We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
32
23
4
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
23
4
4
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016

A lovely family-run hotel just outside the main town of Toscolano Maderno. Parking situated outside the hotel - welcome was friendly. Rooms (and the hotel) are very clean and the staff were helpful. Air conditioning in the rooms and a balcony which overlooked the pool and views of the lake. We were a family of five and great that we were all able to sleep in the same room. Breakfast was lovely and fresh, with a great selection of fresh cakes, breads and homemade jams.

A slight walk to the main town but we just drove in. About 800m to the lake. A great location. We visited the local paper museum, as well as travelled to other places in the lake. Would return again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Could just see the lake from our balcony in room 18 but also had a great view of the hills/mountains and looked over the swimming pool. Owner was fantastic as were the other staff we met. Lovely breakfast with fresh cakes and pastries (I have a sweet tooth!) although there was also fresh rolls, cheese, ham and salami, yogurts, fruit, cereal and homemade jams. The jacuzzi area of the pool is fantastic, very relaxing. Very reasonably priced refreshments too.
Only downside was no fridge in the room and the cleaners coming too early, one knock and they're in, not ideal if you fancy a 'lazy' morning! ;) Maybe a privacy sign for the door would be useful?!
A great base for exploring the lake, 45 mins to Sirmione, 20 mins to Limone, 30 mins to Riva and about 45 mins to Malcesine (traffic allowing).
Could walk to nice beach bar in 10/15 mins or other way to main harbour area with a few restaurants in 20/30 mins.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Lovely hotel with friendly, welcoming staff. We were greeted upon arrival and the hotel owner kindly permitted our motorbikes to be housed in the garage beneath the property. Great pool, terrace and garden area with ample tables, chairs and lounges to relax in the sunshine. We had a large double aspect room with great views and a balcony. The room was tastefully decorated and nice and cool. Small bathroom (shower no bath) but everything in it you needed The breakfast choice was tremendous with a gluten free provision - a thoughtful touch. The staff were very helpful offering information for transport and directions etc. nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2015

We stayed there Aug.1,2015 for 3 days along with 2 other families and it was a bitter sweet accommodation. Very clean and pleasant B&B with a very good breakfast.
Before writing this review I read a few others and I was not surprised to find the comment the owner/manager as a peculiar operator. Yes with so many rules, the Italian manager is always right even when he is wrong. The updated A/C was terrible in the rooms because it was set at 24C, but upon discussing this with the manager his only remark was that it was only 1 year old and therefore it should be working.
The WIFI was not working, yet the manager/owner insisted that his internet connection was working and therefore everyone's WIFI was working. Apparently, his land-line connection was working but the router had problems that could not be fixed over the weekend period. There many frustrated people including myself with this owner operator. His english is good, but he does not comprehend the language making communication more frustrating...stick to your Italian language, its easier for people to overcome the language barrier than to continue to argue with you. I did not see him NOT argue with Guests!!! Yes of course he was always right!
It rained during our stay and with the unheated pool, it was not an attractive activity.

Our mistake was that we should have stayed at The Grand Hotel Fasano, beautiful place only a few dollars more, on the lake with a touch of elegance.

Room Tip: The Grand Hotel Fasano
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marcello P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We had 2 single rooms, Nr. 1 and 9. Nr.1 was actually nicer, bit bigger and with very large balcony. But room Nr.9 was good too. We (my wife and I) found this hotel as quite pleasant, very well accessible by car and actually it has good location for car-tourists, 2 minute drive to lake shore and hotel is just close to main street, which leads to other destinations. Beds were OK, breakfast very good (jams and marmalade made by hotel owner were excellent), rooms were clean. The only small issues was low cold water pressure in room 9 and noise insulation could be bit better, too.. . WiFi could be faster, but in fact it was good enough for email and basic browsing. Hotel has good swimming pool and quite nice garden.
What we enjoyed most was nice attitude of staff and hotel owner especially. I loved small lesson of beautiful Italian language we were getting every day!
Western shore of Lago di Garda is one of greatest places we saw in Italy. Lake and surrounding mountains make this place something like natural greenhouse and you have there big palm trees, citruses and absolutely gorgeous oleanders, probably nicest we see in entire Mediterranean area. Maderno, Gargnano, Riviera Gardone, Salo and Riva del Garda are very nice towns to visit. Eastern shore is also very nice, but slightly cooler than Western one.
Toscolano Maderno is very good place for swimming in the lake. Beaches are nice, plentiful and not too packed by people (Early July). Water temperature was about 20-22C.
We plan to go back and hotel Sorriso is very good candidate for our future stay.

Room Tip: Single room Nr.1 is very nice
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Marin881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews