We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$127
Expedia.comUS$127
eDreamsUS$127
TravelocityUS$127
Orbitz.comUS$127
HurbUS$130
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
860 results
Traveller rating
282
328
150
54
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
282
328
150
54
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite cloud forest hardwood floors pool and jacuzzi large room two nights king bed beautiful grounds standard room monteverde reserve night walk birds roads town guide tour cabs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 860 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2020

We only stayed here one night, our last night, and it was lovely. A strange experience because we were the last tourists in CR before being flown back because of Coronavirus. So we were the only people in the hotel! I'm sure our experience may have been altered positively by this because I loved the quiet.

The grounds of the hotel are beautifully manicured but still attract plenty of local wildlife. We sat by the pool in the sun admiring the gardens and the birds which was lovely. Staff were friendly and helpful and made my boyfriend a vegan wrap on request - I had a soursop smoothie which was amazing!!

Our room was incredible - absolutely massive, gorgeous garden vista view and two big beds. Everything is spotlessly clean. The shower pressure/heat wasn't great but nothing terrible - and the staff tried really hard to help us. The beds are SO comfortable I would love to know what they do - everything about the bed was soft and fluffy like sleeping on a cloud!

At night there is no light pollution and the stars are breathtaking, especially from the garden. I sat out and looked at them a while :)

Room tip: top floor for a lovely view!
Date of stay: March 2020
Thank CoconutVanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020

Mixed feelings about this hotel, staff were friendly on arrival. Our room very spacious with a lovely seating area overlooking the huge gardens. Room was spotlessly clean, maids were friendly but there was alot of building work going with electricians in our rooms on returning one day at lunch time to find them actually doing electrical work in our room with no previous warning. The hotel should have informed us of this. All afternoon was noisey with men up ladders hammering and gardeners cutting grass. We found it diffiucult to find anywhere to sit outside in the sun as there were no tables and chairs around the gardens to sit at. The pool area was okay but with only approx 10 sunbeds and 2 of them broken we could never get one as other visitors were ignorant by putting towels and belongings on them and then disappearing! Pool snack bar was poor and slow service. We were given the wrong menus. The hotel is very remote which is great but if you want to go for a walk into the nearest village it us a long way there and back and very steep roads.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carlisle35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020

Traveled with a group of 6 and were pleasantly surprised about Fonda Vela's quality. There's new ownership and they have respected the originality of the place and added some nice features. Front desk and restaurant service were excellent. Location is great since is very near the Monteverde Reserve, Curicancha and other amazing places. Great experience overall and had a couple of wonderful guides in Monteverde: Guiliano Salazar and Giovanni Bello. We will come back.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CruiserII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2020

While all the staff were very helpful and kind, the room was pretty basic. Most notably, the rooms did not have any soundproofing. We could very clearly hear the conversations of our neighbours beside and above us, as well as anything outside. We did not sleep well because of this. However, there is a buffet breakfast included and outdoor pools. Overall, this hotel is adequate especially for the price but I wouldn't recommend staying here if sleep is important to you.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gabby647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2020 via mobile

Seriously though...
HUGE buffet breakfast included.
It’s a resort feel and hostel prices.
Massive pool and hot tub.
Top notch bars.
Birds and monkeys right there.
Pristine grounds-you won’t believe it.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PrisLovesVern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews