We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
177
101
25
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
101
25
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews simpson bay lagoon mullet beach sint maarten short drive pool area grand case evans beaches st marigot island unit martin caribbean timeshare hurricane
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Quiet and private place to stay. Great view of the lagoon. Great restaurants nearby. Mullet beach within walking distance. Having a kitchenette in the room was good for making breakfast. Cleaning staff friendly and efficient as are all the other staff. Recommended.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Q673YR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Dear Q673YR,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of the Summit on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your kind words and five star rating of the Summit. Thanks for your kind words about our staff too. They really are what makes the difference at the Summit. I am glad that you found us to be a "great place to relax" and hope we have the chance to welcome you back to the Summit sometime soon.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The Summit Hotel is a very good value. It is well located between Simpson Bay and Marigot so getting to really good food is only a short drive. There is also a French bakery a great little bbq bar and restaurant and a market within a 2 min walk. The grounds of the Summit are located in a quiet area a short way from the main road going around St Maarten so you are not bombarded with the noise of Maho or Simpson Bay. This is a wonderful little resort for a relaxing couples vacation or for the whole family.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Art A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Dear Arthur Stephen A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review about the Summit on TripAdvisor. I appreciate you calling us a very good value and helping future guests to understand our location in the Cupecoy area of St Maarten (between Simpson Bay and Marigot). The French bakery you mention is called Jules and the great little bbq place is called Fat Tony's and both offer great food and are indeed within a 2 minute walk of the Summit. Also opening in the same area next week are a new pasta place and a Mediterranean restaurant so Summit guests will have a variety of great dining choices within an easy walk of the hotel. Thanks also for letting travelers know we are off the main road so our grounds are quiet area and we offer a wonderful place to relax. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Summit sometime soon.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

The property offers a wonderful step back in time to the island of decades ago. The individual buildings are nicely laid out with gorgeous landscaping. The room design is well thought out and nicely updated. From our porch we had a great view of the bay.

All the staff provided the warmth and friendliness that you would want from St. Maarten.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank williamharveyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Dear williamharveyw,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review, and five star rating, you posted about the Summit on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it. Having opened in 1973, we are indeed "a wonderful step back in time to the island of decades ago" as you put it, and we are quite proud to be one of the original hotels on the island. All of our guest rooms have been renovated, most recently in 2015 and 2016, and offer guests clean, comfortable accommodations in a great location and at a reasonable price. Thanks for mentioning our warm and friendly staff too. They really make guests feel at home while staying at the Summit. I hope we have a chance to welcome you back sometime soon.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We just left the Summit after a four night stay and it was WONDERFUL! The staff was so welcoming and willing to do anything. It felt like going home to mom. In fact, the owner is very often seen and accessible. The hotel was a great value. The rooms were spacious, clean, and just renovated. The shower had great pressure. The views were magnificent. Location was perfect. Easy walk to the beach and great nearby breakfast/lunch spot. Fabulous restaurants abound. What more could anyone ask for?

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear Ron K,

Wow, thank you for posting such a wonderful review about the Summit on TripAdvisor! I really appreciate it. Thank you for your very nice comments about our staff too. Many of our staff have been with us, literally, for decades and they do, in fact, feel like they are welcoming you into their home when you stay with us. They go out of their way to make sure that everything about your stay is just right. I am glad you liked the newly renovated rooms too. We have been getting great feedback on those from everyone. Your view, from a Premium Water View room, offered you an almost 180 degree view over Simpson Bay Lagoon and it is indeed magnificent. I am glad you enjoyed. As you mentioned, our location makes it easy to walk to great beaches and there are lots of delicious restaurant choices nearby. I hope we have a chance to welcome you back to the Summit sometime soon.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

The staff was extremely helpful answering all my questions. The room was spacious & clean. The bed was very comfortable (previous reviews had complained about the beds). Gave sleep quality 4 stars due to lack of a noise ordinance on the island. Overall a very good value.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laurence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear Laurence T,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of the Summit on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your kind words about our staff too. They truly work hard to make every guest feel welcome and at home during their stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the spacious, clean room and the comfortable bed too. Thanks for mentioning that. I am sorry to hear about the noise issue you apparently had. Being on the lagoon, we sometimes hear the sounds of a passing party boat as sounds can carry far over the water. Guests who keep their windows closed and use the air-conditioning at night are not bothered by this though. I appreciate you calling us a good value and rating us five stars in your review too. I hope we have a chance to welcome you back to the Summit in the future.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews