We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$272
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/05/21
Hotels.com
US$251
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/05/21
Lol.travel
US$279
US$136
View deal
SAVE US$143
Expedia.comUS$251
Official HotelUS$251
HurbUS$279
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,466)
Filter reviews
1,466 results
Traveller rating
1,017
341
76
23
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,017
341
76
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butterfly garden costa rica expeditions balcony room butterfly room cloud forest private dinner heated pool turn down service santa elena capuchin monkeys three nights restaurant staff frog pond resplendent quetzal comfortable rooms grocery store spent two nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 1,466 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

The staff, service, rooms and food are friendly, kind and derkicious. We started our trip here and were greeted with the kindest people. Very welcoming- will come back.

Local grounds offer many lovely areas to walk, play or relax.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank CaliAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear CaliAnnie,

We are delighted to hear that you would come again, since you liked Monteverde Lodge so much, you would probably like our sister lodge in the lowland tropical rainforest of Tortuguero National Park, Tortuga Lodge & Gardens. Also featured here on Trip Advisor.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

From the first minute, when we walked in—frazzled after a long drive over extremely rough roads—we knew we were going to love it here. The lodge was rustic, the grounds were gorgeous, everything was immaculately kept up, and we were handed a delicious fruit smoothie each. That was just for starters. Our room was lovely and comfortable (with a private outdoor sitting area where one night, an armadillo sauntered right up to us); the food in the restaurant was terrific (fresh fruit and fresh-squeezed orange juice juice to begin each day, for one thing; the staff couldn’t have been warmer or more gracious (special shout-outs to Erick, Viviana, and Jorge, but all were stellar). The swimming area and the trails were stand-out, too. At one point, hearing that it was a birthday trip, a pineapple molten lava cake was delivered to our room. And it was simple to arrange all kinds of excursions, with fabulous guides, with no effort. Loved the guidebooks in the room, too. Just too many thoughtful touches to mention. We are definitely coming back!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lak14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear lak14,

We are honored to hear how much you enjoyed the hard working young men and women at the lodge. They adore the liberty that we give them to delight our guests and take full advantage. Although those of us in management are constantly thinking of how to enhance or improve those thoughtful touches that you wrote about, it's the staff that delivers in our personalized, informal and caring service style.

We're delighted to hear that you plan to come back, it's guests like you that inspire us to do better!

Vacation Time is Precious!
Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

We loved our stay at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens. The setting is serene and beautiful. The staff is extremely customer service oriented. When we had an issue with our room at check in, they were extremely concerned, did everything possible to fix the problem and took care of us in the meantime. They could not have done more. The tours they arranged were excellent. We highly recommend a stay here and would love to return.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 554nancyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Nancy F,

We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the way our staff took care of you on arrival, especially since you say that you would like to return.

If you booked directly with us, you'll get a discount certificate after check out, we hope that you'll take advantage of that and visit us once again.

Vacation Time is Precious!
Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

My family of four stayed here for two nights on our recent trip to Monteverde. It was a very nice, rustic hotel that had everything we needed. the grounds are beautiful with a butterfly sanctuary, an orchid sanctuary, a decent heated outdoor pool and hammock areas. The rooms were nothing special but had everything you need and were very clean. The shower was great! After a week in a half in Costa Rica it was so nice to finally have a shower with awesome water pressure! The restaurant was very good with free breakfast included in our stay that was great! The lobby/lounge area was nice with a wood burning fireplace you could sit around in the evenings and enjoy a cocktail! The heated pool and fireplace threw me off a bit in the reviews - isnt Costa Rica already hot? Why would you want that?!?! TRUST ME - Monteverde is NOT hot lol and these things turned out to be my favorite part of the hotel! The hotel was located a quick walk (maybe 10 minutes) to downtown - but the walk back is uphill;)

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Bobbi K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments here on Trip Advisor, we're delighted to hear that the lodge was such a good fit for you. You mentioned how much you enjoyed the heated pool and fire -place and you're not alone! Monteverde is located in the Tilaran Mountain Range and the habitat is a Cloud Forest, this means that at certain times of year it can be cold. Dont' leave your fleece behind!

People often ask us how long they should stay. A lot depends on what you want to do while you are in Monteverde.
Among the suggested activities in the area are hiking or bird watching with a naturalist guide, horseback riding, and zip-lining or hiking through the canopy. You’ll need to plan on a half day for each of the activities you want to do outside of the lodge.
Suggested activities while you’re at the lodge, explore the gardens, with La Posa de Doña Yolanda solar-heated pool, the main fern and bromeliad garden, and the butterfly and humming bird garden.

We suggest you spend between 2-4 nights with us, that will give you plenty of time to do the activities you want outside of the hotel and then leave at least one afternoon to enjoy the grounds!

Vacation Time is Precious!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This hotel is great, the location perfect. The gardens with the paths and the river are wonderful. Especially the path that leads off from the front of the hotel and heads to the left, we saw a big family troup of monkeys and an enormous leaf cutter ants next. The paths withing the grounds are well marked and the yoga / quiet area is just that, swinging gently in the hammocks..... bliss

We had a upstairs forest view room, which was ideal, the little balcony not being overlooked at all and the view of the forest, with animals closer to home on the ground (Agouti) and climbing in the trees. The room was serviced perfectly, the bucket of ice was a nice touch. The bathroom was enormous and the shower water pressure and water temperature excellent.

We stayed 3 nights and took all meals apart from 1 lunch in the hotel, all were exceptional, in the quality of choice, ingredients, presentation and the service that went with it. All faultless. The waiting / bar staff are brilliant, they remembered our names every time greeting us personally.

Close enough to walk into town and close enough to the national parks, yet quiet, well maintain, well planned out, really nice welcoming hotel.

Room tip: First floor forest veiw with balcony
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carla_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Carla,

It sounds like you are a perfect fit for the lodge, you've outlined the luxuries of staying at Monteverde Lodge, thank you. We don't have TV's, AC or mini-bars, but we have things that are even better for guests that are the right fit.

The luxuries of staying with us are in the access that we give you to birds and wildlife, the service and the food, the warmth of our staff and the growth in our gardens.

Since you loved Monteverde Lodge so much, you would probably also really like our sister lodge in the lowland tropical rain forests of Tortuguero National Park, Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, also featured here on Trip Advisor.

We hope to see you soon! Vacation Time is Precious!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews