We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roaring Stags at Blair Atholl”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blair Atholl
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blair Castle Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Sandy’s stags deliver a real treat
I have always wanted to see the Red deer rut, and having watched it many times on wild life programmes decided that this year was the perfect time to witness it for myself. The obvious place to go was Scotland so we set off for Blair Atholl just outside Pitlochry and booked a ranger led trip up into the hills full of excitement and anticipation. We stayed in a woodland lodge on the Atholl estate which was extremely comfortable, and the staff booked us onto the Sunday morning tour. The Land Rover Defender was waiting for us and ready to go, promptly, and Sandy our guide was eager to set off albeit a little concerned that earlier in the day he had not seen many animals. The hills were alive with the sounds of walkers testing themselves for their Duke of Edinburgh awards. Sandy was an absolute gentleman and has worked on the estate for over 40 years he knows every inch of it and even had a minor role in the recent episode of Victoria where he was seen helping Prince Albert land a salmon (Sandy still holds the record for a 28lb fish caught a few years ago now). If anyone was going to help us spot some rutting stags then he was definitely the man to do it, and so it proved we saw dozens of animals and about ten stags, but we heard even more roaring as they strutted around the Glens and hills gathering up their harems. Sandy’s ability to spot the animals was little short of uncanny as he saw them much sooner than any of our party of four did, we stopped in several different places to watch these magnificent beasts and had plenty of time to take lots of photographs. The Land Rover was the perfect vehicle for the trip taking the bumpy roads up and down the glens with ease getting us as close as possible to the action. Just for good measure we also spotted a black cock and several buzzards affectionately referred to as TE’s (tourists eagles) we never did spot a real golden eagle but maybe next time we will be lucky. This was a fantastic experience made even better by the enthusiasm and knowledge of our guide.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curryfiend100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairCastle, Director of Sales at Blair Castle Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to write your wonderful review, Sandy is indeed one our treasures at Atholl Estates and I will make sure I pass on your kind words to him.

I hope that you return to see the Golden Eagles they are incredible to watch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights.Very large but spacious site well laid out and obviously very good scenery.Excellent reception facilities with very friendly welcome.Eating out a 5 minute walk away although only used Food in the park.Blair Castle a ten minute walk.Lots of walks and cycling paths adjacent to park.Well signposted with information available from reception.Some reviews have commented on showers which I could understand will be an issue when site is busy but they were adequate when site is quiet.I agree probably need modernisation but you can’t have everything.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pennycoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairCastle, Director of Sales at Blair Castle Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Many thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We stayed for a night in one of the camping pods. It was decent and reasonably priced when comparing to other campsites. What I was mostly impressed with was the facilities. Absolutely spot on! Really clean and modern and definitely stands out in terms of quality. There are 4 different blocks across the campsite and each of them had a different layout, varying in numbers of showers available so it's worth exploring. I was very impressed at how spacious and clean they were. Would definitely recommend staying there if you have a thing for great facilities (I know I do). The lovely walk along the campsite is a great surprise as well.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairCastle, Director of Sales at Blair Castle Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Many thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The site is extremely well laid out and maintained with allocated camping space It's best to book before arrival as in the summer it gets very busy. There are mainly static caravans, space for tourers, a few small log lodges. There are five toilet/shower blocks( showers are free) These are modern and clean. These blocks also have dishwashing facilities.
There is a drying area and laundry.
The ladies at reception are really helpful and can assist even if you want to re - freeze your cooler blocks!
There is free wifi at reception and a small library area where you can borrow books, charge electronics and also a games area with a tv.
You can walk around part of the castle from the grounds free of charge and are given 25% discount on castle entry. The site is so pretty with trees, a river running through with its own ducks, a dedicated dog walking area and a lovely pub, local grocery shop nearby. There are organised local tours for deer watching, red squirrel walks and you can even hire Segways.
One of the best sites I've visited.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nikky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairCastle, Director of Sales at Blair Castle Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Many thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Dukes of Atoll residence in the Scottish highlands. 1st Duke John to current 12th Duke Bruce. No photos allowed until the end of the ballroom attached. Very good display of treasures over the years. Current Duke resides in South Africa but visits once a year. Available for weddings and functions.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank maestr02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairCastle, Director of Sales at Blair Castle Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Many thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blair Castle Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair Castle Caravan Park

Address: Blair Atholl PH18 5SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blair Atholl
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Blair Atholl
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the freedom of 9 acres of green open space, five star facilities and a relaxed family-friendly atmosphere. The park is situated in the beautiful grounds of Blair Castle and is surrounded by the spectacular mountain scenery of Highland Perthshire.The park has over 280 hardstanding and grass pitches for touring caravans, motorhomes and tents. High quality Caravan Holiday Homes also available for let or purchase. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blair Castle Caravan Park Hotel Blair Atholl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing