We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Noice place to stay on this island and good service nice swimming pool the beach is wonderful have tennis cross have any sport for customers to play we come with big family is was so a good time is this island and this resort

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Apple L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

We loved this hotel and we loved koh mak. Koh mak is a really tiny island that is great for people that are looking for a really quiet, very Thai getaway. Everyone knows each other on the island so if you want to go anywhere just let the reception know and they will help you get there.

The rooms at this place are very spacious and immaculate. You even get your own roof terrace to hang out on and watch the stars. Of all the places we stayed in Thailand this was the most reasonably priced and in many ways it was the nicest!

The restaurant is really beautiful and you can sit overlooking the water. The food is really good there too!

Final note, all the staff are lovely and good fun! And the wifi there is really good!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

It's not often that I find that I have an entire beach to myself but that's exactly how I felt on Koh Mak. The hotel itself was great. Beautiful bungalows with lovely rooftop access. Spacious accommodations. Huge shower and very comfortable furnishings. Nice breakfast selection. Staff friendly and helpful. The resort offers some lovely vistas of the neighboring islands. Great place to relax and enjoy island life.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stefanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

We spendt five nights at this hotell when we did our Open Water cert. with Koh Mak divers. It is really close to the diving center, you can walk there. We stayd at sunshine 4 which is not sea front. There is sand flies but the resort staff clean the beach every day to prevent the flies. We did'nt spend so much time at the beach but were bitten anyway. You can by coconutoil at the hotel that helps a bit.

The room is okey standard. The only thing We dident like about It was the hard bed and the ants in the bathroom.

You can get beach towels if You ask in the reception.
The hotel rent out scooters for 300bath/24hours.

The staff is very nice and pretty good at english.

Okey pool (really small and no real sunbeds)

Breakfast is okey. Not so much to choose from.
The restaurant in the hotel is okey to. But it is easy to rent a scooter and just drive to one of the other restaurants on the island. You can also walk up to main road where there is some restaurants. It only take about 10-15 min.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Loppiplopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here so much - highly recommended. We had booked a sea view bungalow initially (called sunset, we had number 2) and they are awesome. Incredibly spacious, with mosquito wire covering the windows and a really cool rooftop with comfortable sun beds, a table / outdoor couch and a couple of bean bags. All bungalows are slightly different but very much similar layout etc.

In the sea view / sunset bungalows the rooftops are pretty private, have a beautiful view to the sea and you also get a breeze. Sunshine is the name for the pool bungalows. We had to move into one later as we decided to stay longer and no sea view was available. Still great but definitely not as good as the seafront ones as less breeze, roof tops not really private (you can look across everyone else's) and less furniture - although some had a hammock which I was slightly jealous of ;)

I prefer this side of the island generally as there is more of a sea breeze, while the Ko Mak Resort side was super hot and still.

What really made the difference for us as well is the staff at this place. Neang manages everything really well. Jenny helped me diligently with a little jellyfish accident, pouring vinegar over it and scraping it for about ten minutes. And cheeky Nat will probably run your pier transports. But all staff here is super sweet and organised - make friends with them :)

Slight downside is probably the restaurant which doesn't have enough outdoor seating in the shade and atmosphere and food are ok but could be better. There is a little beach one / cocktail bar near the entrance as well but food quality there is also pretty meh.

But overall incredibly lovely stay, one of our favourites from our entire trip through Ko Chang, Ko Kood and Ko Mak - with Ko Mak in general being our favourite.
The owner seems to be very forward thinking with lots of small details everywhere that will make your stay more pleasant.

Sand flies: everyone talks about it in reviews on Ko Mak. In reality we found them just as bad on Ko Chang and Ko Kood. I didn't believe it for a long time - and wish I had now as their bites are super itchy forever! - but covering yourself generously in coconut oil keeps them away.

Jellyfish: I got stung by one on the beach right of the restaurant when facing the sea and saw someone else getting stung there as well. We watched other people bathe there every day without an issue. Your call. More annoying than dangerous in my case although apparently there has been a fatal accident with a small child somewhere on Ko Mak.
Ao Kao White Sands is one of the few resorts on the island which offers a beach area secured by a net. And yes, staff will treat you with vinegar and scraping the invisible barbs off your skin so let them know asap. Apparently jellyfish are spreading all through Thailand and other places unpredictably now as a result of declining ocean quality worldwide.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank SydneyTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Mak
2.1 km away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
183 reviews
1.8 km away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
70 reviews
1.8 km away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
16.9 km away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#5 of 14 in Ko Kut
225 reviews
1.8 km away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort

Address: 60/1 Moo 1 Sudhidhanakul Road, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range: €63 - €116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ao Kao Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing