We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
166
108
25
23
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
108
25
23
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night tour an italian restaurant cloud forest co op rooms are basic surrounded by nature walking distance a great coffee shop cafe cabure night walk costa rica bat cave pancakes monteverde reserve twin beds bird watching curi cancha
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

What a big surprise to find hummingbirds, hummingbird moths and manaqien birds litterally right in front of our cabin. The howling monkeys roar early in de morning. Agouti's walk around at dawn. Lovely to enjoy nature like this.
The cabins are very simple. But the beds are fine and sheets are clean. If there's one improvement I'd suggest it would be the lighting in the cabins. The main light in the room is very cold-coloured (blueish LED or other low-energy bulb) and doesn't light the room enough to see the contents of your bag. In the bathroom it is hard to shave or do make-up because of bad lighting.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 612wybeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Hotel El Bosque, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hi Wybe,

Thanks for your suggestion.
Will definitely add it to our improvement plan in Sept.

I think you summarize our place right on the spot.
We’re a very simple place, but totally surrounded by nature like no other hotel in the area (and very few from what I’ve seen in our country).


Cheers,

Daniel Lalinde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel is very convenient in relation to sights and restaurants and yet in the middle of the forest. Unfortunately, the bungalows are really poorly built and decayed. The own "trail" is also expired and unsecured. Worst of all was the attempt to us with the breakfast (the extra to pay "upgrade" turned out to be the normal breakfast

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Hotel El Bosque, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Hi Ralph,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are currently in a project to improve our trails, however, it must be said that this is the first time (look at all other reviews) that someone is not delighted with them. Either way, appreciate the feedback and will see how it can be used to improve them.

As for the rooms, they are simple (as advertised) but very good in terms of relation to what you paid for them.
Keep in mind you had a full family, so factor that in with the amount you paid for your three nights and I would be really surprised if you showed me another property that could offer a similar deal and much more surprised if it was better than what you paid for in our area.

Same applies with breakfast, in your case, you had continental breakfast included and you also had the option to add to it the typical breakfast for a very afforable price (not just in our area, but overall in Costa Rica). Would be interesting to hear how it has gone to you in other areas of country in this respect...

Nonetheless, we will use this input in our yearly review (September) to analyze how we can improve, so thanks for the feedback.


Regards,

Daniel Lalinde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

This is an eco lodge, which is clean, well maintained but basic. Wi-fi is good, but there is no air con, TV, or even hot tap (the shower has hot water) but then the idea is not to spend time inside. There are plenty of birds, butterflies etc right outside the door and the nature trail is worth the hour plus it takes to walk round. Breakfast is also very good. The Italian restaurant - Tramonti - is excellent but worth booking as it gets busy, and Stella's cafe opposite is great for coffee, cake or lunch.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SunandSkiFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Hotel El Bosque, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Hi SunandSkiFamily,

Thanks a lot for your comment. Right on the spot!


Cheers,

Daniel Lalinde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Despite the name, Hotel El Bosque is actually an arc of individual cabins. The rooms were quite basic but the beds were comfortable. There were no coffee making facilities in the room but when we mentioned this to Melissa at the front desk, expecting a basic kettle, she provided us with a coffee maker. The staff are friendly and helpful. There are also extensive walking tracks through bush on the property itself. One can feel the peace of wilderness and yet there's a coffee shop and an Italian Restaurant a small walk away.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Hotel El Bosque, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Hi David,

Thanks for your review.
It was a pleasure to help you!
I'm sharing your review with Melissa and the rest of the staff.


Cheers,

Daniel Lalinde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Thanks to Melisa and rest of the staff at Hotel El Bosque. The rooms were clean and with large windows facing the beautiful front gardens. We saw more wildlife on the hotel grounds than at the Cloud Forest Reserve: Aguti, green toucan, motmot, hummingbirds, giant walking stick and many types of butterflies! The El Bosque reserve was wonderful to wander through. We even had a friendly lab dog guide us around the reserve paths. The buffet breakfast was tasty and filling. And the chefs were really friendly to talk to. I would highly recommend your stay at El Bosque.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank C Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Manager at Hotel El Bosque, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Hi Dennis,

Thanks a lot for your review.

Feel free to come back anytime!!!


Cheers,

Daniel Lalinde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews