We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Blooming marvellous!”
other travellers have booked this property
Rose Cottage frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottage frontage
Rose Cottage from the other end Front elevation of kitchen and dining room - sitting room is to the left
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Rose Cottage frontage
Rose Cottage from the other end
Front elevation of kitchen and dining room - sitting room is to the left
View from the car park
Wood store and patio doors
Patio and decking areas
Showing covered oak pergola and sitting area, perfect for outdoor dining
Another angle of patio and barbecue area
The summer house, with three piece suite
Sitting room with inglenook and wood burner
Another angle of sitting room
And again!
Kitchen with Range Master cooking range
View of sitting area in dining room (sofas now changed including a recliner; new photo to follow)
Dining area
Another angle showing patio doors
Stairwell
King size bedroom number 1
Another view
And again
King size bedroom number 2
Another view
Wet-room including WC and sink
Walking along the railway line from Knapton to North Walsham
Walking down to the beach
Keep up!!
Mundesley Ship Inn, good food and ale!!
The Ship Inn garden in summer
View out to sea from the Ship Inn
View from the Ship garden to the beach
From the Ship to the sea!
Winter in Mundesley
Donkeys overlooking picturesque Mundesley from the cliff walk
Lizzie and Mundesley from the cliff walk; out for a stroll, and a pint at the Ship Inn on the way!
The cool and shady railway walk, leading to Pigney Wood, a nature reserve, and the Dilham Canal
Fabulous parkland view from the railway walk, sheep in the foreground - perfect!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mundesley, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Denise592
Luton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Blooming marvellous!”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just spent a week at this hotel and I have to say it was perfect. Spacious but homely. Excellent for my daughters small dogs as they were very safe and secure in the garden. I would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage has everything I needed.
Liked least: Bed was a bit soft but that's just me.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2015
Thank you for a very positive review. We have tried to make our cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail W
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I have just come home after spending a week in this cottage and I am gutted to be home.

I spent the week in the cottage with my Fiancé, our 2 dogs and my mother and father.

We have family who live close by who suggested this as a place to stay for a week away, and what an amazing week it was!

The cottage is very spacious, 2 double bedrooms, 2 living areas, a large kitchen, large bathroom and downstairs toilet.
The garden is spacious and very well enclosed, meaning my little Jack Russell had no chance of escaping!

The weather wasn't great whilst we were there, which is a shame, but couldn't be helped!

Its not too far from Wells next the sea, Trimingham, Mundesley, Cromer etc so there are plenty of places to go, and most are dog friendly!

I hale already recommended this place to colleague and will hopefully be returning in the near future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: The mattress (my own fault, because our bed at home is very comfortable)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you for a very positive review. We have tried to make our cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBBEDS
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Lovely dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a lovely week in this cottage. It was far bigger than we had anticipated, despite just having the 2 bedrooms, which were both of a really good size. The lounge was also a good size with a log burner which would have been great in the winter, and on the other side of the well equipped and spacious kitchen there was a further reception room / dining area / reading room which leads out onto a lovely enclosed patio and decked area which, getting the sunshine all day was a real sun trap. Everything was spotlessly clean? The beds were comfy with plenty of storage (one bedroom had it's own dressing area!) and being equipped with a washing machine and dishwasher really helped. All in all it was a pleasure to stay in.

Location wise it was great. It took us 45 mins to walk to Mundesley (we couldn't find the track advised in the welcome book, just before the church, but found another by walking past the fishing lake and just after, on the opposit side of the road taking a signposted route next to Martha's Cottage). It was a fairly easy walk with a couple of stiles.

Being located off the coastline meant we were never caught up in traffic. Norh Walsham with various shops and supermarkets was about 7 mins drive away (check out the old tobacconist shop which sells pipes and loose tobacco!), Wroxham for hiring boats was under half an hour, Cromer and Sheringham were about 20 mins. In short, everything felt really quite close. On the one rainy day we had there was a Magic Show place in North Walsham so even during inclement weather we were catered for quite well without having to travel too far. Mundesley beach allows dogs at either end of the stretch covered by the promenade. The east end of the beach was fantastic with softer sand and fewer pebbles the further down you went (beaches change but during our stay this stretch of the beach was far better than main drag) in addition there are plenty of other beaches which permit dogs and Trimingham was a particular favourite where you can also walk west towards the next beach, Sidestrand, and hunt fossils! In general dogs are really well catered for in the whole area with plenty of clean water bowls and cafés where they are welcome.

A really nice holiday, thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: The wet room
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you for a very positive review. We have tried to make our cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susisuste...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Rose cottage is a lovely property and very dog friendly, we went with our three dogs, and were very happy with it, the enclosed garden being a big plus. It is very well fitted out and has everything you could need. The parking can be an issue as nearby residents are not keen on you parking at the back but you can park at the front of the cottage. Our only issue was the walking distance from the beach, there are footpaths but you access them from the roads which we didn't feel comfortable walking along with the dogs, so really you have to drive everywhere, as there is nothing at all in Gimingham. But Mundesley is nice and has dog friendly beaches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Liked least: The location and distance to the beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
We are glad you enjoyed your holiday with us! We are concerned regarding your comment about the car park at the back of the property; we have, written into our property registration, a right to use a parking space on the car park, the same right as the other residents. Future guests please ring me if they suffer a similar experience.
With regard to the beach access, we do advise use of a car for easy access. However, the road from Rose Cottage to the footpath is a very minor road through the village.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities on offer at Rose Cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judie S
essex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I want to live here!”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We previously stayed in another cottage the owners have and had been very happy. When that wasn't available for the week we wanted to book, they offered this to us and wow, we are so happy they did!
With three dogs, finding somewhere genuinely dog friendly is not always easy , and this ticks all the boxes and has a great secure garden. Shame it wasn't a warm week when we could enjoy being outside but inside is very comfortable.
The cottage itself is furnished very comfortably, and I genuinely would love to live there. It's spacious, full of character and homely. I was mentally trying to arrange my own furniture into the rooms!
It's situated in a little village just outside Mundesley with the North Norfolk coast very accessible, with lots of dog friendly beaches and pubs. I don't want to recommend it too highly, as I want to be able to go back there!
Graham & Rose, you have lovely cottages and we have been very happy staying in them. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the whole place was very homely
Liked least: The wifi was very slow & only worked in some parts of the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you for a very positive review. We have tried to make our cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing