We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Beach Rental”

Review of Sunset House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
West Bay, Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dean G
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Beach Rental”
Reviewed 19 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Absolutely amazing! Owners have a great property and it is very well furnished. We were a group of 8 and rented the entire house. More than enough room with all amenities including washer and dryer! Internet not the quickest but allowed us to put down the gadgets and enjoy what West Bay and West End had to offer. Thanks to Joni and Mino the grounds keepers for the fresh coconut and making sure the grounds were well kept as well as Fernando the property manager who made sure check-in and check-out went as smooth as possible. We will definitely return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaGreenL...
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great house and location.”
Reviewed 20 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We rented Sunset House in February 2018. Four couples and two singles.

Everything is great about this house. Fairly secluded and quiet, yet about 20 minute walk to West End and West Bay. Bring a head lamp for after dark. It's really dark.

The dock was the most popular hangout. Coffee in the morning, drinks at, well, sunset.

Water taxis are plentiful for about $3/person to either town.

Johnny and his brother Minor will take of anything you need.

All 10 of us would highly recommend the Sunset House.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swirlygir...
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Picture perfect!”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed at Sunset House for 10 glorious days with 6 of us. The pictures don't do it justice! Beautiful grounds, EVERYTHING you could ever need. Full closet of water sport , snorkel gear and paddleboards and kayaks. Your own Tiki Bar and outdoor kitchen is open every day!! We had our driver stop at the supermarket on the other side of the island on our way from the airport. Once you're at the house, you won't have to leave by car! Just walk to the end of the dock, and wave down the water taxi. Go to the West End (preferred) a Monkey LaLa at Palapa Papas or the best cheap eat at Creole Chicken. Or go the other way to the West Bay for more of the resort feel. Honestly - we only left the house for the day 2 or 3 times. We loved it that much!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
Thank you for your kind review, we are happy you all enjoyed Sunset House and all its amenities! We hope you can return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LICHENS J...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome time and place”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Sunset House over Thanksgiving break to celebrate a 70th birthday. There were nine of us, and everyone had a great time. Everything was perfect. The location withing walking distance between the two towns (West End, West Bay) flagging water taxi's from the pier, The bar with the awesome barbecue, the fishing....I could go on and on. It is a great place. We are only sorry it is too large for just my husband and I, or we'd go back often.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn W
Bothell, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second stay, a special place”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at the Sunset house with a group of 11 people in August 2015, and had a great time. I proposed to my girlfriend on the dock, looking at the stars and ocean late one night. So in August 2016, we returned with a group of 10 people and got married on the same dock!

The house is in a great location, walking distance from West Bay and West End. The dock is one of the best on the beach, with lights in the palapa and in the water so you can see the sea creatures at night. Water taxi drivers are well aware of the sunset house and will drop you off easily, night or day. The concierge is extremely helpful with planning any activities you want to do around the island during your trip. The on-site caretaker is a great guy who carefully maintains the property, he's also a lot of fun to talk to (study your Spanish, though!)

The house has all the amenities you'd need, as does the extra apartment in the back. They also provide water toys for your use, and you can kayak or paddleboard out to the reef pretty easily.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing