We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
18
19
28
15
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
19
28
15
24
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2018

Rooms were outdated but very neat. Old furniture but neat as well. Staff were very friendly. Even the lady manager assisted us with our luggage up the stairs as there
was no lift . Receptionist was very friendly and helpful. For the price we paid during the
peak season it was worth it and we could not expect much more. This property definitely is in need of maintenance.

Room tip: Some of the rooms have very old TVs. When booking in tell the receptionist you want a room with flat screen TV.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 578sai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC N, Manager at Splendid Inn Port Edward, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear 578sai,

Thank you for taking the time to submit this review.

Your comments have been noted and will be addressed with urgency.

Your patronage and loyalty is highly valued, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon,currently the property is under going a refurb , and will have a new look very soon .

Look forward to welcom eyou back once renovations has been completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

The room we had was clean, albeit a bit dated. We found that the aircon was so rusted that if only blew air and nothing cold. I reported this to the reception (Gladsy) and due to power outage recently experienced, their computer systems were offline so a new room could not be allocated.

The whole feel of the hotel of very 80's and dated. The Cellar Cafe next to the pool has been abandonded and forgotten with furniture lying around and all locked up.

The dinner menu was very limited and over priced. A post in OCT 2017 from the establishment did say the menu was going to upgraded but i dont think this has been done as yet.
Due to a local power outage we had no choice but to venture out and see food elsewhere , which was a lot cheaper

I feel the cost charged at this hotel is too high for what was provided. I was expecting something more upmarket and modern

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC N, Manager at Splendid Inn Port Edward, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Mike F ,

Thank you for taking the time to submit this review, and apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

Your comments have been noted and will be addressed with urgency.

Your patronage and loyalty is highly valued, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon, so that we may have the opportunity to improve on your previous stay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

First impressions very poor as you drive into the property poor garden and building maintenance.
Receptionist could not find the key to our room for over half an hour and eventually found it in the housekeepers pocket who she also could not contact for this time,
Bathroom mirror fell on my head and broke into small pieces cutting my foot.
Clearly this dump seriously lacks management.

Room tip: Do not book into this hotel
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank yorky34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Booked myself into the Splendid Inn Port Edward- so disappointed. The rooms was outdated with stains on the couches and a bathroom that is shockingly filthy. Definitely not worth the money spend and not what is advertised- think carefully whether you stay at the Splendid Inn

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoinette N, Manager at Splendid Inn Port Edward, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Dissapointed,

I apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay - this was not our intention!

Your comments have been noted for our urgent attention and discussed with the departments involved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We stayed last weekend and were disappointed from the onset. It was a two night stay. Judging by other traveler reviews, their experiences were the same as ours. The sad part is, the management responses to the traveler reviews are taken with a pinch of salt and no accountability for the complaints are taken.

Firstly, the reception area had a pungent smell – almost as if incense was burning to hide a mouldy odour. Check in took a bit longer than expected; nearly ten minutes! Our room was two floors above reception with no one to assist with luggage and there are no elevators. Why we were allocated this room, while the property was clearly not at full capacity, we don’t know.

Secondly, our allocated room. There was no telephone to contact room service, the mattress of the bed was incredibly soft with terrible pillows and we had to endure two very uncomfortable nights of sleep, the bath towels (in my opinion) could be considered hand towels & to my horror the shower was part of the bath. That setup is a disaster waiting to happen! Someone could easily slip and injure themselves if they had to have a shower in the bath as no ‘silicone shower mat’ was provided. The head board of the bed was not even mounted against the wall. The fridge in the room was a nice touch & the room was spacious with a cozy balcony to view the ocean.

We had ordered room service for dinner on the 1st evening as we had checked in quite late. Menu offerings were very limited and the delivery time could be improved. That was the only dining experience that we had over the weekend.

The hotel needs to pay attention to maintenance, apart from the above mentioned points. The paint is peeling off the walls and the water pressure in the room is extremely weak!

Fortunately we had many outings planned and spent minimal time on the property so this was basically just a place to sleep and freshen up. Honestly, we would have enjoyed our stay more down the road at other establishments (with sterling trip advisor reviews) who need the business and would have gladly treated us to great hospitality.

My suggestion would be to take reviews and guest concerns seriously. Up your game!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DJayneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoinette N, Manager at Splendid Inn Port Edward, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear DJayneB,

Thank you for taking the time to submit this review.

I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused during your recent stay, and would appreciate the opportunity to resolve this to your satisfaction.

Please if possible call me at your earliest convenience (or provide your contact details for me to contact you) to discuss this further?


Kindest Regards
Antoinette Naude
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews