We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best of Both Sides!”

Review of Farniente

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten, St Martin / St Maarten

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jake H
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best of Both Sides!”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I stayed as part of a party of eight in May and we all loved this Villa so much that it was hard to leave it everyday to explore the island. The location is virtually straddling the Dutch and French sides. You have a breathtaking view of the ocean, and walking access to the beach. On top of that, the furnishings are classy and comfortable, the kitchen well-stocked with everything you need to cook, and great, friendly staff to assist you with anything you need.
The pool was the highlight of this property. It was great to be able to relax and have fun in the pool with an unobstructed and endless view of the ocean. I’m still having dreams every night of the view. All rooms upstairs, too, had great views and a comfortable balcony. The downstairs room had direct access to the pool deck.
The bathrooms were luxurious… make time to soak in a nice hot bath while you’re here! The kitchen was big enough for two people to team cook and another to be cleaning and prepping and the grill made for great barbecue fun.
I did have a similar problem with a fitted sheet that another reviewer mentioned… everyday I woke up with it rolled up around the corners but it was hard to be bothered by that. I was sleeping in paradise on a comfortable bed with amazing pillows. Hard to be mad!
All eight of us (all adults) were comfortable in the villa… plenty of room! The friends who stayed in the downstairs room did have a few bugs in their room. This is what caused four stars instead of five. While I never saw them, they apparently made appearances every morning. I understand it may be an island-wide problem. We never noticed them in any of the rooms upstairs, bathrooms, living area or kitchen. Just the downstairs bedroom.
The maid service was thorough and the concierge convenient. Seriously, skip the hotels and stay here! The small shopping area close by (Cupecoy) was crowd free and had the best dining options on the island (Bluefin & Bamboo Bernies), plus bars and casinos. The French Side, too, is conveniently located. Could hardly ask for more!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The villa was nice, but for the price you pay for this, certain things should've been better.
The bottom sheet on my bed continually came off, they need to get sheets that fit the beds properly. The deck furniture with cushions was very nice, but the lounge chairs you lay out in were very old and uncomfortable, they need to be replaced. The beach that we thought we were going to use had nude sunbathers. We had 4 children with us. There is a sign that clearly states no nudity, but no one enforces it. This was a major disappointment. We had an absolutely beautiful beach right out our door practically that we could've used, but couldn't. If that beach is for the villa residents, then the association should enforce the rules. We had to pack everyone up and drive to a more appropriate location. The housekeeping we had each day was also not up to par, for what you pay for. We had 3 cockroaches throughout the week. It is a beautiful place, but they need to give it more TLC.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, minus the nude sunbathers.
Liked least: The nude sunbathers
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjg255
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beyond our expectations”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Thank you Farniente for a vacation to St. Maarten that we won't soon forget. The house was absolutely beautiful and met our expectations perfectly.

The only regret is that we didn't have more time to enjoy it; we stayed a week and traveled around the entire island.

The staff was very friendly, accommodating and willing to help with any questions we had. We'd certainly recommend this house to anyone looking to visit SXM with a large group.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing