We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reef Lodge Motel
Nearby Hotels
Whatuwhiwhi TOP 10 Holiday Park(Karikari Peninsula)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karikari Lodge(Karikari Peninsula)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Apartments(Karikari Peninsula)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Shambhala Loka Yoga Studio(Karikari Peninsula)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
8
6
3
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
6
3
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

This location is 'the jewel in the crown' of the far north! The whitest, most pristine, sandy beach and lagoon-like calm waters in front of our unit rivalled any that we've seen in the South Pacific!
Self-contained unit with full kitchen was basic, but very clean and comfortable, and our hosts very friendly. Many guests were there for the world famous fishing - some even shared their catch with us. Faces west for beautiful sunsets!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Great location, hospitality and service. Awesome beach, facilities great. Free spa, kayaks . Other guests friendly . Everyone having a great time. I see a lot of negative reviews which we can't comprehend

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

There is no doubt Reef Lodge is in the most wonderful location and that in itself compensates for the short comings of the cabin we stayed in, but for me, it was touch and go as to whether I stayed overnight. It seemed to me that the bedding and pillows told of all who had rested there before....they smelled! I slept on top of the bed both nights! The screens to prevent unwanted insects coming in were ineffective due to the holes in them. It is a shame, because with a bit of investment in some new pillows and mattresses and some TLC, this place could be heaven on earth!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank OllieFerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

Very disappointed with the general state of the facilities. Yes, the location is outstanding but at $255 per night for a unit we would have expected a lot more. Furniture looks 50 years old and it probably is, water pressure makes it extremely difficult to have a decent shower, BBQs are covered in rust, nails sticking out of the deck everywhere, appliances are ancient. Overall everything looks old and worn out. Beats me how this motel has received its 4 star rating.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Aniela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015

who cares!
With access to a beautiful beach smothered in shells, dipping into crystal clear blue water right at your door.......it's a dream.
Only 8 Units all sharing nice level grounds for kids to play.
Trampoline, Spa bath, BBQ for your outdoor meals and access to fishing gear.
There's also boat access to the beach and room to park.
We think too, " boat hire"
Isolated to a point and worthwhile doing a big "one off" shop as you won't want to leave to go shopping.
We fell in love with this place and hope to return very soon.
Loved it!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews