We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
292
28
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
28
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every evening second to none yogurt salad wellness area cake high standard omelette relaxation christian starters rating september bike balcony walks dessert
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 334 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Loved the Monroc hotel , staff very friendly , amazing room and shower best we ever stayed in! Breakfast was wonderful great choices. Would recommend the hiking and bike tours arranged by hotel great experience, would love to come back

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Harriet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonrocHotel, Proprietario at Monroc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear Harriet,

thank you for your kind review and for choosing Monroc for your italian Holiday :-)
You have been real explorer and this is always our satisfaction!

Thank you for being nice guest!

We hope to welcome you here again,

Romina, Christian, Monica, Paola, Luciano and all the #monrocpeople

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in early September.
The hotel is very nicely decorated inside and out. The rooms are very spacious and have plenty of light as the sliding door covers the length of the balcony. The bathroom is one of the nicest we have seen in any hotel anywhere.
The food is very good. Presentation was great and the taste usually lived up to this - we had one meal where the food wasn't to our taste but this was more through our own choice than anything else. The buffet selection varied every night and the choice at breakfast was great.
The staff were very friendly and it was good to see the owners actually help out on reception and the bar etc. Special mention to Romina who didn't mind us getting her brand new car dirty after one of the trips out!!
The guided tours were definitely worth doing and I don't know what other reviews were talking about as there were always English translations available, sometimes from hotel staff going with you or from the guide's (Atillio) daughters.
The location is about 2 hours drive from Verona airport but don't let this put you off - it's an ideal base to explore the area around. The cable car is right outside the hotel which is great all year round and the train stops outside the hotel (doesn't run after 10pm). The roads around are easy to get around once you get the hang of it.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BackPacker665603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonrocHotel, Direttore at Monroc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Backpacker,
thank you for your nice review . We are very pleased in reading that you had a nice stay at Monroc.
Thank you for your appreciation to our kitchen!
From my part i have to be honest in saying that was very nice in accompanying you during our exploration, it is always a satisfaction when the guest join our excursions with Attilio.

We hope to have another occasion to welcome you here again.

Greetings from Monroc,

Romina, Christian, Monica, Paola, Luciano and all the monrocpeople

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Here for a 5 day break, Monroc is a lovely, clean and pretty hotel. Rooms are decent, except for lack of working plug sockets and natural light, bathrooms are fabulous though .
Now for the observations... Service has been iffy. We joined the orientation/excursion meeting with Attalia, who greeted and acknowledged everyone, except us 2 Brits, turns out he can't speak English, fair enough. There are some decent trips arranged by the hotel, if you can go without English narration.
Restaurant service was hit and miss, you get a warmer welcome in Nandos, again it may be a linguistic issue. A couple of times we sat at our allocated table for 20 mins before being asked for drink or menu choices. (Although we do appreciate this is Northern Italy and not Central London, and more laid back.)
Breakfast is OK, good range of juices, cold selections and cereals, however, the cooked a la carte options, such as the omelettes were swimming in grease and no seasoning. Dinner was average at best, looked fantastic on the plate, great presentation, however, it wasn't matched with the flavour, often bland, and the daily buffet accompaniments were the same everyday, including cold carrots/cold peas/cold cauliflower, the salad was ok though, maybe adding a homemade dressing could liven it all up (only the usual oil and vinegar available)
The location of the Monroc is good, great for bike hire and the picturesque Bucaneve restaurant (very close to the hotel) is well worth a visit.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonrocHotel, Proprietario at Monroc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Janine,
thank you for your review. We dislike that your holiday couldn't live up to your hype.
Thank you for your compliments for the structure , and for the rooms, i would like just to point out that there are 4 plug in the rooms and we give the adaptor to the guest the need them. For the natural light in the room as everybody can see in the photos there is a window 2,20 x 3,50 meters, it's big as all the wall of the rooms, more than this it's really difficult to have natural light:)

For the food and the service we will take note about your point of view. There is always a scope for improvement!
The buffet for the dinner changes every day, there is the corner of the fresh and boiled salad but the rest of buffet is varied, one night cheese, one dinner typical buffet another with fish and so on. For the oil, maybe you did not notice but there are 5 different oil variety (Frantoio Riva del Garda) and the same for the vinegard, Each of this is a good production of our region , like for a lot of other products that you find also on the breakfast buffet. They are not usual, they are local products.

There are also some shortcomings in your review.

The presentation, of Sunday evening, was in three languages: Italian, German and English. When you asked us for the monday's trekking we informed you that Attilio, our helper, could not speak a good english but for the other excursions there were the possibility to have also in english. But you agreed to do it on Monday.

For the service we will check with our restaurant staff and we will ask if there were some reasons for those waiting time.

From our part we dislike to get noticed your unpleasant behavior with part of our staff. The first day when our cleaning ladies knocked on your door to make up the room and you shout something against them from the room. There was not any indication like the do not disturb signal. Or when you more than one time laughed at us while we were explaining you something. Believe me it's quite regrettable.

And i cannot find any mention from your side about the efficiency of our restaurant staff that waited for you for your arrival day at dinner even tough your late because the flight. Or the same for our cleaning staff that have prepared the suite, that you asked to have at the place of your room, and when they moved your things you decided to remain in the previous.

Anyway, we wish you a safe trip to come back home.

Greetings from Monroc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

This is our second stay at the Monroc, we skied in February 2018 and in the summer we walked and mountain biked.
Monroc staff are friendly and helpful, food is excellent and the rooms are airy, clean and comfortable.

Its location near the ski lift is ideal if you want to explore the mountains or are skiing and the summer val de sole visitor pass allows use of the lift and local public transport for just 1 euro per day. (available from hotel)

They also have arrangements with other local businesses so we saved 20% on bike hire and they introduced us to the Alpine guides for a day of via ferrata.

Lovely people, Lovely people

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank barrmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonrocHotel, Proprietario at Monroc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Thank you Mr Barr,

Thank you for choosing Monroc again and for being real explorer.
It is always so nice hear about our guest trekking and exploration around the valley.

A special thank you from our kitchen, restaurant and cleaning staff.

We hope to have you again as our pleasant and nice guest!

Have a sunny summer!

Romina, Christian, Paola, Monica, Luciano and teh entire Monroc Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

From the minute we stepped into the hotel we felt welcomed and at home. All staff were professional, efficient and friendly. From the cleaning staff through to reception, the restaurant and the spa, nothing was too much trouble and the service was second to none. The food served at breakfast and dinner was tasty and extremely fresh, always cooked and presented to perfection. The wine list was extensive although we boringly stuck with what we liked, and was very reasonably priced for a hotel of this class. We were given personal attention regarding local activities and walks and did a trip that was organised by the hotel which was amazing both in content and value for money. The hotel was spotlessly clean and maintained to a very high standard. If we could give the hotel a 6 rating we would. There really was nothing to fault. Monroc people.....you should be very proud of what you have achieved here. We would unreservedly recommend the Monroc and will definitely return. Thank you all.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonrocHotel, Proprietario at Monroc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Susan,

thank you for your review and for spending some of your time in typing this pleasant words.
From our part we want to thank you for being nice guest, for your kindness with all our staff . It can make the difference for everyone of us.
We hope your trip to home was safe and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Greetings from all our monrocpeople!

Romina, Christian, Paola, Monica e Luciano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews