We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
137
53
18
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
53
18
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on site blair castle toilet shower games room great site plenty of space the river woodland lodge small shop fantastic campsite free entry playing field camping pods play area well worth a visit static vans large tent
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2018

We have just spend our 3rd long weekend this year at BCCP staying in one of the static vans which are so comfy and immaculate. The only gripe we have is poor or no WiFi access within the van. On this visit, which was the worst yet, the park was next to empty and we were still unable to connect. We couldn’t even gain access to the log on page and had to sit in reception to access. We are happy to pay for a WiFi service but what BCCP offer is usless! We are quite sure there will be many families who visit where access is a must to be able to have connection for work commitments, so I hope WiFi is top of the 2018/2019 upgrade list as this is the only negative we have at this beautiful site.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Just returned yesterday from a 2 night night camping trip as a group of 4 (2 couples on pitches next to each other).

We arrived around 7:15 on Friday night and found it quite difficult to find our pitches as the paving slab is not visible from the car, however once there got set up no problem.

Found the toilets and shower block to be nice and clean - could possibly have more showers and better hair dryers- there was only 1 so adding more would be a suggestion.

My issue began on Saturday evening when it began to rain. We had a small gazebo with us, yes we knew they were not allowed. We thought this was due to fire safety (3 meter between tents etc) however as there was no campers on the surrounding pitches we decided to put this up hoping it would be okay. 10/15 minutes after we got it up and started to get items out to cook dinner the warden came round and advised it had to come down, may add by this point it was pouring down with rain. I asked if we could keep it up but move it further from our tents, to which he replied “unfortunately not, we think it’s daft but the owner of the park really dislikes gazebos and therefore doesn’t want them on her park, we cannot allow it because if she found out”.

Therefore we had to take down the gazebo and went to the nearby pub to stay inside out the rain. Having to spend money buying food there as we simply could not cook and eat comfortably in the weather conditions.

They advertise as a luxury camping & caravan park, yet happily allow their guests using tents to cook there dinner and sit the in the pouring rain with no shelter!!!

Fair to say because of this pathetic excuse and being forced to leave the campsite to find somewhere to eat without being soaked through, I will not return to this campsite.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bianca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairCastle, Director of Sales at Blair Castle Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to feed back your experience at our park, we try to exceed all expectations for our guests on every visit and clearly we have fallen short here. We will certainly take your comments on board about finding your pitches and the amenities in the shower and toilet blocks.

We do not allow gazebos of any size on our site and this has been a regulation for a long time so I am afraid the warden was right to ask you to take this down as it would be unfair to allow you to keep yours up whilst others were not allowed. I do appreciate the way this was handled was not up to standard and we have already taken action on this. We do have some covered areas for our patrons around the park with benches to be used in bad weather.

I do hope that you come and visit us again, if you do decide to please contact myself on the email address below and i will gladly help you with your booking - mail@blaircastlecaravanpark.co.uk - Julia Sim, Head of Sales and Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Travelled with 2 other families and we decided to leave our tents behind for this trip and try the pods.
Reception polite and helpful on arrival and we were given a torch with our key.
The only annoyance is that you can't park right at your pod, even to just unload. We used the official pod offloading bay but a caravan owner who was trying to park wasn't happy as we were in the way!
The pod was clean, cosy and pretty spacious considering. The double sofa bed isn't overly comfortable to be honest.
Each pod has its own picnic table and benches which is great.
The toilet block (no 4) was closer than I'd expected, was clean and well maintained with 2 shower cubicles.
Great park area for the kids and plenty room to ride around on bikes etc.
Bit disappointed that WiFi was chargeable but it is available.
The pods are located under a section of trees so we weren't able to sit and enjoy the sun directly outside the pod as a group which was probably the thing that bothered me the most.
We had a great time though and we would go back. Highly recommend to anyone who doesn't want the hassle of packing up their tent and drying it out after the trip.
Our kids all had a great time and we enjoyed a walk in the estate.
.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Melanitsa7328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairCastle, Director of Sales at Blair Castle Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Many thanks for your feedback and we will take all your excellent points on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

The site is in a beautifully location, close to the castle and a river. However the site seems to rely too much on the location to sell itself. There is a very small shop compared to the size of site, the washroom we were directed to was very dated, freezing and the shower button had to be pushed around every twenty seconds. One of the other campers who was disabled also had a problem in that she felt the chair in the disabled cubicle was danger, but she directed me to another block which was far more modern and warm but there was nowhere to sit after showering leaving you to hop around and leaning on walls to get dressed which is not easy at my age. The site could definitely benefit from having money spent on it, maybe a dog friendly restaurant in which case we would definitely come back.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Y C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairCastle, Director of Sales at Blair Castle Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Many thanks for your feedback, we are working through a period of upgrades at the park with facilities being updated this winter which is very exciting. We hope you come and visit us again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed at a friends seasonal caravan on the site for 5 nights so saved a lot of money. Toilet/shower facilities excellent. Ideal location for visiting nearby tourist attractions . Well maintained and peaceful in gorgeous setting. Been here 3 years in a row and look forward to returning.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 0312tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairCastle, Director of Sales at Blair Castle Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thanks so much for your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews