We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
357
94
15
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
357
94
15
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highlander pub camelot spa new section amazing hotel golf course heritage room golf club modern hotel cold meats excellent service hot breakfast small town eggs benedict rooms are spacious thoroughly enjoyed our stay yogurt out of this world
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Thanks for an excellent stay in Port Alfred! We will be back! The hotel was excellent as well as the staff and food! Highly recommended! Thanks for the bottle of wine as well...We had an amazing time enjoying our holiday...

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mc0etzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRSAH, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear mc0etzer,

Thank you kindly for the great review and for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We appreciate that you chose Royal St. Andrews Hotel to celebrate such a special memory in your lives. I have passed your feedback on to the team and they are happy that you have created more special memories in Port Alfred.

Please visit us again soon!

Difford Louw - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Excellent accomodation in Port Alfred, especially the resturant and the supervised kids play centre.
Staff are friendly and helpful. Room pricing reasonable. Will highly recommend this hotel to family and associates, holiday or business.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hgreen434973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRSAH, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear hgreen434973,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us and for the high recommendation!

I have passed your comments on to the Team, who appreciated them a great deal.

I hope you return for another stay with us soon.

Difford Louw - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

The rooms need sound proofing - we were kept awake by noisy guests in the open areas until after 2 in the morning. This after contacting reception at 11:30 to complain about noise.
The fine dining restaurant - food was not up to expectations. My husband had the salmon that was completely cooked well done - not even a bit of orange on the inside with bland veg to accompany. I got offered a raw hasselback potato and the second one was still not cooked properly and very dry. The waitress did not know the menu - could not provide us with portion size when asking about one of the desserts. The kitchen adjacent to the fine dining restaurant - people were shouting at each other and all this can be heard from the restaurant. While noise from the kitchen is expected (as it is a busy place) this was just a bit much. The waitress ran into the kitchen to quiet staff on a couple of occasions. Overall it is a lovely hotel, rooms gardens etc. but the noise levels in the room during night time as well as sub standard restaurant food will probably prevent me from visiting again. We also waited about an hour in the pub for a starter to be served.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank X6935CFandreww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRSAH, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear X6935CFandreww,

Please accept my apologies for the poor standards you were exposed to.This is most certainly not the level of service and hospitality we would like to be remembered for.

I sincerely appreciate that you took the time to communicate these poor experiences to us as it is this that help us to continue to improve and focus on the areas that needs more attention. I have started following up with the Team members concerned and placed more training and other corrective measures in place to ensure that the standards we expect are maintained at all times.

We hope we will see you again in future and that you will experience the true Hospitality and high service levels we strive for.

Difford
General Manager
Royal St Andrews Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

The Royal St. Andrews Hotel has wonderful staff, great service, excellent food, and is located perfectly near the beach. Our family of four had a lovely time there again. The conference facilities and catering are also top class.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 69dolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRSAH, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear 69dolan,

Thank you for the review. We appreciate your lovely feedback and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in future!

Difford Louw, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Business meeting aside, hotel rooms are great, breakfast is fantastic and staff very helpful. The place is great and easily accessible to the shore - short 10 min walk. Safe area. Good place for business meetings and workshop. All amenities are available. Area is a bit secluded from downtown but nice area.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Frespirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRSAH, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Frespirt,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We appreciate the positive feedback about the Hotel and the area. Hope to see you again in future!

Difford Louw - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews