We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Expedia.com
WIOL.com
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,213)
Filter reviews
1,213 results
Traveller rating
323
461
222
107
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
323
461
222
107
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish beach front beachfront room rex resort a la carte three star star resort some tlc lovely beach fabulous location garden view cleaned every day rum punch great holiday beach vendors afternoon tea the west coast of barbados
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
435 - 440 of 1,213 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017

The food was great and the staff were very welcoming. The beach is a stone's throw away. The rooms could do with a little updating but it is definitely value for money. Wifi is pretty decent too. Its a short walk to local amenities if you do not do All Inclusive.

You can borrow snorkels and kayaks etc.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 405nadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerdiscobay, General Manager at Starfish Discovery Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Thank you for taking the time to give your review on our product and services. As we move forward we will continue to do our best to ensure our customers are happy and comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

i visited the beautiful island of Barbados from August 10 to August 14, 2017 with my husband and children 2 yr and 4 yr old. Our flight with Liat was not bad just a little delay due to weather conditions.

Our drive from the GAIA to Holetown took 51 minutes. Upon arrival at the hotel the clerk at the front desk was not welcoming. We got our room keys and was taken to our room. We were not offered our complimentary drink which is the norm at other Rex Resort we stayed at also the hotel had complimentary bags which they gave to certain guests (the guest who did not hold a Caribbean passport).

Dinner at this hotel was A-La-Carte on some nights and buffet on others.Dinner on the first night A-La-Carte took 1 hour to reach our table, after we had to as the waitress twice what was going on. the A-La-Carte did not take children into consideration. The buffet dinner was not impressive.

Lunch was served from 12:30 to 2:30pm, yet when u reach the dining area the staff was not ready to serve the guest. It makes you wonder if their isn't a supervisor over looking the staff at this resort.

Breakfast was the same thing everyday eggs, sausage, bake beans, bread, pancake and cereal.

There was one particular person who stood out in the dining area, a girl who wears here hair in a bun, she normally seats the guest. The reason she stood out to me because she fed herself before the guests. There should be an area for the staff to have their meals not infront the guests or after the lunch, dinner and breakfast time is over.

This hotel is located on the beach the view is amzaing if you have a seaview room. i would not recommend the Gardenview room.

You will see a lot of tout / hustlers liming close to this resort, Discovery Bay is in the middle of two resorts, but the hustlers settle themselves at this resort. These hustlers give the resort and unsecure feeling.

The pool was o.k. Needs to be cleaned daily, there is a very old guy who just sweeps around the pool.

The room was comfortable and spacious, Charmaine the person who cleaned the room was very friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable about her country.

This hotel is not the cheapest on the island and it being one of Rex Resort hotels i expected better service, friendly staff and enjoyable meals. I was dissapointed by the appearance of this hotel. Comparing this resort to Turtle Beach Tobago and Grenadian in Grenada this resort needs alot on improvement and the staff need some training in hospitality.

Barbados is a beautiful island with alot of activities for everyone to enjoy.

Room tip: beachview rooms for a lovely view of the sea
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trini-karri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerdiscobay, General Manager at Starfish Discovery Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit with us. Your comments are important to us. All of your comments will be reviewed and the areas of concern addressed with urgency.

Based on your comments, I am a bit disappointed that you felt that we treat our customers differently depending on the passports their possess, this is far from the truth. I can assure you that all of our guests are treated with respect and their comfort is paramount to our success.

I am sorry that we did not get the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you in resort as we would have made all efforts to address them.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

All my family enjoyed the ambiance, the comfort and the quality of this hotel.
The staff was forthcoming and very helpful. The food was very good. The beach is wonderful.
There was value for money. We will come back next year.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank virginies518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerdiscobay, General Manager at Starfish Discovery Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for rating you visit with us. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you all back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We went to Barbados for a quick break recently & had the misfortune of choosing Discovery Bay........I had stayed there twice before in 1983 & 2003......in 1983 it was a well kept & maintained 4* hotel.......in 2003 it had been taken over by Rex resorts.....for the worst, as many services & amenities had been dispensed with along with many of the staff......the assistant manager in 1983 was now the manager but suffered under the new regime & subsequently left due to unfulfilled promises & uncorrected problems....not surprised really as the same problems exist today......refurbishment still has not been attempted but is to commence in 2018.......I wouldn't wait with bated breath as it was 15 years since we were last told that!!!!!!!!!!

On the plus side........the beach is small but quaint.......the gardens are still nice but again unchanged.........nothing else to recommend it for except for its proximity to Holetown where there are multiple options for dining & entertainment.

rex resorts need to rebuild rather than refurbish the property as it is totally unrecognisable from its heyday in 1980's........I know many will say I'm harking back to a bygone age but even Sandy Lane for better or worse was completely rebuilt & has emerged as a world class resort....not that I expect Discovery Bay to be "world class" but basic amenities & services are needed for to compete in today's market place unless you want to know to worse than ancient Butlins.......just a thought, so bewarned this is very "basic" accommodations & where do the on site management hide as we never saw any in the 3 days we spent there before we moved to hotels.

Room tip: Ocean view rooms are best but more expensive
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank grandbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

This is our second visit to Discovery Bay and it was enjoyed as much as our first visit. Yes the bedrooms are a little tired,but they are very spacious, but how much time do you want to spend in your room, when you have a lovely pool and a beautiful sandy beach?

The room we had this time was garden facing it was nice to sit on the balcony and watch the rain (it was rainy season after all), there was a fridge, safe and air conditioning, as it was ground floor room a net curtain would have been nice.

The Wifi has been improved and there is access in the pool area, restaurant and front of the hotel, we were able to access the pool area wifi from our balcony.

Once again the staff were brilliant, nothing too much trouble, helping us book a hire car, give directions and advise on things to do. The food, especially the local dishes were delicious. If other guest did not feed the birds or mongoose and put the lids back on dishes they would not be so pesky, the staff do their best to discourage them.

The location of Discovery Bay is wonderful, the snorkeling, seeing turtles and stingrays as well as a number of brightly coloured fish right on your door step. You can borrow snorkels, SUP and kayaks from the beech front, and if you want to participate in the motorised sports they will help you book that.

The best assets Discovery Bay has is its staff, location and charm.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank L_Robbo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerdiscobay, General Manager at Starfish Discovery Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for choosing Discovery Bay Hotel for your holiday for the second time. We do appreciate your business and the opportunity to welcome you back to Barbados and our resort.

We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your holiday once again with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews