We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$147
Hotels.comUS$147
PricelineUS$147
eDreamsUS$147
TravelocityUS$147
Orbitz.comUS$147
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,438)
Filter reviews
2,438 results
Traveller rating
737
838
513
208
142
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
737
838
513
208
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle service las riendas steep hill costa rica cloud forest shuttle buses rocking chairs zip line breakfast buffet mountain side reception area night walk amazing views rooms are large tour group hiking trails beautiful property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 2,438 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

Really liked this Hotel. Big property. We stayed at Room#516. Far away from the Lobby area. They have a shuttle service to take you to and from your hotel room to the Lobby. Nice restaurant . Nice pool area. They have 10 beautiful peacocks in their premises. Little souvenir shop. We stayed at the Deluxe room. With 2 full beds. Beautiful, comfortable room, beds and pillows. Beautiful bathroom with bathtub and shower. A beautiful view of the sunset. Glass doors. Tennis court. 5 minutes away from restaurants, supermarket and stores. A taxi ride from the hotel to that area was $3.00 when you return at night to the hotel, you can ask the taxi driver to take you to the room he charged us $1.00 more dollar which we didn’t mind at all. It is a walk when you are staying in the 500’s (rooms) and it’s very dark at night. There was a phone, safe, and lots of outlets on the walls. Nice size flat TV. Toiletries provided. I will definitely stay there again. The property is very well taken care of. Security Gate at the entrance of the Hotel.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sandra1336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2021 via mobile

Kathy and I along with Mike and Kerri stayed here for 2 days. Resort is excellent. Rooms are spacious with very tall ceilings. Excellent view from our room. Food was excellent. We took the night walk with Ronnie (nickname Yogi) out tour guide and hotel front desk agent. He was outstanding. We also zip lines and had a great time. This is a great place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank joecottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2021

My husband and I stayed two nights at El Establo Hotel. The hotel sits on top of a mountain with amazing views of the mountains and Lake Arenal. The rooms was nice and nicely decorated. The staff was very helpful. We had breakfast at the restaurant every morning and it was delicious. The restaurant is very nice and has outdoor seating with nice views. It was close to town so it was easy to get to shops and restaurants nearby. A car is a must for this resort as it sits on a mountain and the road is steep. The hotel offers onsite zip lining and night walk tours as well. We hung out at the pool bar in the afternoons and the staff was great!! We really enjoyed our stay at El Establo and hope to return soon.

Room tip: Must have a car
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TheVegasGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2021

This hotel is in a beautiful location high in the clouds offering perfect views at any time of the day. The main restaurant for breakfast (which was plentiful and tasty) can be some way from the accommodation depending on which room you're in with steep climbs either way. We took various walks around the grounds but you need to be fairly fit as, again, you have to climb up steep roads. The walk is well worth it as there is a lot of wildlife to discover on route. I believe a shuttle bus is available to ferry people around although we weren't offered this facility (and we preferred the exercise). It's worth venturing up to the higher levels as there is a small swimming pool (with bar facilities), again with a lovely view. Further still is a marvellous humming bird viewing platform which is alive with numerous birds - it really is fascinating to watch. Our room was fairly spacious but very old-fashioned. Clean certainly, but definitely in need of modernisation. There are a few shops and eating places a short, but steep, walk from the hotel. We were there just as COVID lockdown was starting and so many of the normal facilities in the area were closing down and many of the hotel rooms were empty. Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel and would definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EconomynotBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2020

Good:
- Location, the hotel has an amazing view.
- The restaurant service was excellent.
- The canopy was good (there are better options around, though).

Bad:
- We asked for a room with a nice view, was given a room at the corner of the building, on the second floor, with trees in front of the balcony, so no view.
- Very noisy, could hear our upstairs neighbors and doors closing.
- The rooms have a hot water tank each, so the hot water runs out (don't think about a long shower).
- Due to all of the above, got a free upgrade to the honeymoon suite. The building is a chalet and the suite is on the top of it, so the hot air accumulates there, making the room super hot at all times, with no air conditioner or fans.
- There is no flywire on the windows, so if you want to open them and the balcony door for some air then you get the bugs in.
- Found cockroach first thing when we got in.
- The pillows are terrible, even in the honeymoon suite.
- The shower and toilet are inside the room in the honeymoon suite, there is no privacy, becomes a sauna when you shower and the smell lingers when you do #2. If you want to open the door to let the steam out while having a shower then the people on the hotel street can see you naked.
- Blinds covered 50% of the windows, so the light came in as soon as the sun came out.
- On the other hand, the junior suites on the 1st two floors are very cold, with no heating (we were there first). The bathroom has a super cold floor with no heating.
- There is nowhere to hang the wet towels or to put the soap in the shower.
- The robes provided are too small.
- We paid for a massage, now my back and neck hurt after it. They forgot to charge it at the check-out so they wrote to me 2 days after to charge it to my card.

Conclusion:
ROOMS DEFINITELY NEED UPDATING.
I usually not mind paying more for an excellent hotel, but this one has relied a lot on their name, view, and reputation, so they haven't fixed what needs fixing. Will stay in other hotels I know to be better for the same price or for a little extra.

Room tip: Not the honeymoon suite, too hot and not worth it. Bottom rooms are too cold. Better choose second floor room.
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews