We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,020)
Filter reviews
2,020 results
Traveller rating
755
711
348
130
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
755
711
348
130
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond clubsnack barcascading poolsfoam partymobility issuespizzalot of seaweedbat cavestairs to climbsea weedlower poolcuban restaurantfishbug bitesspecial dinnerchickena la carte
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 2,020 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We stayed at this resort from March 21 to March 28. I was a little bit concerned after reading some bad reviews. I would say that the resort exceeded our expectations. The ground was one of the best I have ever seen. All the building are surrounded with plants and trees. It gives it a very natural look. (We had a bug in our room but they offered to change our room. There are pants and trees...so, there are bugs but they work hard to keep it clean. Cats also do their job :-) ) I liked the fact I didn't feel in a overcrowded place. The swimming pools amazing. Wherever we were it was never too crowded. I could see some hazards here and there (some broken tiles in the swimming pool -my son cuts his foot - or on our way to the lobby) but nothing major and definitely easy to fix. The beach was cleaned every morning (around 7 am). We had the Diamond Club upgrade (and I would recommend it) which gave us access to a different, quieter section on the beach. The room was very clean and we had 2 bottles of water every day. The bathroom was clean, however a little bit updated compared to the rest of the room. The arm that holds the handle was broken. They offered us to change room but we declined it because I was able to fix it for the duration of our staying.

Food: No issues at all. There were no lemons (because of the hurricane all the citrus plants were destroyed), no french fries (which we didn't need). We had very good fish, vegetables and fruits. Lines at the buffet were not crazy and all the cooks were nice and welcoming. My kids and I had yogurt, milk and no stomach issues at all.

Night entertainment: I found it very good. Live music every night, some shows. I liked it very much.

Kids club: my daughter went a couple of times and she loved it.

Note: Having the Diamond Club we could have a late check out. There was a sort of "misunderstanding". Nobody told us we were supposed to let them know we would use the late check out, so on the last day they locked our room with our luggage inside. It was an easy fix though.

Excursions: We bought an excursion from a local guide (cubaguider - Yuri) that was beautiful. He took us to Salto del Guayabo (waterfalls) and Holguin. Very professional and highly recommended.

Would we go back? Yes.
Would we upgrade to Diamond Club again? Yes.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, General Manager at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Guest,

I'm delighted to hear you say how much you appreciated and enjoyed your visit. Your comments are music to our ears.

Please come back soon, our whole team will be waiting for you. A review like yours motivate our passion to wake up every morning happier and with more enthusiasm to please our guests.

Thank you for your praise of our team and service, please consider Memories Holguin as your home in Cuba.

Cordially yours,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

My wife and I were at Memories Holguin from March 18th until the 25th. We cannot thank the staff enough for the outstanding service we received during our stay, We met many new friends, whom we consider friends for life. Eugene at the lounge, Yahima at the buffet, Fidel,..the names are too many to mention. We are already planning our vacation for next year. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank s85852018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, General Manager at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear guest,

On behalf of the Management and the Staff from Memories Holguin would like to thank you for your positive comments about our Hotel. We hope that our Resort will be your hotel on your next trip to Cuba. We will do our best to make you have a wonderful stay. It will be pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Cuba is such a beautiful place. The staff are really friendly and the general manage Alex was excellent and made sure all the guests were taken care of.
I have never been to Cuba but this experience was far beyond what I was going to expect. It is really peaceful and really safe.
We hired a private tour in an 1955 Chevy what an awesome experience.
The food was delicious and pure you could actually taste the minerals. The food has no gmo or persevatives so bring your own spices and herbs.
The resort was beautiful and the beaches were great. Sand was cool to walk, so beautiful and really safe.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank samksandhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, General Manager at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your super nice review and the time that you spent to write it.

Nice comments make us very happy because that means that you had a good time during your holidays with us, we work every day in order to improve our service and your suggestions are always welcome.

Our staff has received your comments and appreciates your effort, one more time thanks for providing part of your precious time to share your experience.

We are looking forward to see you soon at your second home, Memories Holguin.

Best regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Traveled with 4 ladies we had a fabulous vacation, food was wonderful great variety and plenty of it. Ate way to much. Pools were amazing as well as the beach. Staff went above and beyond to make your stay very enjoyable. Rooms were so clean, lots of hot water, always filled our fridge with water, pop and beer. Lobby bar has the best drinks, did some excursions too, had a great time would for sure come back to this resort again.

Room Tip: had rooms in the 700 block very quiet, a little bit of a walk to the main area.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank lisabuck1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, General Manager at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your comments about your experience with us on trip advisor.

Our goal is always to create unique and memorable experiences for you but most important for us is to strengthen bonds and become a huge Memories Holguin family.

We are glad to know that we have achieved this goal with you and this vacations were beyond expectations thanks to the amazing job of our staff that were always on top of every detail.

We hope to see you soon for your next visit, please remember to contact us prior arrival and we will assist you with the details of the future visits.

Kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We feel like home, that is why we come back. Weather was bad for the first couple of days but then we had sunshine for the rest of our holiday. We are beach lovers so we spent more of our time at the beach which had lot of seaweed due to the bad weather but it was then cleaned. We had grilled lobster several times at the beach.
At night we like to watch the shows and live music at the main square., highly advisable. Rooms are spacious and very well kept, our maid did a wonderful job. We always enjoy Memories.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rafael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, General Manager at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Rafael,

We hope you had a nice flight back home.

It has been such a huge pleasure to receive your compliments. Our team will be delighted once they read your wonderful comments. Thank you very much for recommending Memories Holguin to future guests.

You have praised so many aspects, including food and staff, which are very important booking factors. Receive please our deepest gratitude because we are inspired by your positive feedback. Thanks for staying with us and thanks for those stays to come. It will be such a huge pleasure to welcome you back my friend, so we could share more wonderful moments. Make sure you send us your booking details and preferences for your next year stay, we will be very glad to look after your time with us.

Best regards form our little paradise.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews