We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
US$78
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$42
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$494
US$477
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$542/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Villa de Mer(Port Alfred)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mansfield Reserve(Port Alfred)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
91
33
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
33
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupper floorfirst floorsmall roadgenerous breakfastbeautiful dunesviews are spectacularbreakfast was amazingperfect locationshort stayeasy accessstay there againexcellent servicestayed for nightsthank you so muchguest houseindian oceana lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Very pleasant guesthouse with an ocean view and all expected comforts. Professional staff and accommodating management.
Highly recommended for a breakaway or business accomodation.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kris_Just_In_Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My wife and I spent our first night of our honeymoon at The Beach House and it was "just what the doctor ordered". We needed a place to unwind and rest after the emotional and physical fatigue of our wedding day. The Beach House is clean and has very comfortable furniture and serves up a tasty breakfast. We had a good nights sleep and the bathroom was well equipped with shower and bath. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms which has a breathtaking view. Mary-Anne our hostess was also very helpful, polite and accommodating. The Beach House has a very homely feel to it.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a great sea view
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We had few expectations about the Beach House because their website is not particularly good -- the only thing I would suggest they change. The house is scrupulously clean, beautifully furnished and extremely comfortable. The decor is exquisite; we considered hiring a van to take many of their things back especially the bed! We have seldom had such beautifully cooked breakfasts and owner Janine and her staff are both friendly and professional. We cannot recommend the Beach House too highly -- its situation overlooking breaking waves, long, clean beaches plus the service and accommodation make it the best place to stay in Port Alfred.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littleladyval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

This was our first trip to Port Alfred and this looked an ideal place to stay. It is in a lovely location, away from the town but right on the beach. Janine is an excellent hostess, very helpful and friendly. We stayed for three nights.
Our room was on the ground floor and well equipped and very clean. Nice towels and shower - the rooms upstairs have a balcony and have lovely views across the sea. It has a very nice pool with loungers and a pleasant garden. The house itself is gated and we felt very safe. there is also free wi-fi access whilst there.
Breakfast is superb, freshly cooked and beautifully presented and a good choice. Fresh fruit and the pineapple was particularly delicious! There is a chalkboard in the dining room and each day Janine writes a witty message.
Whilst there is not a huge amount to do in Port Alfred, we had a fantastic half day safari trip to Sibuya. This was really good fun and we were very lucky to see the amount of animals that we did in such a short trip.
We went to three restaurants during our stay, The Links, Ocean Basket and The Thistle Restaurant at the Royal St Andrews Lodge. All places provided lovely food. The Ocean Basket was in a lovely location on the river and certainly was a very popular place.
We left on Easter Sunday and Janine had toasted us some lovely hot cross buns to go with our breakfast and also gave us little Easter chocolates - we thought that this was extremely thoughtful.
We would definitely use The Beach House again. Thank you Janine.
John and Christina

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Makalolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

The Beach House has lovely rooms but do not count on an ocean view. The large hedge surrounding the property and a dune in front of the property obscures the view. I would suggest booking an upstairs room. The room was beautifully decorated but the bathroom was very disappointing. We enjoyed the breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuriousMeerkatjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews