We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Owners”
Review of Reef Lodge Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Karikari Peninsula
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Reef Lodge Motel
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Gorgeous beach, water was perfect and I could hear the waves at crashing at night. My room was on the side of the owners accomodation equipped with leather couch and all the amenities. I was there on a work trip and the fabulous owners all but adopted me - Thank you for a truely wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clova48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen e, Manager at Reef Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

You deserve to be adopted with the hard and tedious work you do. We appreciate the efforts you do in our and other communities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Reef Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

This location is 'the jewel in the crown' of the far north! The whitest, most pristine, sandy beach and lagoon-like calm waters in front of our unit rivalled any that we've seen in the South Pacific!
Self-contained unit with full kitchen was basic, but very clean and comfortable, and our hosts very friendly. Many guests were there for the world famous fishing - some even shared their catch with us. Faces west for beautiful sunsets!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Great location, hospitality and service. Awesome beach, facilities great. Free spa, kayaks . Other guests friendly . Everyone having a great time. I see a lot of negative reviews which we can't comprehend

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

There is no doubt Reef Lodge is in the most wonderful location and that in itself compensates for the short comings of the cabin we stayed in, but for me, it was touch and go as to whether I stayed overnight. It seemed to me that the bedding and pillows told of all who had rested there before....they smelled! I slept on top of the bed both nights! The screens to prevent unwanted insects coming in were ineffective due to the holes in them. It is a shame, because with a bit of investment in some new pillows and mattresses and some TLC, this place could be heaven on earth!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank OllieFerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

Very disappointed with the general state of the facilities. Yes, the location is outstanding but at $255 per night for a unit we would have expected a lot more. Furniture looks 50 years old and it probably is, water pressure makes it extremely difficult to have a decent shower, BBQs are covered in rust, nails sticking out of the deck everywhere, appliances are ancient. Overall everything looks old and worn out. Beats me how this motel has received its 4 star rating.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Aniela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karikari Peninsula
24.3 km away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
23.7 km away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
132 reviews
19.3 km away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 km away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
1.1 km away
White Sands Apartments
White Sands Apartments
#4 of 5 in Karikari Peninsula
12 reviews
18.6 km away
Pukenui Lodge Motel
Pukenui Lodge Motel
#2 of 2 in Pukenui
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Lodge Motel

Address: 44 Gillies Road | Rangiputa Beach, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Karikari Peninsula
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karikari Peninsula
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing