We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Variety of Asian dishes”
Review of Tao Cafe

Tao Cafe
Ranked #37 of 121 Restaurants in Subiaco
Price range: US$11 - US$15
Description: We aim to bring you a relaxed, modern and casual atmosphere where you can catch up with your family and friends to enjoy a variety of foods with the freshest ingredients from three different nations – we serve Japanese, Thai and Vietnamese Cuisines! At Tao, you can watch fresh sushi being prepared and placed on a sushi train or you can choose from our a-la-carte menu with a vast selection of all-time favourite dishes from each region, such as Pad Thai from Thailand, Bun Bo Hue from Vietnam , not to mention Chicken Teriyaki (bento boxes available) and Tempura from Japan. We also have a delicious range of desserts prepared in house by our talented chef to tempt your tastebuds.
Restaurant details
Description: We aim to bring you a relaxed, modern and casual atmosphere where you can catch up with your family and friends to enjoy a variety of foods with the freshest ingredients from three different nations – we serve Japanese, Thai and Vietnamese Cuisines! At Tao, you can watch fresh sushi being prepared and placed on a sushi train or you can choose from our a-la-carte menu with a vast selection of all-time favourite dishes from each region, such as Pad Thai from Thailand, Bun Bo Hue from Vietnam , not to mention Chicken Teriyaki (bento boxes available) and Tempura from Japan. We also have a delicious range of desserts prepared in house by our talented chef to tempt your tastebuds.
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Seven of us on a Tuesday night visited hoping to accommodate all tastes! We started with the mixed platters which were both very nice. A few sushi plates (a bit expensive but tasted good) then we had a couple of Bento boxes Salmon and Prawn were both good but the prawn needs more sauce for the rice. Two people had the chicken Thai green curry which was nice and spicy though slightly sweet for my taste. Pho was very good and the Tuna Tataki was delicious. All in all a good meal, with drinks about $50 per person.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CAG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTAOCafe, Manager at Tao Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Dear Reviewer,

It is great to read that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and was pleased with the variety of Thai, Vietnamese, and Japanese dishes that we have.

Thank you for writing us a review, all of us look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Biju Annur
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

We frequently visit Taos as we always have a great meal and the price is very reasonable. They have a huge menu of varying cuisines as well as a sushi train. The food comes out quickly and the service is generally good quality. Favourite meal is definitely the Thai Green Curry!

1  Thank Jacqward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTAOCafe, Manager at Tao Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for writing us a review and for scoring us perfect - what an encouragement for us! We are delighted to read that you found us to be of great value for money. It is always our pleasure welcoming you back to TAO Cafe!

Best regards,
Biju Annur
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

I love Japanese and this did not disappoint. Although I'm not a fan of the food train. 6 of us went and a 11 week old and the accommodated us very well. We had entrees and mains and I ate far too much but couldn't help it.
It was just incredible.

Thank kazzaWestAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTAOCafe, Manager at Tao Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Dear Reviewer,

It is wonderful to read that you were pleased with our Japanese cuisine on offer. We are also happy to read that you had a comfortable and enjoyable dining experience with us.

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. All of us look forward to welcoming you back at TAO Cafe.

Best regards,
Biju Annur
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

My 14yr old son and I visited for the first time for a Sunday dinner. Sushi trains are one of our favourites and we were looking forward to trying it out.
We were greeted and seated quickly. The restaurant is huge and even though there were quite a few tables full, the place felt quite empty.
When we started looking at the train, we noticed lots of dessert plates. There was a definite lack of variation in what we could choose for our meal.
We did manage to find a few plates, and what we chose were very good, but there just wasn't that much to choose from.
We didn't order drinks with our meal, and we had nearly finished by the time some water was brought to us.
So, overall not as good as other similar restaurants we have been to. Not terrible, just nothing there to make us want to go back for a second visit

Thank slewis08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTAOCafe, Manager at Tao Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing to dine with us. We ensure that we have fresh variety available all the time, thus we are disappointed that you were not satisfied with the Sushi selection on this occasion. We do have a vast array of a-la-carte options too.

We do hope that you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you, please do not hesitate to look for me personally and I will be happy to assist you. We have frequent return guests, thus I assure you that we will make your dining experience a memorable one.

Best regards,
Biju Annur
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We visited before the football on a Sunday. Waited 10 minutes before anybody the staff even bothered to stop to show us to a table. The First Lady ran off halfway through her sentence. When we finally got a table we had to wave down service to order. Lucky the food was good, as the service was very bad.

Thank Winerydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTAOCafe, Manager at Tao Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear Reviewer,

Whilst we are delighted that you were pleased with our food quality, we are disappointed to read that you were unimpressed with the demeanour of our staff during your stay. Please allow me to assure you that we strive to always deliver quality service, thus we regret that this was lacking on this occasion.

Thank you for your comments and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in future.

Best regards,
Biju Annur
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tao Cafe also viewed

 
Subiaco, Greater Perth
 
East Victoria Park, Victoria Park
Innaloo, Stirling
 

Been to Tao Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing