We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$272
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$251
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/05/21
StayForLong
US$272
US$120
View deal
SAVE US$152
Hotels.comUS$251
Official HotelUS$251
eDreamsUS$272
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,467)
Filter reviews
1,467 results
Traveller rating
1,017
341
76
24
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,017
341
76
24
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butterfly garden costa rica expeditions balcony room butterfly room cloud forest private dinner heated pool turn down service santa elena capuchin monkeys three nights restaurant staff frog pond resplendent quetzal comfortable rooms grocery store spent two nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,467 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2021

I can't say enough about the Monte Verde Lodge. This is a home away from home where they truly make you feel welcome and part of the family. From the minute you arrive all the staff know you by name. The food is wonderful and fresh and feels like a lot of love is put into each and every plate they serve. At dinner you can enjoy the wonderful open fire. The rooms are clean and the beds are so comfy it feels like sleeping on a cloud. The gardens have to be seen to be believed. This hidden gem in the mountains, boasts some of the most amazing tropical plants and the setting is breathtaking. I was upgraded and got to enjoy a balcony with views of the gardens and the tree tops. The property is visited by an abundance of local wildlife. The tours are wonderful and the guides are friendly and extremely knowledgeable. I was so sorry to leave this little slice of heaven. They do a wonderful job of making each guest feel like they are the only ones staying at the property. I would whole heartedly recommend this lodge. You can not visit Monte Verde without staying at the Monte Verde Lodge.

Room tip: I was at the end of the hall and enjoyed a balcony with a view of the gardens.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank traceymC5462DP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andres Madrigal, Guest Services / Front Office at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2021

Thank you for your enthusiastic comment! We hope to have you again in a future visit to Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2021

We stayed 3 nights at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens in December 2020 (this was my second stay here, having visited several years ago and it was even better this time!).

We booked a forest room with balcony and had wonderful views of the trees and garden with so many birds and butterflies. The gardens and grounds are natural and we enjoyed quiet times exploring the grounds and pathways and spent time relaxing under a covered area nearby with comfortable seats and tables and protection from the sun. We often sat there and watched the birds and enjoyed feeling the sun on us whilst enjoying a few fruit punches. The pool area was also quiet and relaxing but we didn't swim as some days it was just too windy.

We booked the ‘Monteverde Cloud Forest Odyssey’ package and it was ideal for us as it included all the meals each day, drinks (non-alcoholic), transportation between lodges in comfortable large mini vans, tours and we also included a wonderful bird tour at the Curi Cancha Reserve and an Aguti Reserve night tour which we highly recommend.

Everyone adhered to social distancing and wearing masks because of covid and the tables in the restaurant were spread apart and it worked well.
The reception and restaurant staff were all helpful and friendly and were always there to offer help or answer any questions we had.

I want to make a special mention to Luz Elena Alpizar in reservations who was so helpful in helping me build the trip we wanted with specific tours and her recommendations were spot on and her email exchange with me was so good.

The restaurant in this lodge was really great and we enjoyed the freshly prepared meals each day that were some of the best we had in Costa Rica. We took our time enjoying the tasty meals and tried new meals each day and would especially like to send our appreciation to the chef who prepared these divine meals. It was more atmospheric when they lit the large open fire place in the restaturant.

People who are interested in nature and seeing various bird species should come here because it is close to the Curi Cancha Reserve, Santa Elena Reserve and Monteverde Cloud Forest. We had a wonderful guide at Monteverde Lodge, namely Donald Loria, who were really exceptional, interesting and shared his knowledge of wildlife and the birds. Passionate about the environment and ecology, his expertise was first class, spotting so many birds and having the ability to find the birds we so wanted to see, mainly the Resplendent Quetzal in the Curi Cancha Reserve, which we did and took some super photos. Having such a skilled guide that can spot numerous birds is a must as it makes the experience so incredible.

This is why Monteverde Lodge & Gardens is in a prime location to the Reserves and having such wonderful guides meant that our trips were amazing, exciting and so very special.

We were privileged to see the birdlife and wildlife that are unique to the area, feeling the winds crossing the Continental divide and realise the specific birds that are unique to this area. The Aguti Reserve night tour was also very exciting and we were in awe of the wildlife that is seen during darkness with torches which we never thought we would see at such close range, and Dennis Fernandez was an excellent guide, friendly and knowledgeable and helped us see a baby sloth and its mother, a sleeping toucan and many more birds. A highly recommended nature tour for all ages.

The high biodiversity of thousands of plant species including orchids, 400 bird species, 100 species of mammals, 120 reptilian and amphibian species in Monteverde makes it a wonder of nature and we can truly recommend it to nature lovers. If anyone asks me if Monteverde is worth visiting I will say a definite YES as it is one of the special places in Costa Rica that has to be visited as a wildlife and bird enthusiast, in addition to other special places in the country.

We have fond memories of Monteverde and of course have look at our wonderful photographs of the bird and wildlife there and wouldn't hesitate to return here in the future.

Room tip: Forest view balcony room with good views of the birds
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andres Madrigal, Guest Services / Front Office at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2021

Thank you Elaine for your thorough comment and review on your visit to Monteverde and Monteverde Lodge! We hope to have you again in a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2021

The hotel is very nice. The food is excellent. The location is very good, within walking distance of shops and restaurants. The hotel staff is top notch! The gardens and view are beautiful. I would stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Safari791426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2021

I feel bad for hotels during COVID. They are clearly struggling and that's not their fault. I'm making assumptions here, but this hotel seems to be running on a skeleton staff (again, not their fault). However, we've been in Costa Rica for 5 weeks, we've been a lot of places, and this has been the least warm/welcoming by far. The restaurant staff were hard to engage and a few times hard to find. Again, is it their fault?
Very safe (temp checks, masks, hand washing stations) and we only saw 2 other guests.
The hotel is nice, pool is a natural stone one that's really cool. I wanted to skim out the leaves to swim but I couldn't find the device. We had to reserve our pool time to avoid other people (I'm ok with it), but it's not a 'get drinks by the pool' kind of place. We went up to the restaurant to get some but nobody could be found.
Location is great. Check in was quick and easy. I hope things turn around for everyone!

Date of stay: January 2021
1  Thank Kari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2020

This hotel has its own big, lush gardens and forests, and the views and vibes are so special. We had a car so it was easy for us to move from there to downtown and around. The staff is just delightful, helpful, and charming. Will stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2020
Thank atreyes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews