We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,808)
Filter reviews
1,808 results
Traveller rating
1,310
364
90
29
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,310
364
90
29
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews juice bar farm to table sunset room cloud forest costa rica micro brewery main building yoga classes farm tour beautiful hotel hot tub happy hour nicoya peninsula amazing views superior room our honeymoon hotel restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 1,808 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2018

This is most definitely a 10 out of 10. This hotel is exceptionally sited, designed, managed, and maintained. One of our favorite memories is sitting under the deep, protective eve of the dining room deck after a long morning of hiking, having lunch and then reading in the comfy chairs over the course of a couple of hours, listening to the birds, watching the afternoon clouds roll in and finally a gentle rain. It was magical. Perched up on a hillside with an expansive view of the distant Gulf of Nicoya and surrounded by the beauty of the cloud forest with its abundance of birds and symphony of their calls, our room is large, exceptionally comfortable and well-appointed with a very comfortable king bed, two upholstered chairs, a large vanity/desk and bench, an elevated spot for two large suitcases, frig, and a wonderful, wonderful deck with two chairs and a table. The room, like the hotel, is kept spotless. Every single employee is bright, gracious, helpful, and welcoming. Diego was exceptional in his genuine kindness and care. He discovered our car had a flat, carefully delivered the bad news and promptly got the tire off, drove it for repair, and had it all put back together in less than an hour. More of note: excellent homemade ipa beer, delicious cocktails using homegrown and made herbs and shrubs/syrups, delicious food in the dining room.....We hate to leave.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon. We stayed in one of the suites with the jacuzzi and day bed on the porch. Our room was absolutely beautiful. The wood, decor, and finishes on everything were amazing, as was the shower room. We could live on the day bed that they have setup on the porch. When it was clear outside you could see the Gulf of Nicoya in the distance, and even from the high up perch you still had privacy. The staff was 5 star all the way around. When we arrived there were chocolates and strawberries waiting for us, as well as a handwritten note congratulating us on our wedding. They always knew us by name and were very polite and accommodating. I highly recommend eating at the restaurant for breakfast and dinner (didn't get a chance to do lunch), the farm to table food was quite excellent, and the service was just like any fine dining restaurant. We took a free yoga class, it ended up just being my wife and I, so we got one-on-one attention and had a great time. The juice bar after yoga class is definitely the way to go, they have a great menu. We also took the garden to glass cocktail class, and it was a lot of fun. Their menu and techniques were explained to us, and how they mimic classic cocktails with ingredients grown in the garden on the property. We even got an opportunity to pick our own herbs and flowers to create our own cocktails, which turned out great! What was also great was learning about Hotel Belmar's sustainable practices and commitment. Its truly impressive to be able to operate like that and still have such a high quality property. If you stay in Monteverde and want to feel special, stay at Hotel Belmar, you won't regret it!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

The hotel staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. The food, drinks, and sunsets at the main restaurant were amazing. I would recommend the farm trip to meet the owner of the hotel and go for a horseback ride on their scenic farm.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

This is the summum of tranquility. If you get the chance, book the canopy room. We enjoyed the jacuzzi with views of the cloud forest very much. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are all great and super healthy. Grounds are well kept and great to explore.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CrowCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

We are old, arthritic, and were very exhausted when we arrived there. After 5 miles of hiking in Arenal we were disappointed to find stairs everywhere! I realize you are on the side of a mountain, but we could not make it up & down to the hot tub with all those stairs and no handrail! We were grouchy and found a spiral stair to our room and long stairs to hot tub. On relaxing in our room balcony enjoying the forest sounds and rain we found the motorcycle sounds and partiers hollering to be detrimental to the experience! Again not within your control necessarily! The hotel is a beautiful place with excellent people, but might not be the right spot for our physical condition. None of which is your fault. We would recommend you to anyone who was more agile than we are!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews