We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
89
18
3
9
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
18
3
9
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding planner amazing wedding planning process evening meal was excellent stable block bridal suite full english mini break main meal main building rooms are clean cooked to perfection four poster bed breakfast was delicious next morning a great stay one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2018

I stayed there twice. Once we were offered a 'better room' at, of course, a higher price. Second tome we stayed the staff ranged from incompetent to rude.On our second visit we stayed in the stables. I think they forgot to clean them up after the horses: mould, damp and smelly.

Do not trust a word this bunch say.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank MikeR8820FP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harry24100, Front Office Manager at The Blazing Donkey Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Mike

Thank you for posting your [blunt] review.

We wonder when exactly you stayed as your review is very non-specific and, taking into account the general context of other reviewers feedback, seems at odds with the reality of our operation?

We are unaware of any mould or damp or indeed "smelly"-ness in any of our rooms. Part of my role is to regularly inspect the accommodations after the housekeeping team have completed their duties and the cleanliness is consistently exemplary. The feedback we routinely enjoy is contrary to the feedback you have provided. In fact the stable accommodation has undergone a complete refurbishment since 2016 as referred to in the many of the reviews. Our housekeeping team, headed up and coordinated by Sherry Martin, one of the owners, are meticulous in their duties and operate from a 28 point checklist on every room. We have no record of any issues with rooms as you infer. It is most certainly the case that there is no mould or dampness present in any of our accommodations.

Our staff are well trained and pride themselves on courtesy and professionalism as reflected, once again as in most of our reviews. We have no knowledge of any incident or stay where such issues of "forgetting to clean up after the horses...." has occurred. Perhaps this is your attempt at a humorous attack on our reputation? Indeed, the tone of your review seems unnecessarily cold but our favourite thing is to make friends of our customers!? We wonder what happened? Did somebody really upset you somehow?

For the benefit of readers of this review, who will of course make up their own minds, our accommodation does not have horses stay in it! We are however a pet-friendly hotel and many hundreds of our guests stay regularly with their dogs. This is an increasingly popular activity and given our rural location we are perfectly situated for pet lovers wishing to travel with their pooches.

You say you have stayed twice, suggesting that your first stay met with your expectations.

Your review calls into question our trustworthiness. Suffice to say, our current owners have been operating the hotel very successfully since 1989 and would not have been able to enjoy the sustained growth in trade and reputation that they have if they were not operators with integrity providing excellent facilities and service for over 25 years.

For my part, and In my position at the front desk, much of my morning is spent bidding very happy clients a fond farewell after their stay, many of whom leave tips generously.

We are lucky to have around 10,000 guests stay with us each year, a great very many of whom are regular faces. This we pride ourselves upon and we shall continue to extend a warm welcome and excellent hospitality to those that come to see us!

Have a great Summer and if you do decide to return you will hard pushed to find any damp, mouldy rooms that smell of horses. What you will find is first class facilities, a friendly face or two and a very warm welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I recently had the great pleasure of attending the wedding of a friend, held at The Blazing Donkey. What an amazing day/night!
I would venture to say this was the most beautiful wedding I've attended. From the the welcome we received to the next morning farewell.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful, friendly and professional. The food was amazing, rooms were clean, light and airy and nothing was to much trouble.
The mangers/owners/staff made sure that the day ran smoothly. The bride and groom were so relaxed as the Blazing Donkey staff dealt with everything.
I cannot recommend the Donkey, highly enough. Thank you all for the most enjoyable day :-)
We will certainly be returning for a weekend break very soon.
Many thanks :-)

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank angel200957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harry24100, Front Office Manager at The Blazing Donkey Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Angel

Thank you so much for your fantastically kind words. Our wedding team, headed up by Sherry and Jen work tremendously hard to deliver first class days and it is so lovely to have their efforts, and those of our team recognised in this way. Thank you, thank you!

2018 will see just under 100 weddings hosted here at The Blazing Donkey and the popularity of our place is owed to the hard work of the team and the stunning set up we are luck enough to have here. The property owners continue to invest in dramatic improvements in the wedding facilities cementing The Blazing Donkey's reputation as rural Kent's most popular countryside wedding venue!

We look forward to seeing you again in future.

Very best wishes
Louise
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

The service we received here was terrible. The manager of this establishment is known to be very untrustworthy as can be seen in many other reviews. I can confirm this is definitely the case. The attitude of staff speaks volumes and is obviously a result of following by example. Food is overrated and cold. Not a place you should be parting money with if you ever want to see it again. Don't ask for a refund if you've been overcharged or decide to cancel. They will pretend they've never seen/dealt with you! The manager needs to fix up and develop morals.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
7  Thank fire-eyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harry24100, Front Office Manager at The Blazing Donkey Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Fire Eyez,

Thank you for your review which, needless to say is against the run of play and sticks out like a sore thumb!!

We do not have any knowledge of who you are? We have had no guests stay this year so far with an address of Birmingham or indeed any recent incidents where service complaints have arisen??? We are a very small hotel and we get to know ALL our customers, particularly at this time of year which is very much quieter meaning that we can spend time with everybody, which we most enjoy. Your accusations regarding the manager being untrustworthy are offensive and puzzling. The hotel is owner operated and staffed by a small team all of whom consistently deliver fantastic service as the prior reviews all attest. The current owners have developed the business over the last 25 years and would not have been able to enjoy the success and reputation that they have without providing a first class experience to guests with integrity.

Our duty supervisor Luke, who is mentioned frequently on our TA listing is particularly upset by your comments as he, like all of his team are very customer-driven. Your broad and sweeping statements regarding our food and service are ALL very non-speciific making them impossible to investigate and comment upon. Readers of this review will of course make up their own minds but where specific observations and feedback are provided by a reviewer we always respond with a full explanation. This kind of feedback is often helpful as it is very constructive instead of offensive. Having said that please be sure to call me at the front desk anytime and I would be delighted to assist you with any issues you may have as I am front office manager and pride myself on delivering customer satisfaction every time.

We have a very straight-forward and fair bookings policy meaning that many of our limited special offer rates are non-refundable, as is normal. In the event guests have to cancel we ALWAYS offer rain-check vouchers and where appropriate offer refunds. I look after ALL the bookings and reservations desk and I am unaware of any outstanding queries or problems so your comments in this connection seem to be at odds with the reality.

We are proud that our fantastic facilities continue to be enjoyed by many thousands each year. We continue to invest in the fabric of our facilities and in a first class team delivering ever-improving levels of service.

With thanks again, assuring you of my best attention at every opportunity.

Louise
Front Desk


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here Good Friday. From check in which was prompt and shown our room in the stable block. Room clean and tidy. Went back to the bar for some local beer which was good. In the evening had the
a la carte dining which the food was excellent. All afternoon and evening was looked after by Luke who was attentive at all times. Breakfast was nice with full English again looked after by Luke.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jdicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harry24100, Front of House at The Blazing Donkey Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Sir

Thank you for your kind words.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in future!

Best wishes
Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Absolutely brilliant .Only 4 people serving at table.Mealwas great (at top table certainly) Heating was abysmal and many people resorted to their coats to keep warm.
I hope the management takes note and refunds some of the fee.?

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harry24100, Front Office Manager at The Blazing Donkey Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear John

Thank you for your kind comments. Chris & Sandra's day was indeed absolutely brilliant! Their beaming faces said it all! And our task is always made easier when the guests are as lovely! Great to see lots of very clean plates after an excellent three course wedding breakfast and a packed dance floor into the night!! Most of the hotel accommodation was occupied by Chris and Sandra's guests many of whom also took time to provide us with some great feedback in the morning after breakfast!

We note and thank you for your comments regarding the ambient temperature for the marquee. We are always up against the constant flow of guests exiting and entering without closing the door behind them (especially when lots of guests are smokers as they were on Saturday). We are considering the installation of a self-closing door which will limit any cold air in-flows on shivery nights.

With thanks again for your kind feedback.

Louise
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews