We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Authentic”
Review of Alaturka

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Alaturka
Ranked #78 of 127 Restaurants in Subiaco
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Myself and 4 friends visited Alaturka and at first thought that the restaurant was very quiet. We went there at 6.30, but at around 7.30 it filled up quickly, so be sure to book! It has a very nice interior with a bar and friendly wait staff. We found it in our Entertainment book and got $50 off the total bill, which was great! We found the food to be very authentic, which might be a problem for some people that expect it to be all turkish bread and dip. The pastas were fantastic! The moussaka was good, but not great, which I think was because I expected it to be layered like a lasagna, but it was just spiced and flavoured mince in half an eggplant roasted. We had terrific tasting plates, which had a lot of things I had never tried before and they have a cake cabinet for those who still have room! All in all a great restaurant... a little on the pricey side, but good for a nice treat.

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

Not many Turkish restaurants in Perth so I was curious but left very indifferent.

Its ok but I won't be going back. Much prefer Istanbul in Fremantle.

Date of visit: February 2012
Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Honestly was pretty good. Service was great. Can't complain.
Can't remember the menu but I wasn't disappointed at all.

Date of visit: March 2012
Thank Gabuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We used a voucher on a Saturday for lunch. It wasn't too busy, but had a nice atmosphere. We were promptly seated. Service was good, friendly. Our drinks and food arrived fairly quickly. The food was incredibly good. Tasty and authentic. The dips and turkish bread were excellent. The Ishkender kebab was very flavoursome and a generous serving. we were too full for dessert, but finished with an apple tea. We'll will definitely be back.

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank divebunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We received a voucher for husband's birthday, which we finally used last week (April). I read the reviews, and looked at their website so had an idea of what they offered. We went on ANZAC Day (so we were pleased it was open, though it was very quiet) which probably contributed to the lack of buzz. But it's nice inside, clean and streamlined but with great pictures of Turkish baths from probably a few hundred years ago.
But enough of that. What of the food, you ask? Well we had the dips - hummus was stiffer than usual, but excellent flavour. Two other dips both tasty, especially the carrot.
Plenty of bread.
Then Kevin had the meat platter - almost too much for him. And I had the turkish ravioli (lamb). Absolutely gorgeous - silky pasta apparently handmade by the waiter's mum and grandma. And absolutely delish.
We had no room for dessert but we'd definitely go again (even though they forgot to give us our $15 off voucher for our next visit)

Date of visit: April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank seawife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alaturka also viewed

Subiaco, Greater Perth
Subiaco, Greater Perth
 
Subiaco, Greater Perth
Subiaco, Greater Perth
 
Subiaco, Greater Perth
Subiaco, Greater Perth
 

Been to Alaturka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing