We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Christoffer N

No Michelin Star anytime soon.

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Jun 2019
Missing ingredients in our main food. When waitor was made aware of it she apologized that she couldnt see inside the burger... Laughable, the missing ingredients was then brought to out table on a plate besides the main food. Poor excuses and no coffe or dessert on the house. They still have a Long way to go to even reach normal International standard.
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HeidiSirly, Omistaja at Aurora Estate Hotelli, responded to this review
Responded 17 Jul 2019
Dear Christoffer,

I am so sorry for the missing ingredients. I will take full responsibility my self, as a Chef.
Our summer menu is simple, but we use fresh ingredients. As you can see, summer in Lapland is slow and there is no change to run michelin star level restaurant with two people working and few customers. It is really important for us to make tasty food even it's not that busy. We grow our own herbs, bake fresh bread every day and really do this with love. Hope to see you again and I wish you a beautiful summer.
-Sirly Schinmann, Chef and owner-
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.5 km from Aurora Estate Hotelli
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
2.3 km from Aurora Estate Hotelli
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.8 km from Aurora Estate Hotelli
Free parking
Pool
    0.5 km from Aurora Estate Hotelli
    Bedroom
    • Agoda.com
    3.6 km from Aurora Estate Hotelli
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    53.1 km from Aurora Estate Hotelli
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    45.0 km from Aurora Estate Hotelli
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    71.1 km from Aurora Estate Hotelli
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    38.0 km from Aurora Estate Hotelli
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    37.4 km from Aurora Estate Hotelli
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Yllasjarvi
    Reviews (71)
    Filter reviews
    71 results
    Traveller rating
    51
    12
    3
    0
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    51
    12
    3
    0
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews sauna house outdoor jacuzzi aurora wardrobe snow
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    11 - 16 of 71 reviews
    Reviewed 2 April 2019

    I got a warm welcome, got spoiled two weeks long from the Team and got a warm farewell...
    It's a real nice quiet place next to the lake, with a nice view and the hotel is only 3-4 years old...
    Supermarket, bus station and country ski tracks are only 200m away...
    I liked Sirly cooking art, exceptional breakfasts and dinners, food quality, plate presentation and the lovely detailed explanations about what you get in your plate! ;-)
    I enjoyed the atmosphere with love to details and the music in the dining room!
    It's very clean, i had a good bed and i appreciated the Nespresso coffee machine in my room... ;-)
    Mirja is a sunshine!!

    Date of stay: March 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank swissskatingmachine
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 23 March 2019 via mobile

    We stayed for 4 nights here while holidaying in Finland for 3 weeks. It was a nice change to stay in a smaller boutique hotel and in a quieter location next to the lake. We loved the sauna and jacuzzi and we loved jumping in the frozen lake, what an experience for an australian family. So much so that we booked it again while we were there. The rooms are quite small but we found they were adequate if you popped the suitcases on top of the wardrobe and the rooms we not much smaller than the rooms we've stayed in elsewhere. The breakfasts were huge, more than enough for our family and a great selection too. We had dinner only 1 night and the food was fabulous, fine dining style, small portions but all excellent. It was pricy, but then for us everything in finland has been pricy and no more expensive than anywhere else we've been of similar quality. The staff and owners were actually really lovely and helpful, they even printed off a whole heap of school work pages for our daughter and helped us out when our transport didn't arrive. We got to see the northern lights on our last night, what was really nice was that the owner sent us messages to let us and other guests know that the lights were there. It was quite late too, we could have easily missed it. The location is great, there are 2 other restaurants within walking distance. The views from the hotel are stunning too. We didn't have a car but we did get picked up everyday by the company we did our tours with, Due North Safaris so no problem there.

    Date of stay: March 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank 831nikkib
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 December 2018 via mobile

    Sitting in the airport waiting for my plane, and thinking back on a very memorable stay at Aurora Estate. What a high-mark in hospitality! Heidi never tires of making the guests’ stay as pleasurable as possible, while Sirly is a truly excellent cook. We had 5 diners and the food is simply the best (and apparently famous in the region). Our room was clean and comfortable (although a couple of hooks to hang our skiing gear on to dry would be welcome). Very good beds (I’m 1.87 m)! I have been to Lapland in summer for fly fishing, but would certainly recommend a winter stay. If you do, stay here! (And Sirly: if you start offering fishing trips I will certainly be back in summer).

    Date of stay: December 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank GuyV301
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 December 2018

    Extremely nice surroundings to have a dinenr with an international group. Delicious local cuisine utilising fish and reindeer. The service was excellent, and the guests were kept happy througout our visit.

    Date of stay: March 2018
    Thank ristosan
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

    We stayed as a two couples during the glory of Lappish Autumn.

    Aurora Estate is a delightful Bed and Breakfast where the hosts Heidi and Sirly make you most welcome in their character-filled establishment. The location is superb by the lake and is supported by a number of facilities. The meals produced by Masterchef Sirly are class leading using the best quality ingredients. We look forward to return.

    Date of stay: September 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank boomadave
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews