We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$175
View deal
PricelineUS$175
Expedia.comUS$174
Hotels.comUS$176
TravelocityUS$176
TripadvisorUS$174
Agoda.comUS$258
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveller rating
286
241
78
29
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
286
241
78
29
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski school self catering half board sauna and steam room northern lights snow village ski holiday bedroom apartment spa area hotel pool mini market snowmobile ride high winds great fun gala dinner ski equipment sofa bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 642 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2022

We stayed for a week in February, 2 bedroom apartment just down the road from the hotel. Apartment warm, comfortable and just perfect for our needs. Also had a sauna and balcony. Booked with Crystalski - half board basis. Hotel staff very welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Reception staff were particularly efficient and kind.
Ski slopes not crowded and right next door to the hotel, ideal for the children in our group.

We would definitely recommend the Saaga hotel and visit again in the future.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Annukka Taljavirta, General Manager at Lapland Hotel Saaga, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2022

Hi Deborah,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We would love to have you back any time.

Have a great springtime!

With best regards,
Lapland Hotels Saaga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2022 via mobile

We stayed in one of the chalets (A302) on a half board food basis. We stayed with Crystal Ski and our package included ski equipment rentals, lift passes and ski lessons.

Positives
- the northern lights are out pretty much every night, so long as the sky is clear. Of our week long holiday we saw them on 3 nights (could have seen them on the Saturday night too but we accidentally fell asleep). All the other nights we were there it was snowing or really cloudy so you couldn't see the auroras. Their most active time for this area seems to be from 11pm till 2am. However we did have one night where they came out super strong at like 6pm, so you cant really predict it
- can see the auroras from the hotel balcony if they're strong enough as well
- private balcony
- private sauna
- beds look like they're going to be uncomfortable, but are actually one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept on
- full kitchen (utensils, plates, pots and pans included)
- dishwasher
- good hair dryer
- staff are very friendly
- buffet breakfast (all the usual suspects of cereals, yogurt, eggs, bacon, pancakes, etc) with a clearly marked gluten free section. Breakfast was good, I recommend trying the lingonberry juice with breakfast (it's kind of like a cranberry juice).
- buffet dinner (different menu every night, so you're not stuck eating the same dinner every night of the week like usual buffets. The food was good as well, compliments to the chef. The menu also listed allergens. So I was able to easily find the gluten free foods.
- provided take away containers for dinner so you could take food back to your room to eat
- small convenience store located on the ground floor of this chalet building
- ski rental shop located in the hotel which was great.
- ski lessons are located right next to the gondolas. Our instructor was Tuomas who was really great. The lessons ran Monday to Friday for us.

Just a note
While we were there, covid restrictions meant that all the restaurants had to close by 6pm and they couldn't serve alcohol past 5pm. That restriction was lifted on our final night though, so I'm not sure if they'll still be doing the take away containers for dinner.

Negatives
- upon checking in, we were told we couldn't use the hotel pool or sauna without incurring a €10.50 charge per person per day. It was only on our last day that we found out that was incorrect and that it had been included free of charge the whole time
- our room seems to be one of the very few that does not have WiFi. And you're far enough from the hotel lobby that you can't pick up the free WiFi there.
- our TV didn't work. The remote just didn't make the channels change. The volume was stuck on mute. We tried to ask at reception about it and someone came out to look at it, but it didn't get fixed.
- I'm being a bit lazy with this one: but none of the doors are automatic. So when you're carrying your skis and equipment, you've either got to juggle to open the door or you've got to put everything down to open the doors.
- it's about a 5 minute walk from the hotel to the slopes, so when carrying your skis, it feels like a 30 minute walk. We started cutting directly across and putting our skis on on the side and just skiing down.
- the ski storage area is located on the ground floor of the building, there is no storage right next to the slopes. This is less of a concern if you’re staying in the hotel bit though as that bit is directly next to the slopes, but the chalets are a walk away

Final thoughts
Overall the saaga was a good hotel. We highly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come again. The positives far outweighed the negatives in every aspect. Finland is a beautiful country and the people are so friendly. There is plenty to do even if you're not skiing at this resort. Already looking at coming back in the next season.

Room tip: Stay in the hotel bit for easier access to the slopes. And the parking lot side of the hotel has a better view of the northern lights
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cassiemdiceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 January 2022 via mobile

Stayed at the Nordic Chalets for 4 nights in January. Our flat was on the 1st floor next to the ski maintenance and storage rooms. The view was nice looking towards the fells though I assume it’s much better from the upper floors (this was the last flat available so we didn’t have much choice). The flat in itself was clean and really basic and had all we needed (except for a door in the other bedroom, that was kind of weird). But it also had zero Lapland feel and was really expensive for what it was. The Ski out part was also not quite ski out, at least not with 3 small kids :) Breakfast was a little disappointing after experiencing what great breakfasts some other hotels in the same chain offer. Also it was quite hectic and messy and quite a few things run out.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank annaleenar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 January 2022

Lapland 2021 – Review

We stayed for 3 nights from 19th Dec 21 to 22nd Dec 21, booked via TUI and we stayed in Hotel Saaga (Chalets – Block 3 – far left). 2 adults 2 children from Wales. Flew from Bristol

Flight
6am from Bristol, no issues all great. No singing, very quiet journey actually with lots of tired adults and kiddies sleeping. Cooked breakfast meal within 20 mins of being in the air. 3.5hour flight. You literally get off the plane, get your bags and literally walk straight to a building to get your snow suits (get trolley from airport). Try your best to get sizes that fit there and then, otherwise you’ll have to wait until 5pm that night to swap sizes, which means a day in the snow with no snow wear.

Transfer
Great and short, only 40 mins with stunning scenery and the reps giving you info, so it went really quick.

Hotel
Arrived at hotel at 1.30pm, fingers crossed your room is available otherwise you have 2.5 hours to kill until 4pm check in and all your kit is packed away in your suitcase. We were lucky our room was ready. Quick check in etc, only small hotel foyer but very efficient. We were in the chalet, block 3 which was far left as you look at the building…..which either meant a trip through the corridors, which is like a maze at first as the connecting corridors are on different floors, or you can drag your cases and snow suits outside through the car parks to the entrance of the chalet, which we did. Slightly hard work, but scenic and fine.

We upgraded our room so we had a sauna and a separate bedroom (fairly cheap / recommended) it was lovely, sauna in bathroom, separate bedroom, living area, kitchen, all fairly newly renovated. We were shocked as the pictures don’t do it justice. Then on the balcony you had an awesome view of the illuminated sky slopes. Stunning.

Bar / Food
We had breakfast only so paid for bar meals in our hotel, we did look at the neighbouring 4-5 restaurants, but to be honest our hotel was smarter/cleaner looking so stayed at the hotel. To give you an idea, Chicken and chips was 10euros adults / 5 euros for kids so all good. Burger meals were generally 17-20 euros everywhere. I was worried about the availability/price of food there from other reviews, but you don’t need to, its fine, lots of options, plus although only Bed and Breakfast – Day 1 is travelling day and lunch was included in Day 2 – post santa trip and evening meal at the Day 3 Gala was also included.

The food at the hotel was very nice with a decent selection, there was loads of choice at breakfast – my kids loved chocolate pancakes, cereals, croissants. I preferred the eggs, bacon, sausage, toast and beans. Breakfast 7 till 10am. But loads of space. Lovely setting actually, very smart.

There’s a pool there too, which works out at £45 for 2 adults and 2 children, but we can swim at home.

Temperatures
-7 to -18 generally for us. Which sounds horrific, but the snow suits keep you warm, just make sure you take something to cover your face. -30 on the last day, which delayed our flight as it was too cold to refuel!

Itinerary
Day 1 – Arrive, check in, settle and explore
Day 2 – Santa day. 3 hours in snow village, incl taster session on the huskie ride, ice bar, snowmobile ride to Santas hut, 10 mins away, stunning there, 3 hours just right. Free lunch on return to hotel
Day 3 – Free day. We done skiing – 3 hour hire £120 for 2A 2C – 90 min lesson £100 = £220 all in, but great fun. Then we took a gondola to the top of the mountain / ski slope - £35. Café on top, awesome views. Then in the night there is a Gala dinner / finale. Bus picks you up from hotel at 7.30pm, 15 minute drive to a neighbouring hotel where all the other hotels meet and have a big meal together – all included in package. The reps put on a great panto which was funny and aimed at both children and adults. 7-9 euros a pint. Bus home at 10.30pm, everyone happy, half drunk and singing. Lovely way to end a great trip.

Day 4 – Check out 9.30am. Bus pick up 9.45am. Our flight wasn’t until 2.40pm to Bristol, so you spend a long long time in the airport.

Outstanding holiday met some great people from Dorset and Llanelli. Great hotel and location with lots to do on the ski slopes, sleighing up and down the slopes (lift takes you back up), roasting mash mallows on the open fire pit, skiing. All great. Not really sure what you do in other Lapland locations without the ski slopes on site though to be honest.

Room tip: Upgrade to sauna, facing the ski slope.
Date of stay: December 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KEVIN E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 December 2021

Stayed here with sunway as part of a Lapland trip
And became ill so stayed longer . Beautiful location , excellent facilities, Katya on reception was absolutely fantastic yet manner and service was so good and I have stayed in 5 star hotels in US , Mexico & europe , thank you so much from Danielle (Ireland)

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Irishdanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Annukka Taljavirta, General Manager at Lapland Hotel Saaga, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2021

Dear Danielle,
we thank you for your heart-warming words. We are happy to hear that we have been able to make your stay a little more manageable during your pro-longued stay.
Wish you and your family all the best for the new year!

Lapland Hotels Saaga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews