We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Fonda Vela
Nearby Hotels
US$143
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cala Lodge(Monteverde)
US$104
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monteverde Inn(Monteverde)(Great Value!)
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Establo(Monteverde)
US$269
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines(Cerro Plano)
US$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Bosque(Monteverde)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$267
US$259
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belmar(Monteverde)
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (766)
Filter reviews
766 results
Traveller rating
252
300
133
42
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
300
133
42
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitecloud forestpool areacosta ricahardwood floorsoverlooking the groundshotel groundslarge windowstwo nightshotel restaurantking bedcheese factorysanta elenatour companyno wifi in the roomsspread outstandard room
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 766 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018

A bit torn. The rooms are huge and quite beautiful. The property is beautiful and the restaurant and bar area appear to be first class. However, it seems to be lacking staff. There is a pool but it is covered and shaded and the water was unbearably cold. There are 2 hot tubs but only one with hot water, the other was cold. The bar at the pool was not staffed, hence there was no music or refreshments near the pool. Some people had stuff brought down but dirty dishes seemed to stay for hours. When we arrived, there were dirty dishes on the empty bar and no one around. There were only 8 deck chairs and 2 were broken but when there were 10+ people near the pool, there was no where to sit in the sun anyways. We tried to get a cup of coffee from the restaurant (at 1pm) but could not find any staff.
NO WiFi in the rooms was very frustrating and unexpected in this day/age. We asked for 4 bath towels but cleaning staff would continually leave only 2 (for 4 of us). Bathrooms in the room are very dated and in need of an update. The lady at the desk was polite and tried to accommodate but the place seems VERY short-staffed. We really had trouble finding someone sit/serve us at the beautiful restaurant during the day time. The hotel is close to the cloud forest but honestly, I'd recommend staying closer to town and taking a taxi to the cloud forest anyways. Fonda Vela is a steep hike from the nearest restaurant and from Monteverde. This place feels like an abandoned treasure in a beautiful setting. It is not ideal for families as the restaurant is expensive, it's far from other establishments and the pool is really cold and shaded and a far away from the rooms. It needs WiFi, a hotel shuttle bus, some pool lounge chairs, a pool with some sun and/or warmer water, and STAFF! A little happy music in and about the restaurant / pool area wouldn't hurt either:)

Room Tip: Seem to all be far from the pool but would suggest something on the 2nd floor with a view.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lappink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel F, Gerente at Hotel Fonda Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear lappink,

We thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at FondaVela.
We learn from your feedback that allows us to improve and work harder every day. We are working to improve in every aspect and the staff is one of them. No doubt your comments have been taken into account.

Thank you very much for choosing us, we look forward to have another opportunity to offer you the service you deserve and expect.

Fonda Vela Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We liked it. Our room was spacious and clean with a nice view. The restaurant serves a great breakfast and we enjoyed a late lunch and beverages. The front desk staff was helpful getting us a night jungle tour. The bartender set us up nicely with a welcome drink and a appetizers The pool was immaculate, and we caught some rays. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: We had a room with a king and queen bed. Nice view and spacious.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damnels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel F, Gerente at Hotel Fonda Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Damnels,

We love to read your comment and know that you have enjoyed your visit and the amazing wildlife surrounding us. It is certainly an environment of which we have great pride and we love to share with those who visit us.

We hope to see you again soon,

Fonda Vela Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Great lodge in the middle of the Monteverde jungle. Rooms are spacious and have either balconies or an extra area with a couch. Good size rooms. No A/C as it is normally cooler in this part of the country. Rooms have fans. Restaurant has a great selection for lunch and dinner and breakfast buffet includes typical foods and a omelet station. Arrived on my birthday and the restaurant brought out a whole cake on the house at dinner. Pool is very cold but clean. 2 hot tubs, one regular temp over 100 degrees and the other one in the 80's. Drink waiter service at the pool as well. Jungle trail on the property. Be careful when driving form San Jose to Monteverde as the GPS will take you the last miles on a steep rocky dirt road. No street signs in Monteverde or the entire country for that matter. Monteverde has mostly dirt roads.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank petrod21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel F, Gerente at Hotel Fonda Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Petrod21,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your experience at Fonda Vela Hotel.
Your comments will be taken into account to improve.

We look forward to seeing you again,

FondaVela Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

No smoke alarm in the room, dangerously slippery stairs to the bathroom, no skid strips in the plastic shower/tub, overwhelming smell of insecticide in the room. Balcony glass door rattled in the wind all night long. Since there is no WiFi in the rooms, we went to the bar lounge for that; their staff complained out loud that we never bought a drink (in Spanish, which we do understand). Breakfast was very poor, we ate out the second day. All in all not an experience to repeat. To be fair, the bed was comfortable, the room spacious.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mleeds2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel F, Gerente at Hotel Fonda Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear mleeds2018,

We thank you for sharing your positive comments about your recent stay at FondaVela.
We learn from your feedback that allows us to improve and work harder every day.

Thank you very much for choosing us, we look forward to have another opportunity to offer you the service you deserve and expect.

Fonda Vela Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

My two 20something daughters and I just returned from four days here. We were in room 27, a spacious corner room with second bed upstairs. We were surrounded by lush foliage with occasional visits from colorful birds, butterflies and agoutis. I loved that it was away from traffic and noise, yet only minutes away from the cute town.
The staff was extremely helpful in helping us with booking excursions and confirming reservations. The hotel and bar staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast buffet was delicious- always fresh fruit, eggs to order, potatoes, whole grain bread, pancakes, beans and rice plus an extra...either chicken, quesadilla, etc. we enjoyed lunch and one dinner as well...good portions, delicious and vegan friendly. Very accommodating. Happy hour drink specials were a real bargain!
The staff worked to keep the grounds beautifully maintained. I especially liked that they were not blaring music outside of restaurant and pool. Occasionally, they’d have soft music at pool. The pool was very cold, but the hot tub was perfect. We got BBC and ABC on our tv, which was nice, I admit. The WiFi does not work in rooms, only in reception and restaurant. This was a little inconvenient for me, it’s the only complaint I had.
Why stay in paradise ( Monteverde) to listen to traffic, partying, etc? It was a busy Spring break time and the town was bustling with tourists; so glad we chose this peaceful gem of a place to relax. We will return!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LLindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel F, Gerente at Hotel Fonda Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear LLindaC,

We appreciate that you have shared your valuable comments about your stay. We will certainly take each of your words into account to improve the experience of our clients. We appreciate your very positive words from the heart.

We would love to welcome you in the future,

Fonda Vela Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews