We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and attentive staff”
Review of Sofia Restaurant

Sofia Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 115 Restaurants in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 24 April 2017

This was a wonderful dinner. The food, atmosphere and service were all amazing. We thought the prices were extremely reasonable for the quality of the food. And it was the BEST ceviche we had while in Costa Rica!

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank amadocteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2017

Our small group tour of 16 people had dinner here one evening. The food was very good. I had a chicken dish and my husband had the stuffed pepper. Everyone in the group had a good meal. It was pretty empty when we were there. The service was good.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

We had dinner, the main courses were so small, that my wife and I left the place hungry. For two small plates, a glass of wine and a tiny, awfully sweet Caipirinha we paid over 50$. I do not recommend the place, although the food was good, there was no value for a lot of money!

Date of visit: April 2017
1  Thank PeterS263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

The first time we went to d'Sofia we were very impressed. We had great service and the food was excellent. The second time, the waitress wasn't sure what she was serving. It may have been a different chef. The wine was very good.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Constance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Excellent food in a very pleasant setting. The tangerine with palm hearts appetiser was delicious and the plantain crusted sea bass was really excellent. The Mojito Martini was a great way to start the meal - unique and very tasty. Service was also very friendly and efficient. Nothing could have been better. I just wish we were in Santa Elena for longer so we could come again.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travellinman2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sofia Restaurant also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Sofia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing