We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$272
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$251
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/05/21
Lol.travel
US$272
US$138
View deal
SAVE US$134
Hotels.comUS$251
Official HotelUS$251
eDreamsUS$272
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,467)
Filter reviews
1,467 results
Traveller rating
1,017
341
76
24
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,017
341
76
24
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butterfly garden costa rica expeditions balcony room butterfly room cloud forest private dinner heated pool turn down service santa elena capuchin monkeys three nights restaurant staff frog pond resplendent quetzal comfortable rooms grocery store spent two nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 1,467 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2019 via mobile

We went to Monteverde expecting a small hotel with few amenities. This hotel exceeded all of our expectations. The location was fantastic, the room clean and comfortable with a great view of a small stream and fountain. The restaurant was great with a wood fireplace that provided a great ambience after dinner. We enjoyed drinks and games in the lodge after a fantastic meal. We enjoyed the eco park which is very close to the hotel. Our kids loved the butterfly room and the pool. Excellent staff!!! We would visit again.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank gopaln764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2019

Dear gopaln764,

It's great to hear that your family enjoyed your stay at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens. Each of the things you've mentioned are the simple luxuries of staying with us. We do everything possible to make our guests stay peaceful and cozy. A great place to disconnect and focus on each other!

We hope to see you in Monteverde again soon!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019 via mobile

Very beautiful grounds with butterfly gardens and nature paths. The rooms were very clean and staff was friendly and helpful. They have recycling. The restaurant is good and had a beautiful view (no room service offered). The hotel offers mini packages and a whole package, each seem to be a lot more than what you would get charged if you just plan it yourself. The walk to get to a grocery store and to the town is about 10 minutes. We would stay at this lodge again.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank m7m72000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2019

Dear m7m72000,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, it's great to know that you would stay at the lodge again. You mentioned our package, it's called the Monteverde Cloud Forest Odyssey, here is what it includes:

Package Includes:

Two Full Days to explore Monteverde Cloud Forest area.
Round Trip Transportation to and from your choice of San Jose, Manuel Antonio, Golfo Papagayo, Coco- Ocotal, Tamarindo – Conchal – Flamingo and Arenal. Ask us about destinations not on this list.
6 Meals
Tours with Naturalist Guides and entrance fee included.

The things that our guests like about this package is that you can begin and end in many different places throughout the country. This takes the hassle out of figuring out transportation which can be complex in Costa Rica.

We hope to see you in Monteverde again soon!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2019

Very nice hotel just outside Santa Elena(5-10 mins walk), set in its own grounds. Small but beautiful gardens with some walking trails, pool, outside bar and hammocks. Quietly located down its own driveway; spacious open plan communal areas with bar restaurant seating areas complete with butterfly room. Restaurant has lovely views over the gardens. Rooms are very comfortable with good WiFi and very nice bathrooms. Food was excellent as were all the staff - friendly and engaging with excellent English. We did a tour with Carlos Vasquez: it was so good we did another one the following day. His bird knowledge was extraordinary, he was so enthusiastic, we saw so much we would have just missed and as just as important he was a really good guy to spend several hours with.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank UKSarahAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2019

Dear UKSarahAtlanta,

Thank you for reviewing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. Carlos will be thrilled to read your comments.

Since you enjoyed your stay at Monteverde Lodge so much, we would like to recommend for your next visit to Costa Rica our sister property Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, also featured here on Trip Advisor, a “rustic elegant” experience where you’ll be welcomed with the same level of personalized service and exceptional food that you enjoyed in Monteverde, but in a lowland tropical forest this time.

Whether in the rain forest or the cloud forest, our staff will make their best effort to provide you with the attention you deserve during your vacation time


Vacation Time is Precious!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2018

This is a wonderful place to stay in the cloud forest. We came by shuttle service from San Jose and had booked our trip with Costa Rica Expeditions. On the drive up (and back) we were accompanied by Diego who works for this travel agency/lodge (Operations Manager) and he was great. He added to our trip and our appreciation of this beautiful country.

The gardens are beautiful and if you get up early there is a lot of animal/bird life. The lodge is close to town but we took all of our meals at the lodge restaurant. The food is very good and the staff is VERY friendly. I give the staff 5 stars. I did some hiking and had a tick on the back of my leg and couldn't reach it easily to remove it. The staff took me into the managers office and remove the tick and cleaned the wound. They went beyond what you would expect from any hotel staff.

Would go back here in the future.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2019

Dear Kris K,

Thank you for sharing with fellow TripAdvisor users how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Diego will love to read your comments!

Monteverde Lodge sits on one side of a ravine, a creek runs below and it’s surrounded by forest.
Over 20 years ago the lodge was built on what up to that point had been a pasture. We set out to bring the cloud forest (bugs included!) to our back door and we succeeded.
The lodge is surrounded by very mature gardens, with native plants from the area. Beyond that garden is the cloud forest.

We hope to see you soon again.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Jenn D
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2018

We spent two nights here. Loved the grounds, the indoor butterfly garden, and our room complete with patio and hammock. The restaurant has good food, drinks, and a lovely fireplace but I need to give a shout out to the staff. They were kind, attentive, and detail oriented...even remembered our names. I was a bit skeptical that our complex transfers would go smoothly, but they happened without a hitch. We used their tour guide to see the park and he was awesome. You can easily walk to town and get a cab back to the park to visit a second time.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marcia-bs-marcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2019

Dear marcia-bs-marcia,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the lodge, especially our wonderful staff, gardens and the food.

I understand your concern about the complex transfers, a portion of the road on the way to Monteverde is a narrow two-lane road that winds through the town of Guacimal before becoming very rural. The road can be extremely curvy at times and you will gain elevation as you go. As you get higher, there are some fantastic views of the surrounding mountains and rolling farm fields, it's quite an adventure!

If you’re doing your own driving, the road must be navigated carefully. Many of our guests buy complete packages or just our transportation so that they don’t have to worry about the drive, enjoy the view and let us do the driving.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews