We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
18
31
13
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
31
13
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhitefishwingsmanitoulin islandcold beerno big dealthere is no air conditioningnice restaurantoutdoor deckbed was very comfortablelake huronnorth channelfloorlaundromattrickboardwalk
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Greeted warmly at check in. We arrived early in the day and when we asked when we could check in, we were told normally 2 p.m. but if we liked, they could call us when the room was ready and maybe we could get in earlier. We then asked for advise on points of interest on the island and were given ideas as to where to go. That evening, we ate on open patio listening to the jamming session across the street at the park. Lot of fun! Then visited the bar to listen to the entainment there. Again, fun! We paid $75 for our room which was on the second floor above the bar. It was clean and comfortable. In all, great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Hi Suzanne:

Thank you for your kind review. There is music downtown a few nights a week in the summer, a nice touch if your having dinner on the patio. Thanks for your comments on our rooms as well. Our goal is to make them (rooms) exactly as you describe them, clean, comfortable and inexpensive. We only have 10 rooms and we sell out almost every-night, and everyone does what you do, enjoys the food and drink in the dining room and bar. We appreciate you taking the time to contribute to the TripAdvisor community. Safe travels.

Bruce and Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

I stayed at the Anchor Inn for 2 nights in June 2016. This is a really old building, built in 1888, so l felt a small honor to sleep here. And since its an old building, the walls are not soundproof, no elevator, and air conditioning is a fan.

My room was on the 3rd floor, so l got a good work out going up those stairs! My room was tiny, a bit crooked, but clean. I had a pretty good sleep and l cant say enough about the water pressure - Super pressure!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nshwaaswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

We booked in at The Anchor Inn for a short (anniversary) stay and we will certainly be staying here again. From the moment we walked in we were greeted and made to feel at home by Bruce in the bar (reception was closed by 10pm) who made us feel at home and offered us drinks - after we had found our room, instead we opted for a short, enchanting and relaxing walk by the water. Loved the room, loved how spacious it is, loved the kitchenette, fridge etc. - could definitely see us staying here for longer next time around.

Room Tip: Apt. 4, 3rd floor, great views up and down Water Street and over the water - perfect spot!
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenjaminD1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Thank you for the kind review. Yes, we do check people in at the bar. Often people have a beer or a glass of wine while checking in. Kinda civilized I would say :). Glad you got out and stretched your legs with a walk on the water front and enjoyed the view of the marina from apt #4. We are very fortunate to have such a beautiful pedestrian friendly waterfront right in the downtown. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards:

Bruce and Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016

We sat out on the patio at the Anchor Inn after a hike on the Cup and Saucer Trail and enjoyed a few Manitoulin brews with our lunch. Great service, good food, and some sunshine...not much more you can ask for!
Note: We did not stay at this hotel. This review is for the restaurant only.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank nickelcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Hello Nickel City Girl, and thank you for your kind review. This summer we have both Manitoulin Brewing Companies Swing Bridge Ale and Split Rail Hawberry Ale available as local craft beers. Thanks for commenting on the service. We have great staff and are very proud of them. It is nice when people take the time to notice their efforts.

warm regards from Manitoulin Island.

Bruce and Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Stopped here on a whim hotel looked a little dated and we wondered what was awaiting us. Well the staff was extremely helpful and when we got settled we headed to the restaurant my wife had the vegetable salad with maple walnut dressing that was excellent and original to this restaurant I had the mushroom bruchetta which was light but very tasty. The walk on the boardwalk after supper topped off the perfect evening.
Unfortunately there was only one room left when we arrived #4 on the 2nd floor it was very small and plain I don't know what the other rooms were like but this room left a lot to be desired however the restaurant and the bar and the staff made the stay worth while.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Centraldrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews