We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,274)
Filter reviews
1,274 results
Traveller rating
858
320
67
20
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
858
320
67
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutterfly gardencosta rica expeditionsbutterfly roombalcony roomcloud forestel jardin restaurantprivate dinnerheated poolsanta elenabeautiful groundssmall balconyrestaurant stafffrog pondevery eveningthree nightswalking trailswhite faced monkeys
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 1,274 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2018

We had a really nice stay here. The grounds are lovely. My daughter particularly liked the hammock area and the heated pool. I like the outdoor sitting area. Staff is very friendly. Our balcony room was clean and well appointed. My main issues were a lack of storage space and lighting. There were some shelves but not really any drawers for storage. We ended up not unpacking but using our suitcases as "drawers". The room was a bit dark, and although I would have preferred a brighter room, I think that was on purpose so as not to attract insects, especially at night, as I noticed that when closing the screen doors, there were gaps along the wooden edges.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mozokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Mozokel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize for the inconveniences you found in our rooms.

Monteverde Lodge & Gardens was built in 1991, so the architecture reflects the era. At that time, we were the second lodge in Monteverde that had private bathrooms.

As far as the lack of drawers in our rooms. You're right, it's a relatively small space, but we find that it's enough for most, it all depends on the amount of luggage you carry.

Regarding lighting, in the rooms closer to the forest seems to be dimmer because trees block off natural light; we also try to avoid bright lights as they may disturb your reading time.

We are very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay, we will check those gaps along the wooden edges of the screen doors.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

We were knocked out with the Monteverde Lodge and it's gardens. Fantastic place.

But a word of warning: the carefully-worded responses by the hotel to some TripAdvsor reviews say it all: If you are thinking about staying here then best to check out their website first.
If you want somewhere loud and brassy with thudding music, constant poolside entertainment, swim-up bars with a bank of TV screens showing wall-to-wall sport and fat guys boasting about how much they earn, then I’m afraid this place is not for you – as it possesses none of the above. Thank the Lord.

For these reasons we loved it as it’s quiet (apart from some of the wildlife!), laid-back and true feel of being in a rain-forest. Even better, the staff are amazing. They did little things like grab you and point out wildlife if there was something around.

The whole ethos of the hotel is aimed at ecology, nature, sustainability and adding some really nice touches (such as the complimentary coffee and snacks all day, the amusing notices around the hotel).

A brilliant three nights - thank you to all the amazing staff.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WymeswoldVets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear WymeswoldVets,

Heartfelt thanks for sharing your thoughts with TripAdvisor community.

As WymeswoldVets mentions, if you are looking for a party town, then we’re not for you.
We’re about giving people access to the cloud forest, to world class Naturalist Guides and to the service that is our claim to fame.

For readers that are curious:
All rooms have free wireless internet.
All rooms do not have air conditioning or television, so you can appreciate the sounds of the tropical cloud forest.
The service style is personalized, informal, caring.
Our food is what a Costa Rican grandmother would cook if she was also a creative and contemporary professional chef.
The atmosphere in our lodge is quiet, laid back and tranquil with an open fireplace. No background music.

Among the suggested activities in the area are hiking or bird watching with a naturalist guide, horseback riding, and zip-lining or hiking through the canopy. We suggest you spend between 2-4 nights with us.

We recommend that before you reserve with us, you consider carefully whether we’re a good fit. This may mean spending 15 minutes on our website and calling us directly with questions. We will be the first ones to tell you if we don’t think we’re right for you, the last thing we want is for a guest to be unhappy with their stay.


Vacation Time is Precious!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

The people: The people were fantastic, in particular George / Jorge, “the President”. We asked him about a nearby but hard to find site. Jorge walked us all the way to it (10 mins on trails from the resort) then stayed to take some pictures for us.

The room: We accepted the last available space, one of the rooms under the dining. We were warned pre-booking of dining room noise. We were not bothered by it. We ate dinner a little later than others so we returned to a quiet room. In the mornings we were up early (2 hr time change to Boston) so we were up before any noise. We did hear an occasional chair sliding on the floor. The room wasn’t large but we didn’t spend much time inside, preferring our patio and hammock.

The dining room: the food was fantastic. Most notable were the tenderloin steak and the grilled octopus. It was the best steak I’ve had in a while and the octopus, hard to cook right, was fantastic.

The grounds: The hotel is set well away from the road and has beautiful grounds. The pictures don’t do justice to the pool, koi pond, hammock and reading station or walking trails. There is a butterfly sanctuary just off the lobby. I was even able to make a short jogging route of the trails with a little effort. We spent plenty of time enjoying the grounds.

Room Tip: Rooms under the dining have a patio and hammock.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorMolchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear JorMolchan,

Heartfelt thanks for taking the time to write your review and share it with fellow TripAdvisor users.

Jorge will enjoy reading it. Our staff goal is to provide you with the attention you deserve during your vacation time.

We're glad to hear that you liked our food so much that you called our tenderloin steak the best you've had in a while!. Our Executive Chef, Federico Barrantes, has made a big effort to include local dishes or variations of these on our menu.

For people that are curious about our menus, they are posted on the websites for Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, and our sister property, Tortuga Lodge & Gardens in the lowland tropical rain forest of Tortuguero (rated #1 on Trip Advisor).

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to Monteverde Lodge again.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Our family stayed at the Monteverde Lodge and Gardens during our trip to CR. During this trip we stayed in 4 different hotels and cities. This hotel was our favorite! All of the places we stayed were beautiful but the level of customer service we experienced at the Monteverde Lodge and Garden was by far one of the best I have ever received at any hotel!

Prior to our visit I received an email confirming our stay and that they were able to upgrade our room to a balcony room. Through email they were able to help me arrange transportation to the hotel prior to our arrival. This is strongly recommend as
the road to the hotel is very bumpy and unpaved.

Once we arrived to the hotel the customer service continued as we were greeted with a welcome drink. We arrived a little earlier then check in time so the front desk offered to hold our bags for us while we go and explore the town which is just walking distance away. Once our room was ready they so graciously placed our bags in our room for us.

Each night they offer a wonderful turn down service with drinks and cookies. Our kids loved this service.

The grounds is absolutely beautiful and very well maintained with lots of trails around the trails. We enjoyed walking the grounds and exploring each of the paths. One of the paths even took us down to the stream. The pool has a great look out point and we even spotted several monkeys in the trees above. We enjoyed eating lunch by the pool and lounging in the hammocks.

The restaurant is delicious and and fairly priced for the area. On our first night was our son's birthday. The wait staff made this night extra special for him by giving him a chair for his stuffed animal friends and having everyone in the whole restaurant sing him happy birthday. All and all this was by far one of my favorite hotels I have ever stayed at and we would highly recommend it to anyone looking to visit Monteverde!

Room Tip: Balcony forest view room was amazing!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Trisha G,

Thank you so much for your recommendation and for taking the time to share your thoughts on Monteverde Lodge & Gardens here in TripAdvisor.

April is still part of our high season, so I'm quite surprised that we've had that room type available for your upgrade.
Balcony Rooms are our guests favorites because you can sit on your balcony with morning coffee and the toucans, bellbirds and monkeys often give you a show. Night time balcony sitting is also special, on clear nights the stars will entertain you.
If you are unable to get a Balcony Room (reserve early), you may want to consider our Superior Garden Room, with direct access to the garden and small patio where the wildlife and stars are equally active.
Next would be the Forest View Downstairs Rooms, they have exactly the same layout as the Balcony rooms but with a bay window instead of a balcony. These are more affordable, have views of the forest under story where you will often see monkeys, agoutis, and Emerald toucanets.
Finally our most affordable option are our Garden Rooms. They are quite small but cozy, all have King beds, they have direct access to the garden with a small terrace.

We're happy to hear that your son had an extra special night on his birthday thanks to our staff. Thanks to all of You for allowing us to be part of this time in your lives.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

The staff, service, rooms and food are friendly, kind and derkicious. We started our trip here and were greeted with the kindest people. Very welcoming- will come back.

Local grounds offer many lovely areas to walk, play or relax.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank CaliAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear CaliAnnie,

We are delighted to hear that you would come again, since you liked Monteverde Lodge so much, you would probably like our sister lodge in the lowland tropical rainforest of Tortuguero National Park, Tortuga Lodge & Gardens. Also featured here on Trip Advisor.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews