted to travel. It's not the trump penthouse, but it's a fine place to spend your time in the heat of the mid afternoon. I think that if you can be miserable while in paradise, it probably doens't have anything to do with the hotel...it's probably just you!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TOIMONSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

The good thing about the hotel is that it is close to the Airport, Maho, Phillipsburg and even Marigot. And that is why we decided to stay there in the first place. However I did expect a lot better from a Wyndham hotel. The room was spacious, but the amenities were ancient (they dont have DVDs... yes...they have VCRs???.... also the TVs are ancient). The pool area was nice, but the beachfront is miniscule. The food at the cafe is bland, and the activities at the hotel are tacky at best. The Spa was decent...nothing special. And there was even a mouse in our room.... which when we reported to the hotel staff was not further investigated into. Try to find a place in the area that is a little bit more modern, because this place is definitely past its prime.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank NYCkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2008

We rented a room through St. Martin blue.com. It was a Oceanfront studio called the Rivage unit. The room was very nice, spacious and clean. The view from the balcony was incredible and the four person jacuzzi worked great. As far as the rest of the hotel, it was more than adequate. The pool area was very nice and clean. People were friendly and the restaurant was decent. If you are like me and like to rent a car and explore the island, than the hotel is in a great location. Cupecoy Beach is my favorite beach, but you have to walk a little further right from the hotel to have more beach. I dont know about the rest of the rooms in the hotel, but St. Martin blue seems to have a few of the nice recently renovated ones. It is a bargain!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BaldoNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

We are timeshare owners at the Sapphire. When we originally bought there in 1994, it was an absolutely beautiful place and the best value for the money that could be found on the island. Now that we've been there for 14 years and have paid maintenance fees that are escalating each year and special assesments for upgrades to the units, we are totally disgusted to find that our hard earned dollars seem to have evaporated. Nothing much has changed...none of the things that we were promised when we were assessed...new tv's, dvd players, new furniture, new appliances (including oven), wireless internet access in the rooms, etc. etc. etc. The maintenance to the units seems to be nonexistent...safety lock on door torn off, original refrigerator with icemaker that doesn't work, grill on stove that doesn't work, roaches, missing lightbulbs, tv remotes that don't work, dirty jacuzzi, toilet that doesn't flush properly, missing half the dishes and glassware, broken coffeepot. The list goes on and on.

The crowning blow came when we checked out. We were charged an extra $100+ for energy surcharge. This was a total surprise and should have been communicated to owners prior to the visit.

The sales staff is totally useless...they promise to get answers and don't bother...just avoid you when they see you. Front desk does make an effort, but just can't make things happen.

Bottom line...I'm sorry I still have the unit and wish I could sell it, but know that anyone who reads this site will never be a prospect to buy at the Sapphire. I wonder why Wyndham doesn't step in and do something about this whole situation since they have given their name to endorse the property. Doesn't make me want to frequent any other Wyndham facilities either abroad or in the US!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sawasdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
3.1 km away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
4.6 km away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
2.4 km away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
12 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
759 reviews
4.6 km away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Club Resort

Address: Lowlands 147, Cupecoy Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range: €135 - €278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Beach Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapphire Beach Club Resort is located just 3 miles from Princess Juliana International Airport on the Dutch Side of Sint-Maarten, on French-Dutch border. Situated between the turquoise blue waters of the Caribbean Sea and the beautiful Simpson Bay Lagoon on Cupecoy Beach. 180 spacious guest rooms, penthouses and villas elegantly decorated with Caribbean decor, fully equipped kitchens including coffee maker; with luxurious Italian Marble Bathrooms, Internet access, cable TV, VCR and DVD and fabulous view. Relax in style and enjoy tropical breezes from your private terrace or balcony, with spectacular views of the ocean or the expansive Simpson Bay Lagoon. All the ocean-view rooms have a private jacuzzi on the balcony, and all the luxurious villas and penthouses feature private swimming pools and Jacuzzis overlooking the view of the Caribbean Sea.Enjoy the island’s wonderful beaches . In fact, the resort is within easy walking distance of beautiful Cupecoy Beach, a prime spot for swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, sailing and other water sports. SBC is nearby golf course and tennis court as well. In just few minutes you can enjoy duty-free shopping at the upscale designer boutiques and jewelry shops of Philipsburg and Marigot as well as nearby hip clubs and casinos. Take advantage of the whole range of hotel services SBC offers to our valued guests:- Open Reception 24h / 24 and 7 days / 7- Swimming pool- Fitness Room and Beauty Salon- Business Center- Bar & Restaurant- Activity Desk- Car Rental Desk. All surrounded by the fabulous mix of Dutch, French and Caribbean charm that makes Sapphire Beach Club Resort a delightful place for vacation all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sapphire Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Club And Resort
Sapphire Beach Club Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Wyndham Sapphire Beach Resort
Wyndham Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing