We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveller rating
42
108
162
75
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
108
162
75
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle service breakfast was included la fortuna town armadillo clouds costa wildlife cabin sunset nature jungle
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 432 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and were in the 500 rooms, which are the highest ones. Spectacular views, especially at sunset. The walk up from reception is very, very steep and long, but they are more than happy to drive you up if you don’t want to walk.
Very helpful and friendly staff and everything was very clean. We saw two coatimundi and an armadillo on the grounds.
The only real negative was that there was only wifi available in the lobby, and it got quite slow if there were a lot of people on it.
There are several restaurants just across the street for lunch and dinner with good and reasonable food, and town is a short taxi ride away.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 647christinef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Heliconia is a solid 3 star hotel. We were on a tour, and 2 rooms ended up with scorpions. They were allegedly harmless. Of bigger concern was that the water temperature vascillated between scalding and freezing in the shower. The breakfasy, however, was good, and the staff were friendly.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

We stayed 2 nights at the Heliconia - the rooms were lovely and the beds were super comfy. The sunset views from our room (200 block) were fantastic! It is a cab ride away from downtown, but it's only $5 USD cab ride. The breakfast was great as well, it just would have been nice to have wifi in our rooms and not just the lobby

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnnaFranTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Our tour group of 16 had all of the lower level of the hotel, pictured. The rooms were huge and very comfortable. I loved that the complimentary soap/shampoo/lotion were in large bottles that can be refilled, rather than the small ones that wind up in the world's plastic garbage dump. The hotel is built on a hill and yes, the walk up and down can be a bit challenging - however, the hotel offers a shuttle to help guests with the walk back up. They do have a small little bar for 'happy hour' although we never used that. We preferred 'HH' on the patio, outside our room to watch the sunset and see the clouds move in. Very close to good restaurants, a small grocery store and a delicious bakery.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan4563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Hilly would make access hard but we enjoyed being able to walk or take the bus to town and have great views and quieter stay. Breakfast was great and staff were helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed it.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank susanL7308PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews