We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$147
View deal
Priceline
US$147
View deal
FindHotel
US$147
US$43
View deal
SAVE US$104
Expedia.comUS$147
Hotels.comUS$147
Trip.comUS$147
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,434)
Filter reviews
2,434 results
Traveller rating
735
837
512
208
142
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
735
837
512
208
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle service las riendas steep hill costa rica cloud forest shuttle buses rocking chairs zip line breakfast buffet mountain side reception area night walk amazing views rooms are large tour group hiking trails beautiful property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 2,434 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2019

It was fun staying here, but was a bit like an adventure. Several two-story buildings with rows of guest rooms are situated on a steep slope. The buildings have stone walls and long halls, resembling elegant, old-fashioned stables. There are no elevators. The spacious rooms each have a window wall and balcony with a view of the cloud forest and the Pacific Ocean beyond it, plus beautiful wooden ceilings and furniture. Each guest room has its own 40-gallon electric heater. The bathtub was too large to consider using it. The bottom of our shower was pitched wrong, and water accumulated in it. A brief power failure occurred. The restaurant's breakfast buffet offers a wide variety of delicious foods. Because of the very steep slope, it is difficult to walk from most guest rooms to the restaurant or swimming pool. Guests can take the hotel's shuttle bus up and down the hill.

Room tip: All rooms have excellent views. For easier access to the restaurant, stay near bottom of hill.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jermich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnoldoBe, General Manager at El Establo Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2019

Thank you for the review, Jermich

We are more than glad you had the opportunity to stay at El Establo. We are happy you enjoyes de restaurant's food and our amenities.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.

We look forward to more adventures and the exotic nature of Monteverde.

Greetings!
El Establo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2019

We were a big group of 22 people and got building 9 which is so far from the reception. The shuttle was quick and efficient to take us up and down but it was a pain to be so high up the hill. The rooms were basis but spacious and clean.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank Anya778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnoldoBe, General Manager at El Establo Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2019

Dear Anya778.

We are more than glad you had the opportunity to enjoy your visit to El Establo. Thank you for sharing your positive experience regarding the shuttle service and our amenities.

We look forward to more adventures and the exotic nature of Monteverde.

Greetings!
El Establo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2019 via mobile

Very large resort, with lots of shuttles if needed to get about. Our room was really nice and clean, gorgeous view, request a room on a higher floor. Breakfast was good, didn’t use the restaurant for lunch or dinner as good options in walking distance even though the resort is not in the centre of Monteverde. Our only issue with this hotel was the sound proofing of the rooms we had a large family next door and got disturbed both in the evening and morning. The grounds of the hotel were stunning.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank victoriar972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnoldoBe, General Manager at El Establo Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2019

Thank you for the review, Victoria R.

We are more than glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the magical views from El Establo and our amenities.

We're sorry to hear about the noise issues you had. We will make sure to improve on that problem.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.

We look forward to more adventures and the exotic nature of Monteverde.

Greetings!
El Establo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2019 via mobile

The hotel has incredible views over the rainforest through the clouds. Sunsets were stunning. Always make a trip to the 9th level to see the humming birds stunning. It’s very steep to move between levels but there is a very efficient shuttle bus service to take you around.
The rooms are nice and beds comfortable. There isn’t any AC but when we were there it was cool in the evenings and quite ok with the windows open. There is also no wardrobes in the room which was a bit odd.
The restaurant is on the ground floor which we only used for breakfast, but it was very busy and crowded and not the greatest selection. Overall it was a great place to stay as the views were well worth it.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ChristineP908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnoldoBe, General Manager at El Establo Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2019

Thank you for the review, ChristineP908.

We are more than glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the magical views of Monte Verde seen from El Establo, the majestic wildlife of Monteverde and our amenities.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.

We look forward to more adventures and the exotic nature of Monteverde.

Greetings!
El Establo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2019 via mobile

We spent one night in this lovely hotel. The views were amazing and the rooms were very nice. The restaurant on he property was excellent (Luis is a great chef), and we had a great time on the resort’s zip line with Stephen and Pablo. I would recommend that you ask for a room that has a bedroom on the same level as your bathroom if that is a concern for you. Our room was very pretty with a staircase leading to a loft bedroom, but going down stairs in the middle of the night was a bit scary. Also, the wind was very noisy on the night we stayed there. Despite those two things, I really liked the hotel.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank C1598RLjom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnoldoBe, General Manager at El Establo Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2019

Thank you for the review, C1598RLjom.

We are more than glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the magical views of Monte Verde seen from El Establo and our amenities.

We are also happy you enjoyed the restaurant and the chef's menu. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.

We look forward to more adventures and the exotic nature of Monteverde.

Greetings!
El Establo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews